We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go with an open mind.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort
Barry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Go with an open mind.....”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel after lots of deliberation with the travel agents, as we were made aware that it was undergoing renovation works. We decided to go for it as our main aim of visiting the area was to take advantage of the lake , not sit in the hotel, and the hotel had a great location. We did contact the hotel directly late 2013 who said most works would be complete by the time of out visit, which they were not, and quite major works were still being carried out at the front of the hotel. That said it did not detract from our visit too much, as the plus side is they have many refurbished rooms with great kitchen units, so if you are touring with a family it gives you a nice option from dining out one evening. Rooms were well appointed and nicely finished, view from ours over the lake was lovely, even with the builders scaffold scattered in the 'garden' below. Laundry facilities were good and situated on each floor, again very useful if on a long touring trip as we were with our children. The location by the lake really puts the works to the back of your mind, as it is right on the beach with great water sports rentals to choose from, our advice - hire kayaks to experience it early in a morning, brilliant.
Staff we OK - bar team were best, really chatty. There was a sell on time share but not pressured, a polite refusal and that was it. Resort fee of $20 per night is payable what ever, and includes wifi and parking. At first this was off putting as it was a non negotiable, which I took exception to. However the advantage was to dump your car at the valet and just call them when you needed it, very convenient, and actually worth the $20 per day. Advice to the hotel - drop the resort fee and just say you charge for parking, you will get less hassle, especially as parking is not in abundance locally. One more point get realistic about when you will finish the renovation project, your team think at best it will be Christmas, perhaps Santa will be kind and give a hand finishing off. My advice is you can still enjoy a short break here, just go with an open mind if they are still working on it......

Overall we have a good stay, thank you .

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    215
    82
    56
    44
See reviews for
250
170
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The place itself is in a good location. Construction going on. When I called, I got one answer. When I got there, I got another answer. Walls are pretty thin...can hear the toilet flushing in the next room and people walking above. The CONCIERGE employees are REALLY ILL INFORMED. Be careful when booking excursions. And they tell you the wrong places to wait for the buses, don't answer their phones and don't care they gave you wrong information. No beach towels or chairs available. Employees came into my room when I was there and when I also told them not to. I hate that. I won't be returning.

Room Tip: Top floor, most likely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IslandsSeasStinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Absolutely do not stay here. Lowlights of our stay:

1) tried to sell us timeshare 3 times and continued to talk incessantly even after we said we were not interested right off the bat. We are two 25 year olds and they gave us major attitude even after we politely declined.

2) no maid service.... But someone entered our room. We thought the place was a bit sketchy and set up a trash can propped up against the door to see if anyone entered while we were gone because if they were not cleaning (for free - maid service was an additional charge) a single time during our stay, why would they enter? Got back and sure enough, trash can was pushed all the way over to the side. We called security and they scanned our door to determine the times it was opened. When they said 4:30pm and I said we were not at the hotel then, security immediately said "oh that that must have been a different door." Don't buy it, super sketchy. Lights stopped working in the bathroom after they scanned our door, cherry on top of the cake.

3) outlets stopped working multiple times. Tried charging our phones at night only to wake up to them completely dead and the outlets not working. Tough to navigate the Tahoe area with dead phones and given the maps from the concierge were completely innaccurate and left us lost on unpaved dirt roads in the middle of the wilderness.

4) another common complaint - mandatory valet parking. Wouldn't have minded if it was timely, but took 40 minutes for them to get my car after they told us it would be ready in 10-15 when we called ahead

5) air conditioner extremely loud. Tough to sleep through the noise

6) view of ugly construction which was not brought to our attention prior to booking.

7) no one there to help with our bags or direct us upon arrival. Check in was all the way across the building

8) recently renovated room but ... Still has popcorn ceilings?

9) we booked a room with two queen beds. Ours were definitely full size.. Would have appreciated a heads up or discount but didn't bother asking about it since every time we walked to the front desk they pestered us about buying a time share

In conclusion, would have rather stayed in a motel. Spent more time at the marriott at heavenly down to street - stay there instead. This is place is terrible. While this is on the water, it is not within walking distance of a good beach.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Leelster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort. We appreciate all forms of guest feedback, and it is through constructive comments such as yours, that we are able to continually improve our services and facilities for our guests. As we take all our guests’ comments very seriously, we have brought your feedback to the attention of the entire management team, and addressed each mentioned issue with the departments involved, in an effort to prevent any similar occurrences from happening in the future. As we are primarily a Vacation Ownership property, housekeeping services are provided on a weekly basis for guests staying longer. How long you stayed would have determined if we would have scheduled a housekeeping service for you or not. If you were unaware of our cleaning schedule, and this too, had a negative impact on your stay, we apologize. Lastly, valet services can take up to an hour based on time of day when you call and the number of guests waiting ahead of you. We always try to quote as accurate a time as possible. The valets have an efficient system in place so that guests can drop off or pick up their cars quickly and easily. Nevertheless, we apologize you had to endure such wait times.
Once again, thank you for your comments and we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back if you do decide give us another chance and stay with us again in the future! We are confident that your next stay will prove to be an outstanding experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lake Tahoe (California) hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We checked in on the 4th of July and the entrance was blocked. We had to show our reservation to drive in, which was packed away in the car, so we had to unpack, just to drive in. Then we had to drive to the back because the front was closed off due to construction, then we had to walk all the way to the front while being harassed by the parking attendant. The power was out and there were alarms blaring everywhere. When we checked in, the room had one queen bed. We had 5 people and were expecting a one bedroom unit. They offered no solution other than for us to pay for another room. The room had a window that faced the parking lot, but even the view of the parking lot was blocked by the temporary trailer that the valet operated from. We saw the back of a trailer. Then we did the timeshare tour (we had no choice) and got to see a beautiful 2 bedroom unit that nobody slept in while we were downstairs stepping over air mattresses. The pool was open although they had warned us it would not be, so that was a nice surprise, and the pool was nice. Tahoe itself is beautiful, and the location is perfect, right on the water, so we got over it and had a good time. It could have been so much better if they had a staff who cared about the guest experience. They care about sales.

Room Tip: Higher floors can see the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
We appreciate that you chose Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort for your recent visit to Lake Tahoe; however we were disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations. As we are under construction, the front entrance is closed and valet service is temporarily located in the back of the building. Guests walk to the front desk to check in. Upon arrival, a valet parking attendant will greet our guests with a smile, assist them in and out of their vehicle, and ask if you are here to check in. If so, they explain how to get to the front desk, they should never ask for any type of reservation information. Our friendly valet attendants provide valet parking services to safely and efficiently move guest automobiles to a designated parking location. They may ask for guests car keys in case the vehicle has to be moved. This should never be hassling or harassing and will be addressed with our team.
On the 4th of July we were experiencing a power outage. We understand sudden power outages can be frustrating and troublesome, especially when they last a long time, however there were no sirens blaring through the building. Our emergency generator, which is located in the back parking lot, was running to generate power to our buildings so we could limit inconvenience to our guests. We deeply apologize for the disruptive noise you heard but, we feel it is imperative that we continue to be prepared for power outages and winter storms for the safety of everyone here. As for the room type you were assigned, a description, along with the services of the resort, accommodation details of our guestrooms which include size and square footage, is posted on our website in advance and is relayed to our 3rd party rental partners so that guests can make an informed decision. We regret that you did not find this information ahead of time. We hope that you would be willing to give us another chance to make a better impression on you in the future and wish you all the best on your future travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We arrived very late for checking in due to an earlier unforseen incident.

When we arrived, the girl who checked us in was very helpful and sympathetic to our later arrival and put is in a room on the 6th floor which did overlook the lake.

The room was lovely and spacious and very clean. No complaints at all.

We went out to breakfast as there are no facilities here for that and found a perfect place just across road where we could sit outside and have a very nice breakfast for a very reasible price.

We were only here for two nights and wanted explore area, so if you intended use all the hotel facilities, we could understand some of the previous reviews as the hotel is undergoing refurbishment.

We would come back here again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We had travelled half way around the world to stay at this hotel. Beautiful Lake Tahoe is amazing and we really enjoyed our visit to the area. The hotel has a fantastic location but it's not really a hotel, rather it's an apartment block. The rooms are very comfortable, good linen and towels and the kitchen that we had in our apartment was well equipped. Unfortunately that's where it ends. Our view from both rooms that we had was over a building site. We were placed on the ground or first floor and were woken up in the morning with a digger reversing outside our room window. This was not what we signed up for. The amenities in this hotel are poor. The is no restaurant and the bar is in a corner under the stairs with not comfortable sitting area. This is next to a rather noisy games area So there was no chance of us having a quiet pre-dinner drink. For what should be a high class hotel the swimming pool is small.

What we really couldn't understand was that there was no service provided to the rooms. Beds were never made and no rubbish was ever removed. None of this ever explained to us on arrival.

Check in was an interesting experience. This hotel doesn't seem to understand the concept of hospitality. Check in at the Reception desk took almost 20 minutes while they found two "suitable" rooms even though we had booked he accommodation at least six months in advance. We were a family and finally the two rooms we had to accept were located at opposite ends of the hotel. Having checked in we had to go to another desk to be given a lecture on what to do in the area. All very interesting but we had just driven 300 miles and we had other priorities other than listening to a lecture on why we should attend a talk on time share.

We had booked one double standard room and one twin standard room. The hotel didn't have a twin room but said that the second bed for the twin room was a pull out bed in the sitting room. This in my opinion is not satisfactory as why should we pay a large sum of money for my son to have to sleep on a pull out bed. If I had wanted to save money I could have just have booked one room which according to the hotel staff accommodates four people, two on pull out beds.

In conclusion this hotel has great potential but should be a bit more honest with its guests

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Worthmoretravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for providing feedback on your stay at Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort. It is with regret that we hear you did not enjoy your stay. The resort is currently in the final stages of a multimillion dollar remodeling project. The information on the project, as well as resort’s latest news and events are located on the resort’s website. We do offer housekeeping service and trash removal, which is dependent on the length of guests’ stay. Reservations lasting longer than four nights receive a complimentary midweek cleaning. Guests have the ability to request additional housekeeping service. Our team members work diligently to provide prompt and exceptional customer service. Team members also do their best to fulfill specific reservation requests to ensure the guests have a memorable stay. We do hope you will choose to stay at Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort once our construction is complete as we know you will enjoy the newest additions to the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We were not at all pleased with our recent stay at Lake Tahoe Resort, It is under construction and so unorganized. The place will one day be beautiful but from what I gather from the staff it will be months, or a year before it is complete. Be prepared for hidden "resort fees" and for the hard core selling of a time share. We do NOT like the time share selling portion. The room was very nice and clean but check in time was 4:00 and many rooms were not available till 6:00 and check out time was 10:00. What happened to the "normal" 11:00 that most places offer?? We wont be returning to this place anytime soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank connie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
We regret to hear of your dissatisfaction with your recent stay. This being said, we thank you for providing your feedback, as we are always looking for suggestions to better each and every guest’s experience while at our resort. While our current policies were not as suitable to your needs, we wish you all the best on your future travels and hope we have the chance to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Tahoe (California) hotels
0.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#12 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
934 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
881 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
#18 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
504 reviews
0.1 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#6 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
460 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort

Property: Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort
Address: 901 Ski Run Blvd, CA 96150-8569
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Tahoe (California)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort puts you amid the setting for the vacation of a lifetime. Come each season, you will find different scenery, not to mention a variety of different seasonal activities. It's hard to imagine anything could beat the views and variety you get when you plan your visit to beautiful South Lake Tahoe, California. This is an area built around the reason for the breathtaking panorama, Lake Tahoe, America's largest Alpine lake. From sight to touch, you will revel in the wonders of the sapphire-blue water of the lake, perfectly situated right at the base of the stunning, snow-capped mountain peaks of the Sierra Nevada Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Tahoe Vacation Hotel Lake Tahoe (California)
Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing