We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Option For Most People - Define Your Needs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Budget Inn South Lake Tahoe
Reviewed 20 August 2013

** Bottom Line: Yes, Budget Inn SLT is a good option for "most people", but maybe not "all" people. The rooms and amenities are more comfortable to me than Motel 6, but most of these lower cost motels could use a little paint and may have a few dings. Are you flexible and don't
need the best? If yes, you should be fine here. Solo travelers, business people and couples seem best suited for the lower cost motels in SLT. I have viewed and stayed in several low cost motels in SLT recently and have a short list of 3-5. Budget Inn is one. I have stayed here many times in 2013. It's consistent. The Good: Value, Location, Safety, Clean Rooms. Most abide by not smoking in the rooms. I have had to walk out of many motels including some that are neighbors. Good amenities: AC that works, Iron, On-Premise Washer/Dryer, Free WIFI, Micro/Fridge.** The Bad: Actually, not that bad, but people need to understand, because the margins are low, maintainence goes first to the rooms. The outside does need a little paint and their are a few dings, but the area and the rooms offset this!...I have met and spoke to the owners a few times and they seem interested in doing right and improving the property. They are often making improvements. I look for that. BTW: I believe the pool is in repair mode. No property is perfect and most properties have had bad guest at one time or another. Re: Pools and Kids - If your planning your very important once per year vacation with all your kids and the focal point is the pool - very few budget like Motels in SLT have what your probably looking for - you'll need to go with the more expensive resort like properties or ideally - use the lake which is literally right across the street. The tahoe queen is just 3 blocks down the road. Locally Within Walking Distance: Excellent coffee internet cafe, good Italian "teps" with great salad bar, indian, family mexican place w/great tacos, Burger place, CVS, Heidis breakfast, nice Safeway, Bank, Golf course, brew pub and other nice resorts across the street.

Room Tip: Upstair units would be away from the parked cars of the lower units, but has not been a huge issue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2013

We drove in after two long days of driving with 4 car sick kids.. and the pool was empty. Fabulous. We were not told the pool was under construction.. or just empty. We don't know what was going on. We immediately cancelled our reservation because a pool was something we needed. But besides the pool it looked gross and run down and old old old. I don't even want to know what the rooms were like.

Room Tip: make sure the pool has water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank savannah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Great location, great accommodations. One of the nicer places in the area and super affordable! You can walk to casinos and lake, no driving. Perfect for celebrity golf, concerts, shows, skiing, or just gambling.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Right across the street from Heidi's Restaurant for the most amazing breakfast!! This is the place to stay if you don't want to spend a lot of money on a hotel! Who wants to sit inside a hotel room in Lake Tahoe anyway?
Outstanding location being right across the street from the lake. You can walk to restaurants and shopping. Right off Hwy 50 making it easy access to all the Casino's as well.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tina d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Great place to stay in Tahoe. The room was nice, the location was great. Can even take a bus to the casinos (NO DUI's) The lake is across the street. You can park your car and use public transportation. Most of our time was spent out side, either the lake or shopping or the casino's. Why pay $285.00 for a room your not going to stay in except to sleep. Plus they just finished remodeling the rooms when I got there. 6/15/2013 Nice people run the motel as well....

Steve

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuck H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

This was the only accommodation that I will rate unsatisfactory on a five week road trip of the Pacific NW. My husband and I stayed in 22 different hotels/vacation rentals on our trip. This hotel was the only one that did not honor the price quoted when I made the reservation 6 months in advance. The room was ok, but not worth the $95 a night the proprietors wanted to charge us.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chemsteele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

we had stayed at the budget inn south lake tahoe over this summer. and the the service is good, the rooms are clean and comfortable. we sleep very well. i had good night sleep. and rooms smells good fresh clean. feels like i was at home.
we will be back again. i have my family stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neels w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Tahoe (California) hotels
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
#60 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
567 reviews
0.8 mi away
Super 8 South Lake Tahoe
Super 8 South Lake Tahoe
#50 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#10 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
National 9 Inn - South Lake Tahoe
National 9 Inn - South Lake Taho...
#40 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
20 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
#17 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
528 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
#24 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Inn South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Inn South Lake Tahoe

Address: 3496 Lake Tahoe Blvd, CA 96150-8900
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 118 Hotels in Lake Tahoe (California)
Price Range: £30 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Inn South Lake Tahoe 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Budget Inn South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Inn South Lake Tahoe Hotel Lake Tahoe (California)
Budget Inn Lake Tahoe
Budget Inn South Lake Tahoe CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing