We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for senior citizens”

El Charro Authentic Mexican FD
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Houston
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great for senior citizens”
Reviewed 1 January 2013

I went with an 80 year old woman who eats there a lot. There were lots of senior citizens there, so you might really like it if you are a senior citizen and don't really want authentic Mexican food. She had a fish salad in a "taco bowl." The pico de gallo didn't have jalapenos in it. They had beer but no micheladas. My Mexican friends are here laughing about how you can serve this and called yourself Mexican. My burrito was actually pretty good inside but there was no decent hot sauce to put on it. It arrived covered in American style cheese and "enchilada" sauce. Apparently that is California style but I wanted MEXICAN food. First time in my life I ate a burrito with a knife and fork. I asked for something hotter than the bland chopped tomatoes that came with the chips. The waiter quickly reappeared with some brown sauce that had a tiny bite to it. She said no one eats spicy so they just don't have it. The service was friendly, respectful and speedy.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    7
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beaumont, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Super good again!”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Don't know what happened maybe they got rid of the cook and rehired the old one because we ate here again didn't want to but it was a birthday party we couldn't refuse, went in thinking I would get the same service and food as I did last time, and chips and salsa back to wonderful, my burrito was super super good again, service pretty good, and I can say I am happy again with their food and service!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sanglin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, Ca.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awesome meal!”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

This is by far the best Burrito I have every had! I love Mexican food and this was it for me! The portions are large, the price were good.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fotocrazyoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumont, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Used to be good not anymore!”
Reviewed 14 November 2011

This place used to be my favorite mexican food. Not anymore!! Service still ok, just the food has really gottenNot anymore!! Service still ok, just the food has really gotten GROSS!! The chips cold, meat tasted strange like fish and it was chicken, rice bland absolutely no flavor and so mushy! Beans cold hard and old!! I am not going back!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sanglin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumont, California
2 reviews
“Horrible Service”
Reviewed 9 November 2010

The food is wonderful and the salsa is even better. The service is horrible. Unfortunately when you have bad service it makes your time in the restaurant uncomfortable. I will go back, as the food is authentic mexican food and that is all there is in the area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank micheleekelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Charro Authentic Mexican FD also viewed

Been to El Charro Authentic Mexican FD? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing