We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort
Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay for Vacation”
Reviewed 31 August 2009

We stayed here for a week and loved the location ! Nearby to casinos,good restaurants
shops and the lake.The resort does not have any shuttle buses but across the street
you can catch a public bus for $2 that will take you to casinos and shops.
The resort is very clean and the staff is very efficent.Our family stayed in a 2 bedroom,
2 bath suite with a full kitchen equipped with all dishes.Maid service was very good.
When we requested additional items they provided them.
The down side is the $12 daily parking fee.They will charge you $12 / day if you park it yourself or use the valet service.Small parking lot.You will have to wait for someone to leave to get a spot.Also they will offer free items if you attend a 2 hour sales pitch to sell
you timeshare at Diamond Resorts.Be sure to avoid this at all costs.
Overall I give this resort a 4 Star rating.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wirewrapper09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    216
    82
    56
    45
See reviews for
253
171
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2009

I am being ripped off . They are not willing to give a room suitable, (cant sleep with the hubby)withought an extra $50 a night, parking is a charge and gee no maid service unless you stay 4 days and then its only one time, The room is misrepresented in hotwire. No whirlpool and the room is tiny even by hotel standards. Watch out for this place and dont book it in hotwire..its listed as 3 1/2 stars. HA!!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OregonTravelseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lake Tahoe (California) hotels

Vallejo, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2009

Check in was nice and smooth along with extra offers for their time share presentation. We were given a first floor room which my wife doesn't like, no problem, they gave us a second floor room. Get to the room the key isn't working. The lady from housekeeping had no problem opening the door, just threw her body against it and it opened fine. Ok, I need another room, because I'm not about to throw a shoulder out every time to enter the room.

My wife specifically requested a king bed, we get a queen. I'm too tall for queens and she has hot flashes. Front desk says no queens available, but if you produce a printout confirmation of a king, then we will get you a king. If you're sold out and there are no kings available then how are you going to give us a king. SHADY! We gave them all their timeshare crap back because we will never go back and won't recommend them to anyone. The parking sucks, but I'll admit the rooms were nice. The queen bed actually felt great just too small for my size. I never slept well the whole stay.

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank fatchuky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2009

This was our first stay here. We are members of Raintree Vacation Club, which has a joint venture with Diamond resorts. I agree with pretty much everything already stated by Bill1978 and Kermit NC.
We were in a 1 bedroom unit, very comfortable and well furnished. Good kitchen facilities & comfortable bed. The building is close to the busy intersection of Highway 50 and Ski Run Blvd. Our room faced the traffic so there was a lot of noise but not too annoying for our 4th floor room. If you could ignore the traffic there was a pleasant mountain view. The building is 6 stories high; if at all possible, try to be on the 4th floor or higher. Lower floors have a view of the parking lots or the pool or an adjoining building. The best rooms are saved for Diamond owners.
We did submit to the timeshare presentation which was definitely HIGH PRESSURE. We did receive a free dinner cruise on the Tahoe Queen so I can't complain too much, but be aware of what you're in for if you go.
Self-parking is very tight around the building and we ended up at the off-site lot about a block away, across the busy streets. Same $12 per day charge for self-parking or valet, but you have to wait for the valet to get your car plus tipping.
I didn't do the wi-fi but checked email on the 2 computers in the lobby. They were in almost constant use & sometimes you have to wait for a while.
There were washers & dryers on each floor, with no charge. Bring your own detergent.
Lots of good restaurants in easy walking distance, especially Heidi's and Blue Angel.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelerSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2009

My wife, son (9 year old) and I sent 6 nights at this resort, as owners of Diamond Resorts. It was a nice break from the summer heat of the Southeast.

Location of Resort
It is about 60 miles from Reno airport (RNO). The scenic route from RNO to the resort (via route 431) takes about 90 minutes as it winds through the mountains but the view was breathtaking. I would recommend going this route instead of through Carson City—view is much better and does not take any longer. RNO is fairly small which may account for why our generic midsize rental car for the week was over $400! And coming from the east coast, there are few non-stop flights to Reno. Sacramento is about 120 miles away and may be worth considering for these reasons.

Lake Tahoe itself is just beautiful and the resort is within a hundred yards from the marina and a small public beach. We got a great parking lot view but I guess the lake view rooms would be stunning.

Staff
Staff was friendly and helpful. There was an undertone of trying to sell timeshare to guests, even to owners. At check-in, they tried to give us a free lake cruise by signing us up for an owners update. This is one of the resorts in Diamond Resorts International collection. Since we are already owners, we were not interested in buying more time so we declined at check-in. There was only one phone call during our stay, offering us a gift certificate, which we also declined.

Resort Amenities
As owners, we did not have to pay for parking but I understand it is $12 a day for self-park or valet. Parking on-site is ATROCIOUS—very limited number of spaces. By 6 pm, you will not likely find any spots next to the resort. There is an overflow lot across the highway that is about a 5-minute walk, so not ideal. You can valet, of course, but it is not as convenient as just walking to your car and driving away. And sometimes valet can take a while, depending on how many people are waiting for their cars.

Pool is divided into indoor and outdoor sections that are connected. Kids love being able to go in and out. In July, it was warm enough to do that. There are indoor and outdoor hot tubs, along with a sauna. It can still be chilly outside when the wind is blowing.

There is an on-site gift shop and a restaurant. But there are lots of other places to eat all within walking distance of the resort.

Kids program looked reasonable, but seemed to be geared more for the younger (up to 7 year old) kids so my 9-year old did not participate in any of the programs. There is a teen program but I cannot say much about it since we do not have a teenager.

Accommodation
We stayed in a 1-bedroom condo, which offered plenty of space. The design is strange (something we have encountered at another timeshare). You use your key to get into a main foyer. It is divided into A and B units (1-BR and studio). But then you have to use your key again to go into your own unit. Not sure how this design is better than the typical hotel lock off rooms.

Wireless Internet access costs $7 a day or $30 a week. This is not bad compared to what most hotels charge (up to $15 a day). Speed and signal strength in the room were excellent until late afternoon and evening, at which time it can be crawling speed.

Décor is nice but not fancy. Furniture and bed are comfortable. Small apartment-like kitchen but has everything you need. Large bathroom has a Jacuzzi tub. Everything was clean and in working order. We were not able to hear any appreciable noise from the hall or neighbors.

Housekeeping comes in 3 days after you arrive to clean the room, replenishing amenities (coffee, soap, shampoo, towels) and take out the trash. If your trash gets full, there is no self-serve trash chute so you have to call housekeeping to come pick it up.

One major complaint—there is NO washer and dryer in the suite. There are 2 complementary Laundromats (2 sets of washers and dryers) on each floor, but doing laundry means having to watch the timer to go put things into or take things out of the dryer. Can’t just put something in the washer or dryer and go grab lunch.

Things to Do
There are scenic drives, hiking trails, beaches, national and state parks everywhere around Lake Tahoe. Emerald Bay is just gorgeous—and looking at the number of boats in the bay, it is definitely a local favorite. A steep 1-mile hike down to Vikingsholm Castle is nice and doable. You can also hike to the base of Eagle Falls from there. Even in July, the water in the lake is still cold so not everyone is going to want to go swimming.

We don’t gamble, but there are several casinos just over the border in Stateline NV. Heavenly ski resort has a gondola ride to the top. But it is very expensive.

We did a long day trip to Yosemite and Devils Postpile National Monument (at Mammoth Lakes). This is quite a drive (6 hours) roundtrip but worth it because of the spectacular sights. Because we were arriving from the north, we were only able to visit the northern section of Yosemite. But according to one of the park rangers, Yosemite Valley is extremely crowded this time of year and the northern portion is just as beautiful (except no waterfalls).

Reno was a dud for families; we could not find anything interesting to do. But a day trip to Sacramento (2 hours away) was worth it. The California State Railroad Museum was incredible. The Aerospace Museum was also enjoyable, especially if you have boys.

Overall Impression
Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort has more of a hotel feel than a resort feel. This is good or bad depending on what you are looking for. It is also quite expensive, requiring a lot of our timeshare points. We enjoyed our stay but we have stayed in better. However, Lake Tahoe itself makes up for a few of the resort’s shortcomings.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KermitNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2009

Stayed here for two nights at the beginning of June. Had purchased through Hotwire at a good price for a studio. I was upgraded to a one room unit which was very nice, spacious and very clean. Very helpful staff. Great location. Only problem is the parking and having to pay mandatory charge for parking.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whistledown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lemoore, California
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2009

We are Diamond Resort OWNERS. Our ownership is at San Luis Bay Inn. But we now are points owners so this is one of our Diamond Resorts in our family. This RESORT is GREAT. It is at least a FOUR STAR maybe even FOUR AND A HALF STAR. We stayed in a one bedroom in the new WING Room 533A. It was awesome. Two LARGE flat screen TV's, FULL updated kitchen, nice KING SIZE bed, hot tub. Nice balcony view of HEAVENLY. Everything in the room was OUTSTANDING!

They have two computers in the KIOSK that you can use for FREE! 20 minute time limit. The people at the front desk were very helpful and the maids were always there. You get mid week service on Wednesday, but every day you can get new towels and stuff that you need (i.e., soap, shampoo, lotion, dish washing powder/soap, etc).

A couple of things......

1. WATCH OUT FOR THE TIME SHARE PRESENTATION! "I need not say anymore about this - BEWARE"! If you're staying there as a PERK WEEKEND well you better go......They will put a $20.00 hold on your credit card and if you don't show up for the presentation they will take your $20.00. I'm a OWNER and was lied to before I came there by Diamond Resort workers telling me this is a MEMBERSHIP UPDATE - NOT A SALES PRESENTATION! DON'T BELIEVE THEM - NO MATTER WHAT THEY TELL YOU IT IS A SALES PRESENTATION - PERIOD! "BEWARE"!
2. Bring your own coffee or buy some there in the grocery. They give you one coffee in the room and charge $1.50 each for additional coffees.
3. PARKING, PARKING, PARKING. They have VERY LIMITED parking available. However, the do have FREE VALET PARKING available. It's pretty good, but sometimes you just want to go, not having to wait on your car. Also, if you forget something in your car you have to go down stairs to get you car key or ask them to get it for you. A bit of a HASSLE.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bill1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Tahoe (California) hotels
0.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,001 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
889 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
468 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort

Property: Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort
Address: 901 Ski Run Boulevard, CA 96150-8569
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Tahoe (California)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort puts you amid the setting for the vacation of a lifetime. Come each season, you will find different scenery, not to mention a variety of different seasonal activities. It's hard to imagine anything could beat the views and variety you get when you plan your visit to beautiful South Lake Tahoe, California. This is an area built around the reason for the breathtaking panorama, Lake Tahoe, America's largest Alpine lake. From sight to touch, you will revel in the wonders of the sapphire-blue water of the lake, perfectly situated right at the base of the stunning, snow-capped mountain peaks of the Sierra Nevada Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Tahoe Vacation Hotel Lake Tahoe (California)
Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing