We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I had read the reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Like other Diamond International owners, I was extremely disappointed in this property. Although they are undergoing renovations, it seems that the architects haven't considered the wide range of people who will be vacationing. The registration lobby is located in the furthest most part of the resort. There is only a small common area to sit which is next to the bar and with our small studio and no easy chair, we were hoping we could go somewhere just to read. The outside spaces are limited and I'm not sure that there are plans to expand this post-renovation.
The pool area had been renovated, but the hot tub is there and frequently filled with young children in spite of signs indicating that children should be accompanied by an adult. Since there is no lifeguard or staff who regularly is in the area, the hot tub would be best converted to a wading pool for the kids.Shouldn't have been surprised since I saw many very young children unaccompanied in the hallways, elevators and even riding their bikes through the resort hallways. It was a good thing that we planned many days hiking in the area and the weather allowed us to do so. I left thinking I would consider selling some of my Diamond property too and knew why they wanted to get their sales pitch in early in our stay.
Lake Tahoe is beautiful with many wonderful activities. If I return, it will be to a different resort.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Lila112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback. You are correct that our resort is currently undergoing a rather large renovation project. This has caused our check-in area to be further from the entrance for the time being. Rest assured that the construction project we are currently undergoing is crucial to maintaining an alluring and welcoming setting here at Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort. We would like to welcome you back to our resort in the future and hope you will enjoy our enhancements the next time you visit.
Our Security team works hard to ensure our pool rules are being followed; however, we did run into a staffing problem which we are looking to address. Our team appreciates you taking the time to report any suspicious activity, as safety is highly important to our resort. We would like to welcome you back to our resort in the future and are confident you will enjoy our enhancements the next time you visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (598)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

274 - 280 of 598 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

Upon arrival we were told that the computers were down and that we would have to "just go somewhere else for a few hours" after driving 6 hours to get there.. No apologies or courtesy. After waiting for an hour and a half we were finally given a room and a key only to find out that the parking lot was full and the parking pass they had just made us buy was completely useless. When we got to the room our door lock was broken and a mechanic had to come up and fix it. Our air conditioning and phone were both broken and we were woken up bright and early to construction noise. The front desk was so useless that they were even unable to simply issue a duplicate card to a room without changing all of the keys, so my family members keys all didn't work anymore. We waited 30 minutes for a bellhop upon checkout and finally called down only to be told there were still people in line ahead of us. I am wholeheartedly disappointed with this hotel and their staff, it really put a damper on our vacation. Seriously, if you want a relaxing vacation where you can sleep past 8 am and have some of the simple amenities a hotel offers do NOT stay at the Tahoe Vacation Resort.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aliblake54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

We are, equally disheartened at your disappointment in your check in experience and service provided by our usually very friendly and often complimented front desk team members. As we never want a guest to leave with a negative impression of our resort, you have our sincere apology for any inconvenience you may have experienced while on-site. Please understand, our team does their very best to assist our guests in a timely fashion and to keep wait times to a minimum. On our busier days, we do try to give an approximate time, but it can only be approximate and there are so many variables that can factor into these wait times. We certainly understand your sentiment if you felt our team was unapologetic. This will be addressed internally. Please be advised that some areas of the resort are undergoing extensive renovation and parking may be limited at times. During this time, there is a daily parking fee of $20.00. You can valet with us or self-park at our garage across the street. The daily parking fee applies to both options. Our best is always done to notify our exchange and rental partners of any fees that may be due at check in, so that they can advise their customers. Additionally, we regret that you had trouble with your key card. It is our sincere hope that you will consider returning to our resort in the near future, so we can show you the level of hospitality we are known for and allow us the opportunity to turn this negative experience into a positive memorable one!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Expecting renovation to be complete the end of July, wow what a disappointment. As an owner for over 20 years, I was hoping the pool and fitness area would have been improved...not! The valet was like a destruction derby at 3:30 pm. At check in we waited for over 20 minutes. Going to the beach, walk all the way around as the front entrance is still closed due to construction. 3rdvehicle cost is$20 per night. Soo disappointed in this resort. When I booked a year ago, asked for a specific room and Lakeview, no it's parking lot view! The Annual dues are extremely high! Kids Club...no drop offs, we brought our grandson. Fortunately we are staying to our timeshare at the Ridge next week. They could give some lessons to Diamond Resorts on how to manage the place! I think I will sell, although worth pennies for what we paid! Regardless, going to be a fabulous vacation as Lake Tahoe is magnificent!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scottfamilytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort is a timeshare resort owned and operated by Diamond Resorts International. The resort occupies one of the rare top spots at lake tahoe being located just a few feet away from the lakeshore. If you are lucky enough you get one of the few rooms with a lake view. The resort is currently (2013/2014) being renovated completely and the rooms are upgraded to the new Diamond standard. We had a Deluxe studio. The "Deluxe" in front of any room description currently refers to the fact whether the unit has already been upgraded or not. The studios are on the small side compared to other resorts but we did not mind at all. However if you plan to use the kitchenette for breakfast, lunch or dinner, I would recommend to book a 1 bedroom unit instead. The resort offers many amenities such as Wi-Fi, pools, bar, restaurant, Concergie service, pool table and more. During the renovations valet parking was mandatory which was understandable as self-parking would have created a big mess with the construction using the majority of the available parking spaces. Valet parking is free of charge for owners so we did not mind at all. Of course the ongoing construction was bothersome at times, but we were lucky enough to get a unit which was not facing the construction site. I could have cared less anyways as - probably because of the ongoing construction - the units were deeply discounted if you booked them using your points. My entire week in the Deluxe studio cost me about $100 worth in points - so no complaints here. If you are not an owner and they do not offer discounts I would wait until the renovations are completed - but then you definitely have to stay at this wonderful property!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Spicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed in a two bedroom lock-off from Tuesday, July 15 - Saturday, July 19, 2014. We used my mom's timeshare points that we booked in Dec 2013. I'm sure they were full as it was during the American Century Celebrity golf tournament at Edgewood Golf course about 1.5 miles away. We ended up on the first floor facing the valet parking - not ideal, but the interior accommodations were so nice, it was fine. We actually liked not having to use the elevator to get around. When I called a few days before our stay, I was told the pool was now open, which was a wonderful unexpected plus! - as all communication regarding our stay prepared us for its closure. The valet parking staff was good and friendly. They have been at this for a while as the renovations have been going on for a long time. They run the parking very well. The garage isn't far away if you want to get your keys and access your car yourself (opposite corner of the hotel on Ski run Blvd between hwy 50 and paradise ave) The rooms are nice. Kitchens equipped. Loved using the free full size washers and dryers as we had already been on the road for 5 days when we arrived here. Wifi worked well. Never received a time share sales pitch - probably because we were staying on points. Parking and Wifi were also included since we were staying on points. Otherwise parking is $20/day. Not sure what wifi would cost. We used the grills - 4 nice gas weber ones on the front lawns. We walked to the golf tournament, Blue dog pizza and Nephele's. Great sidewalks/paths for getting around on foot or exercise. There is beach area to hang out on. The sand is more pebble-like than soft. It is shallow out front for a long way out.
Construction is still going on which makes the front entrance, some sidewalks and courtyards inaccessible. All areas are well labeled. The loudest area we experienced was by the pool. Construction noise was never occurring outside of work hours.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank laura_f_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel was a huge disappointment in all areas. The price was $300 for a studio. I assumed that this price was higher than normal due to the holiday weekend. The room was very small and looked out to a rooftop. The kitchenette was very limited. The room was clean. When we entered, there was no access except through a construction entrance. There was a trailer set up for valet parking. It was complete chaos as the power was out and a very loud generator was running to operate emergency lighting throughout the resort. The check in staff was overwhelmed in every way and frazzled. We arrived at about 3:30pm and did not have any power until almost 8pm. The air conditioning and the television never worked. No hot water without power, of course. The swimming pool was jammed and there were no open chairs anywhere in the public areas. The location of the resort is good in regards to lake access.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony overlooking the lake would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Dana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort would like to provide our sincere apologies for the inconvenience of the Friday, July 4th power outage that affected our resort and most businesses along US Hwy 50 through South Lake Tahoe. Unfortunately, one of our preferred alternate sources for energy was a part of the concerns you mentioned. Our emergency generator, which is located in the back parking lot was running to generate power to our buildings so we could limit inconvenience to our guests. We deeply apologize for the disruptive noise you heard but, we feel it is imperative that we continue to be prepared for power outages and winter storms for the safety of everyone here. Crews quickly and safely completed the necessary repairs by 6:30pm that evening and all power was restored. If notified, our front desk and maintenance team would have been more than happy to address any issues that arose from your room such as, the air conditioning unit and television or looked into relocating you to a more preferable unit. We regret not being given the opportunity to address this with you during your stay. There is no shortage of reasons why our resort is great for families traveling with their little ones during the summer season however due to the demand of our suites during the summer months the rates are higher and the amenities can get a bit crowded. It is our sincere hope that you will consider returning to our hotel in the near future, so we can show you the level of hospitality we are known for and allow us the opportunity to turn this negative experience into a positive memorable one

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Room and location good but resort still under renovation, so if you want a nice room, one bedroom nice with a full kitchen, or a studio with kitchenette(still better than a normal hotel room), but don't need the pool or full restaurant. Then this might work for you. The casino's and heavenly valley resort a mile and a half away. Access to lake rentals / Tahoe Queen large paddle boat and other beach activities lakeside right behind hotel. Several restaurants within walking distance. Renovations should get completed by end of summer in stages for pool and common area---consider calling if you have any concerns.

Room Tip: Had a second floor room -- no noise from above or below...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Tahoe (California) hotels
0.1 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#6 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
521 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
238 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
918 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
#17 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
528 reviews
1 mi away
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel
#18 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort

Address: 901 Ski Run Blvd, CA 96150-8569
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Tahoe (California)
Price Range: £76 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort puts you amid the setting for the vacation of a lifetime. Come each season, you will find different scenery, not to mention a variety of different seasonal activities. It's hard to imagine anything could beat the views and variety you get when you plan your visit to beautiful South Lake Tahoe, California. This is an area built around the reason for the breathtaking panorama, Lake Tahoe, America's largest Alpine lake. From sight to touch, you will revel in the wonders of the sapphire-blue water of the lake, perfectly situated right at the base of the stunning, snow-capped mountain peaks of the Sierra Nevada Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Tahoe Vacation Hotel Lake Tahoe (California)
Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing