We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Experience for us”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good Experience for us”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We arrived very late for checking in due to an earlier unforseen incident.

When we arrived, the girl who checked us in was very helpful and sympathetic to our later arrival and put is in a room on the 6th floor which did overlook the lake.

The room was lovely and spacious and very clean. No complaints at all.

We went out to breakfast as there are no facilities here for that and found a perfect place just across road where we could sit outside and have a very nice breakfast for a very reasible price.

We were only here for two nights and wanted explore area, so if you intended use all the hotel facilities, we could understand some of the previous reviews as the hotel is undergoing refurbishment.

We would come back here again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    218
    82
    56
    46
See reviews for
254
172
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We had travelled half way around the world to stay at this hotel. Beautiful Lake Tahoe is amazing and we really enjoyed our visit to the area. The hotel has a fantastic location but it's not really a hotel, rather it's an apartment block. The rooms are very comfortable, good linen and towels and the kitchen that we had in our apartment was well equipped. Unfortunately that's where it ends. Our view from both rooms that we had was over a building site. We were placed on the ground or first floor and were woken up in the morning with a digger reversing outside our room window. This was not what we signed up for. The amenities in this hotel are poor. The is no restaurant and the bar is in a corner under the stairs with not comfortable sitting area. This is next to a rather noisy games area So there was no chance of us having a quiet pre-dinner drink. For what should be a high class hotel the swimming pool is small.

What we really couldn't understand was that there was no service provided to the rooms. Beds were never made and no rubbish was ever removed. None of this ever explained to us on arrival.

Check in was an interesting experience. This hotel doesn't seem to understand the concept of hospitality. Check in at the Reception desk took almost 20 minutes while they found two "suitable" rooms even though we had booked he accommodation at least six months in advance. We were a family and finally the two rooms we had to accept were located at opposite ends of the hotel. Having checked in we had to go to another desk to be given a lecture on what to do in the area. All very interesting but we had just driven 300 miles and we had other priorities other than listening to a lecture on why we should attend a talk on time share.

We had booked one double standard room and one twin standard room. The hotel didn't have a twin room but said that the second bed for the twin room was a pull out bed in the sitting room. This in my opinion is not satisfactory as why should we pay a large sum of money for my son to have to sleep on a pull out bed. If I had wanted to save money I could have just have booked one room which according to the hotel staff accommodates four people, two on pull out beds.

In conclusion this hotel has great potential but should be a bit more honest with its guests

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Worthmoretravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for providing feedback on your stay at Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort. It is with regret that we hear you did not enjoy your stay. The resort is currently in the final stages of a multimillion dollar remodeling project. The information on the project, as well as resort’s latest news and events are located on the resort’s website. We do offer housekeeping service and trash removal, which is dependent on the length of guests’ stay. Reservations lasting longer than four nights receive a complimentary midweek cleaning. Guests have the ability to request additional housekeeping service. Our team members work diligently to provide prompt and exceptional customer service. Team members also do their best to fulfill specific reservation requests to ensure the guests have a memorable stay. We do hope you will choose to stay at Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort once our construction is complete as we know you will enjoy the newest additions to the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lake Tahoe (California) hotels

Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We were not at all pleased with our recent stay at Lake Tahoe Resort, It is under construction and so unorganized. The place will one day be beautiful but from what I gather from the staff it will be months, or a year before it is complete. Be prepared for hidden "resort fees" and for the hard core selling of a time share. We do NOT like the time share selling portion. The room was very nice and clean but check in time was 4:00 and many rooms were not available till 6:00 and check out time was 10:00. What happened to the "normal" 11:00 that most places offer?? We wont be returning to this place anytime soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank connie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
We regret to hear of your dissatisfaction with your recent stay. This being said, we thank you for providing your feedback, as we are always looking for suggestions to better each and every guest’s experience while at our resort. While our current policies were not as suitable to your needs, we wish you all the best on your future travels and hope we have the chance to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
River Forest, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Like other Diamond International owners, I was extremely disappointed in this property. Although they are undergoing renovations, it seems that the architects haven't considered the wide range of people who will be vacationing. The registration lobby is located in the furthest most part of the resort. There is only a small common area to sit which is next to the bar and with our small studio and no easy chair, we were hoping we could go somewhere just to read. The outside spaces are limited and I'm not sure that there are plans to expand this post-renovation.
The pool area had been renovated, but the hot tub is there and frequently filled with young children in spite of signs indicating that children should be accompanied by an adult. Since there is no lifeguard or staff who regularly is in the area, the hot tub would be best converted to a wading pool for the kids.Shouldn't have been surprised since I saw many very young children unaccompanied in the hallways, elevators and even riding their bikes through the resort hallways. It was a good thing that we planned many days hiking in the area and the weather allowed us to do so. I left thinking I would consider selling some of my Diamond property too and knew why they wanted to get their sales pitch in early in our stay.
Lake Tahoe is beautiful with many wonderful activities. If I return, it will be to a different resort.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lila112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback. You are correct that our resort is currently undergoing a rather large renovation project. This has caused our check-in area to be further from the entrance for the time being. Rest assured that the construction project we are currently undergoing is crucial to maintaining an alluring and welcoming setting here at Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort. We would like to welcome you back to our resort in the future and hope you will enjoy our enhancements the next time you visit.
Our Security team works hard to ensure our pool rules are being followed; however, we did run into a staffing problem which we are looking to address. Our team appreciates you taking the time to report any suspicious activity, as safety is highly important to our resort. We would like to welcome you back to our resort in the future and are confident you will enjoy our enhancements the next time you visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Angeles, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Upon arrival we were told that the computers were down and that we would have to "just go somewhere else for a few hours" after driving 6 hours to get there.. No apologies or courtesy. After waiting for an hour and a half we were finally given a room and a key only to find out that the parking lot was full and the parking pass they had just made us buy was completely useless. When we got to the room our door lock was broken and a mechanic had to come up and fix it. Our air conditioning and phone were both broken and we were woken up bright and early to construction noise. The front desk was so useless that they were even unable to simply issue a duplicate card to a room without changing all of the keys, so my family members keys all didn't work anymore. We waited 30 minutes for a bellhop upon checkout and finally called down only to be told there were still people in line ahead of us. I am wholeheartedly disappointed with this hotel and their staff, it really put a damper on our vacation. Seriously, if you want a relaxing vacation where you can sleep past 8 am and have some of the simple amenities a hotel offers do NOT stay at the Tahoe Vacation Resort.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aliblake54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
We are, equally disheartened at your disappointment in your check in experience and service provided by our usually very friendly and often complimented front desk team members. As we never want a guest to leave with a negative impression of our resort, you have our sincere apology for any inconvenience you may have experienced while on-site. Please understand, our team does their very best to assist our guests in a timely fashion and to keep wait times to a minimum. On our busier days, we do try to give an approximate time, but it can only be approximate and there are so many variables that can factor into these wait times. We certainly understand your sentiment if you felt our team was unapologetic. This will be addressed internally. Please be advised that some areas of the resort are undergoing extensive renovation and parking may be limited at times. During this time, there is a daily parking fee of $20.00. You can valet with us or self-park at our garage across the street. The daily parking fee applies to both options. Our best is always done to notify our exchange and rental partners of any fees that may be due at check in, so that they can advise their customers. Additionally, we regret that you had trouble with your key card. It is our sincere hope that you will consider returning to our resort in the near future, so we can show you the level of hospitality we are known for and allow us the opportunity to turn this negative experience into a positive memorable one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacaville, CA
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Expecting renovation to be complete the end of July, wow what a disappointment. As an owner for over 20 years, I was hoping the pool and fitness area would have been improved...not! The valet was like a destruction derby at 3:30 pm. At check in we waited for over 20 minutes. Going to the beach, walk all the way around as the front entrance is still closed due to construction. 3rdvehicle cost is$20 per night. Soo disappointed in this resort. When I booked a year ago, asked for a specific room and Lakeview, no it's parking lot view! The Annual dues are extremely high! Kids Club...no drop offs, we brought our grandson. Fortunately we are staying to our timeshare at the Ridge next week. They could give some lessons to Diamond Resorts on how to manage the place! I think I will sell, although worth pennies for what we paid! Regardless, going to be a fabulous vacation as Lake Tahoe is magnificent!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottfamilytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort is a timeshare resort owned and operated by Diamond Resorts International. The resort occupies one of the rare top spots at lake tahoe being located just a few feet away from the lakeshore. If you are lucky enough you get one of the few rooms with a lake view. The resort is currently (2013/2014) being renovated completely and the rooms are upgraded to the new Diamond standard. We had a Deluxe studio. The "Deluxe" in front of any room description currently refers to the fact whether the unit has already been upgraded or not. The studios are on the small side compared to other resorts but we did not mind at all. However if you plan to use the kitchenette for breakfast, lunch or dinner, I would recommend to book a 1 bedroom unit instead. The resort offers many amenities such as Wi-Fi, pools, bar, restaurant, Concergie service, pool table and more. During the renovations valet parking was mandatory which was understandable as self-parking would have created a big mess with the construction using the majority of the available parking spaces. Valet parking is free of charge for owners so we did not mind at all. Of course the ongoing construction was bothersome at times, but we were lucky enough to get a unit which was not facing the construction site. I could have cared less anyways as - probably because of the ongoing construction - the units were deeply discounted if you booked them using your points. My entire week in the Deluxe studio cost me about $100 worth in points - so no complaints here. If you are not an owner and they do not offer discounts I would wait until the renovations are completed - but then you definitely have to stay at this wonderful property!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Spicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Tahoe (California) hotels
0.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,016 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
889 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
468 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
#18 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort

Property: Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort
Address: 901 Ski Run Boulevard, CA 96150-8569
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Tahoe (California)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort puts you amid the setting for the vacation of a lifetime. Come each season, you will find different scenery, not to mention a variety of different seasonal activities. It's hard to imagine anything could beat the views and variety you get when you plan your visit to beautiful South Lake Tahoe, California. This is an area built around the reason for the breathtaking panorama, Lake Tahoe, America's largest Alpine lake. From sight to touch, you will revel in the wonders of the sapphire-blue water of the lake, perfectly situated right at the base of the stunning, snow-capped mountain peaks of the Sierra Nevada Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Tahoe Vacation Hotel Lake Tahoe (California)
Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing