We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort but stand up for your rights.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort
Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice resort but stand up for your rights.”
Reviewed 16 December 2009

Nice resort in a great location right next to the lake. It snowed the majority of the time so we didn't really get to see the lake or take a cruise. We purchased a package thru Sam's Club which included a fireplace and balcony or terrace. These amenities only come with a bedroom unit, not a studio so you have to ask the Smart Circle staff for it at no extra charge. When we arrived they gave us a 1 bedroom unit with a fireplace but no terrace or balcony. I had to ask them for the correct room and they changed it for us. We had to move everything again to another floor. No lake views available...only for owners. I was irritated that they did this...it's as if they are trying to get away with something or make t he decision based on if you are going to do the 90 minute tour or not, which I declined. They kept offering free stuff to take the tour but I finally made them understand I wasn't interested...tired after travelling all day to get there. My son did give in to the tour thing but they ask for a $50 deposit which I think is crazy. He canceled the next morning and got a refund but was a bit of a hassle. The restaurant was good but a little expensive. No room service. The fireplace didn't work in my son's room and a technician was called twice to fix it. The kitchen is supplied very well and the beds are comfortable. Overall the rooms were very nice and the most of the staff very nice. They charged us for parking at $12 per night when I told them when I checked in that I did not have a vehicle. When I checked out they said this was a bit of problem because they put concierge's up front at check in to boost sales but they don't have access to billing in the computers. Doesn't make sense but they reversed the charges right away....irritating non necessarily. Most of the valets were very helpful in giving information on the area. If you have a group more than 5, you have to tip the valet to get you the right cab so you don't have to pay for two cabs. We enjoyed our stay for the most part. The few irritants could have been avoided but I guess that's the way it goes with timeshares.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guillory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    215
    82
    56
    44
See reviews for
250
170
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2009

We purchased a 4 day/3 night package from Sam's Club for this resort. The package insert specifically stated "The Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort offers you 4 days/3 nights in a studio with a balcony or terrace and fireplace for up to four persons". We made our reservation for November, over Thanksgiving. We were given a very small standard room, which did have a kitchenette, but no fireplace and no balcony. Our view was of the parking lot and entry-way where people would walk to get to their cars, although it was never noisy. The room was clean, but incredibly small. It was somewhat claustrophobic. We realized that what we were given was a room that would have been the compendium room to the room next to us which was a one-bedroom with fireplace, flat screen TV, etc., and our room would have been the extra to that - and not meant for anything other than sleeping. It was one door that led into a small anteroom with a room straight ahead, and a room to the right. Soooo small. I had been dreaming of the fireplace for weeks - all cozy. Not to be.

Here are the hidden costs: Parking - $12/day, which was a walk across the street and into an underground, lit garage. We found the public parking area right next to it, under a street light - for free. We told them we had no car, and they wrote it off. Tell them you have no car - they won't charge you. Park somewhere else.

They won't give you a cart to take your stuff to your room. Only the bellman can take it and of course - for a tip. We took our own fold down "dolly" and carried our own stuff. No problem.

Internet is $6.95/day, per computer. But we discovered - as AT&T internet subscribers - we got FREE internet as AT&T offers their subscribers FREE internet at DIAMOND RESORTS! That was a great surprise. Our son had tons of homework to do using the internet over Thanksgiving, and we would have had to shell out the $6.95. The resort staff does not tell you that if you're an AT&T subscriber your internet is FREE.

The pool was constantly in use - full of adults and kids. The hot tub was constantly full. The only time it was quiet was in the early morning before noon.

NO MAID SERVICE. You have to stay there for more than 4 days to get maid service. There is a clothesline built into the tub you can hang the towels on to dry and re-use.
I was making beds every morning - just like at home. Lovely. Did my dishes every day, too.

They do have a nice loft area upstairs with couches/chairs/tables - fireplace and big screen TV. That was usually quiet and we spent some time up there. The bar is small, and right smack in the middle of the hotel and those going to the gym or pool - with kids - have to walk right past it in your wet bathing suit and towels. No private entrance. There is a pool table, and small exercise room. Downstairs are two comfy leather couches in front of a fireplace.

As long as you know how not to get nickel and dimed, and if they tell you your studio has two double beds (hint - that is the small room), then the place is just fine.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tkmyadvice2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, CA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2009

The first thing to know about this hotel is that there is no daily housekeeping and if you stay less than 5 days, there is no housekeeping at all. So, people let trash bags in the hallways...

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieSunnyvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lake Tahoe (California) hotels

Perth
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2009

My husband and I stayed here for 1 week in a one bedroom apartment which had a full kitchen and a balcony with a view of the lake. The resort was really nice and had everything you needed, check in was really quick and the concierge staff were really helpful and friendly. The resort has a restaurant on site but we didn't use it. The hot tub was fab and the in/out pool was good to. The hotel is really close to Safeway and the brewery pub which sells amazing pizza. The only downside was the $12 a day parking fee but its the same price if you use the valet which we did sometimes and we always got our car quickly.

Lake Tahoe itself is absolutely gorgeous and we did loads of hiking, hired a speedboat one afternoon, went to Virginia City which is a real old west town, drove round the lake and generally took a million pictures!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank poodsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Coast, California
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2009

We stayed at this hotel with a great $79/nite rate through a Travel Zoo alert. The room has a small kitchen with micro, fridge, dishes, toaster, etc. We ate several meals there. As mentioned before, parking can be a challenge but we were there in the off-season and always found a spot in the lot. The concierge was good about getting us tickets to a play in Reno and giving pointers for other activities. We did go to the timeshare presentation which we found interesting, actually. And we got 4 free tickets to the Tahoe Queen. And we went to the Harvey's Casino and won over $100 each time we played! Fun trip.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lolly63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2009

Unfortunately, 5 days to this resort cost me $1500 more because the vallet hit my car and didn't notify us. The damage wasn't noticed until later, when we left the hotel. The DiamontResort refused to compensate.
You must use vallet parking because the regular parking is always full.

I am not coming back to any of Diamond resort locations.

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mityamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2009

We stayed here for a week and loved the location ! Nearby to casinos,good restaurants
shops and the lake.The resort does not have any shuttle buses but across the street
you can catch a public bus for $2 that will take you to casinos and shops.
The resort is very clean and the staff is very efficent.Our family stayed in a 2 bedroom,
2 bath suite with a full kitchen equipped with all dishes.Maid service was very good.
When we requested additional items they provided them.
The down side is the $12 daily parking fee.They will charge you $12 / day if you park it yourself or use the valet service.Small parking lot.You will have to wait for someone to leave to get a spot.Also they will offer free items if you attend a 2 hour sales pitch to sell
you timeshare at Diamond Resorts.Be sure to avoid this at all costs.
Overall I give this resort a 4 Star rating.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wirewrapper09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Tahoe (California) hotels
0.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#12 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
933 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
880 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
#18 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
504 reviews
0.1 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#6 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
459 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort

Property: Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort
Address: 901 Ski Run Blvd, CA 96150-8569
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Tahoe (California)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort puts you amid the setting for the vacation of a lifetime. Come each season, you will find different scenery, not to mention a variety of different seasonal activities. It's hard to imagine anything could beat the views and variety you get when you plan your visit to beautiful South Lake Tahoe, California. This is an area built around the reason for the breathtaking panorama, Lake Tahoe, America's largest Alpine lake. From sight to touch, you will revel in the wonders of the sapphire-blue water of the lake, perfectly situated right at the base of the stunning, snow-capped mountain peaks of the Sierra Nevada Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Tahoe Vacation Hotel Lake Tahoe (California)
Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing