We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shockingly Bad”
Review of Echo

Echo
Reserve with OpenTable
Echo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Shockingly Bad”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

I don't even know where to begin. Service was the worst our group of seven had ever had (ANY of us). We had to wait 30 min for water-I finally went up to the bar to ask for water-we had a pregnant friend in our group and she needed it. The wine came out in dirty glasses. They served our meals without giving us silverware-and we had to wait for our server to go to OTHER tables BEFORE getting us utensils-he made eye contact and still walked away to check on others. They messed up the orders (one in our party asked for onions and peppers on his sandwich-which did not appear until we asked). The restaurant manager (who was actually very nice-the one bright spot-thank you to him!) had to help our server, and made him apologize (three times) to our table. The sever came back from a break reeking of cigarettes. Food was passable at best. AND-this is the best part-after all this our server dropped off the check and announced that 18% gratuity had been added as we were a party of 6 or more. Usually I tip way more than that, but needless to say this the first time our server got nothing (first time I have ever ever not given anything). Horrible. Avoid!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank luvdrseuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    17
    10
    5
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, California
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Not very good”
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We stayed at the embassy suites and ate at their restaurant Echo. It was so-so. Service was non existent. It was a big dispointment.

Helpful?
Thank photogal1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Casual dining in Embassy Suites”
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Very casual with plenty of sports viewing inside and an interesting deck to see the many passerbys coming and going to the Nevada Casinos. They have a limited but broad range of selections which is concentrated on appetizers and sandwichs. Their pulled pork sandwich is excellent and we also enjoyed their scallop and lobster linguine. With a full bar and plenty of small dishes and at least 8 TVs it is an excellent choice, or you can enjoy the outdoors and people watch on the bright sunny deck.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank darylmcclusky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Theres a casino at the door!!”
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Being a first visit to Lake Tahoe it was a nice suprise to see how conveniently loacted the Embassy Suites were to points of interest. It has shops right next door, along with 2 casinos and only a short stroll away is the Lake, which you have access to a private beach due to staying at the Suites. The room I stayed in was large and comfortable and quite even though it was only a short stones throw to a casino. Staff were friendly. If you want to use the gym dont get to excited. It is small and there is not much equipment. If you bring your car try to park in the carpark next to the Suites as it is free. Overall would happily go back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Regan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Cordova
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
Reviewed 22 July 2012

My husband and I stopped in for a late dinner and were excited to be able to eat outside and watch the live (sort of) entertainment. Unfortunately, the food was not great and way too overpriced. I ordered the cod which was unedible - gray and fishy tasting. My husband's chicken sandwich was ok, but both buns were smothered with aioli, which was a bit much. Half way through our meal, two women asked to sit with us because their feet hurt, which was odd because we were right in the middle of dinner. I guess sitting outside made it ok to invite yourself to someone else's table??
At any rate, for our first time at this restaurant, it was a definite downer! Gray fish? Please, no!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoFro2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Echo also viewed

Lake Tahoe (California), CA
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
Lake Tahoe (California), CA
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
Stateline, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
 

Been to Echo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing