We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stepping back in time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Highland Springs Resort and Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cherry Valley
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We went there yesterday to look the place over and was amazed how it felt like we just stepped back in time. It is a rustic place with different different gardens, waterways, historic stage coaches, old cars and wonderful gift shop full of all sorts of lavender treats. I told my friend that we need to plan a girls weekend to explore more and to enjoy the gardens and food!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Mimi7173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

The Highland Springs Resort is located in the hills near Beaumont, CA. It was a former stage coach stop way back when, and a resort in the early 1920-1930's was built. Now a days, it look more like a retreat house for much about this place has stayed the same. We like it for that reason. Not so much luxury, just comfortable enough accommodation, but in a nice area on big property, lavender fields, an old fashion swimming pool (big and deep) and pool house, and a great steak house in the main building. We stay in the 800's building that has large simple room, 2 queen bed, couch and table area to sit, and small table and chairs for drinking coffee. Laura 908 mentioned the bathrooms are old, yes, this is true but it is not a deal buster. Best advise that I can give is the place is rustic, and quite enjoyable. For luxury accommodations, better go on to the Palm Springs area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TellTruth2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Love the lavender tea & the farm is beautiful. Something that I will not be able to experience in my home country.

Room was a comfortable size. But, as we only book for a 1 night stay after a day shopping at Dessert Hills PO, so, cannot really commend much on other stuff.

House keeping can be further improved as floor was rather dirty.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Els15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I Loved everything about Highland Springs. Everyone at the place was beyond helpful and friendly. There definitely is some work that can be done on the historic place, but overall it's a lovely escape from the city. We stayed in the 100's Cottage rooms and they were perfectly sized and very cute. In the morning there was a power outage to the whole town (Cal Edison was hard at work down the street to fix it) which was nothing that was the Resort's fault, but they felt compelled to provide us with a complimentary hot breakfast buffet. The staff checked in with us and apologized profusely. It was a very nice touch. Everyone that works there seems to be very proud of where they work and are like a family. I will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Rustic is a kind description of the Highland Springs "Resort." This property is extremely run down and in need of millions in repairs, even the rooms that have been renovated. They are charming but remain musty with old bathrooms, unlocking windows with no screens and smelly. The exterior of the hotel is peeling with paint and cobwebs and many of the out building are boarded up.
The idea of this resort is great - organic lavender, vegetables and animals. The reality is far different.

Room Tip: Don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Laura908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here after a wedding. The price was much better than the almost $300 Morongo hotel. The rooms are quite rustic, very basic, but it served its purpose. No TV, bed too soft, but did have AC that kicked butt. If you need a nice quiet place to stay for not a lot of money, this is your place.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank puns96ss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

If you are looking for a weekend escape back into the time of simple days in the countryside, this is a good choice. The accommodations are adequate with good beds and bathroom facilities. It is an old, working ranch that reminded us of our childhood summer camp days. Everything is rustic. We went up for the Lavender Festival and spent the night. The restaurant food is good, but expensive. The service is as lazy as the lazy days, so do not expect to race through drinks and dinner. This was perfect for enjoying the evening smells of lavender and sounds of crickets. A perfect way to forget the hustle of city life.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pictograms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Highland Springs Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Springs Resort and Conference Center

Address: 10600 Highland Springs Ave, Cherry Valley, CA 92223-5548
Region: United States > California > Cherry Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cherry Valley
Price Range: £59 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Highland Springs Resort and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Also Known As:
Highland Springs Hotel Cherry Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing