We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caramoan Paradise”
Review of Tugawe Cove Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tugawe Cove Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caramoan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Went here just recently. The weather was fine and the place is just beautiful.
We took the cebu pacific flight to Virac (5:45am to 6:40am), then rode a van to Codon port (took about 45-60min). From there, our butler Blanca was already waiting for us with the boat ready to sail us across to the resort beach front (boat ride took 45min instead of the usual 30min because the seas were quite wavy, but it was still a pleasant ride). We arrived at the resort beach front at around 8:40am and was welcomed by the resort's friendly staff. They prepared a yummy welcoming snack of banana-q with cheese and fresh buko juice which is much appreciated after coming from an early and somewhat long travel.

We initially booked for a mid-hill cabana but they arranged the hilltop cabana for us which was no problem since the hilltop turned out to be much better for us (except for the long way up the stairs, I think has 200+ steps). The infinity pool and restaurant (both with magnificent views) are also on the hilltop so it is more convenient.

Room is airconditioned and spacious, the shower area is also big which is great. Towels are provided, there’s hair dryer, soap, shampoo, toothbrush, electric fan, electric kettle, clear LCD TV. The only complaint I have with our cabana is the bathroom door. The door makes a very loud and annoying screeching sound every time it is opened or closed, it really needs lubrication as it is also hard to push & pull. The bathroom also has this weird smell, although it was tolerable. Other than that, the room is great.

The food is yummy and we ate most of our meals at the restaurant. You can opt to have it delivered to your cabana but I prefer dining at the restaurant since it has a great view, nice ambiance, and it is easier to request for stuff you might need or want to order since everything is already at the restaurant.

They have a game room with billiard table, darts, foozball table, and wii console. I hope they can add playing cards and board games (like scrabble, chess, etc) and an air hockey table (for those who suck at billiards like me)

During our first day, we went swimming in the infinity pool. Then late afternoon, we went trekking to the lighthouse (highest point of the place). It is advisable to bring shoes that is suitable for trekking to avoid any slips and to make it easier to walk uphill. (takes around 15min to reach the lighthouse -- this activity is free by the way) The view was fantastic at the lighthouse. You can see the whole perimeter of the island and green hills and skies -- it feels great.

On our second day we went island hopping (around 930am to 430pm). We had lunch at Matukad island, complete with tables, chairs & umbrella, classy I'd say and what a view - the island, the rock formations, the waves, the fine sand, the wind, just inhale it all and appreciate God's work of art while eating good food.

We didn't get to go watch the bio-luminescent plankton since it is best seen during the new moon (it was full moon when we went there). And during the night of our 2nd day, the wind was really strong and I got worried about our trip back home the next day. Our flight back to Manila is via Naga (PAL express) which will take a longer travel time. (We chose the Naga flight because Virac flight is too early which means we need to wake up in the wee hours of the morning when it is still dark and creepy)

So on our last day, our butler suggested we leave earlier to avoid missing the boat going to Tabaco, Naga (which happened to the other group of guests who left around 10:30m). We left the resort around 8:30am and our boat took the longer route (the island hopping route) because the usual route has bigger waves that time. We had to detach the tarpaulin roof from our boat as the winds are strong and it impedes the boat's speed. (it is advisable to apply suncreen lotion before riding boats). We arrived the shore at around 9:20am, rode a tricycle to the port where we rode the roro which always leaves at around 10:30am. Out butler accompanied us all the way to the port and we really appreciate that the resort does this -- looking out for the safety of guests from arrival until departure.

Again, thanks to Mr.Herzon, and to our butler Blanca & all the other resort stuff, as well as the boatmen, and especially God who made this trip as safe and enjoyable as possible.

I highly recommend Tugawe Cove Resort (and staying at the hilltop cabana) if you plan to go to Caramoan. (a tram going up the hill is in the works)

(Riding the roro took the longest time -- 3 hours...better drink Bonamine if you are prone to motion sickness and better to go for the airconditioned area even if it's a tad more expensive. Upon arrival at Tabaco port in Naga –around 1:45pm , we rode a van going to Naga airport which took about an hour. We arrived at the airport at approx 2:50pm, about 2 hrs before departure time which is just right. Our Total travel time from resort to Naga airport is 6 hrs…whew. I hope next time, there will also be an afternoon flight via Virac. Travel is way shorter that way)

Room Tip: Hilltop cabana is the best for me, great view and close to pool & restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shiraneko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

Tugawe is one of the few places in the Philippines with glazed, soundproof doors! The beds were soft, the blankets velvety. We had a lovely view from our little cottage, terrific meals, some lovely moments just bobbing in the water, and a great hike over to a nearby village. (The cows living at the lighthouse... lovely.) Despite arriving in a "superstorm," the staff did a wonderful job finding us a way to the airport. We were very impressed with the place and the people. It's hard to reach, but highly recommended.

Room Tip: 202 has the best views! The website says you can arrive via Naga. Don't bother - it's closer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Visiting Caramoan is a lovely experience and I'm pretty sure what made our trip more special was because we stayed in Tugawe. Like no other service I have experienced, Tugawe's welcome to us was so warm right from the port of pick up up to the hotel itself. The trek up the rooms may be a little tough but surely, the butler service is a 100% plus plus!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nico H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Tugawe Cove is beautiful. However, it's a long way from the Islands you want to see when island hopping in Caramoan. The rooms/villas are nice but a little worn and not as clean as they should be - numerous cob webs through out. The bed was large and comfortable. The pool was lovely. The views from the top magnificent. If you are not young or in good health do not stay here. The restaurant, pool and most villas are a very long climb up some steep stairs. If you want to go back and forth to the beach it is quite a trek up and down the stairs. The butler service was a bit of a joke since there was no way to contact the butler - "sorry sir the phone in the room doesn't work." Although the young man tried hard, communication and proper training was lacking. The food was horrible and it's the only choice you have. There is no mini bar or fridge in the room to keep cold water or drinks. The water coming out of the taps is brown and smells foul, yet they only provide you with two small bottles of water. No safe in the room. Although they claim to have wifi, there was no wifi and no explanation other than "sorry sir". My wife really wanted to stay here and we tried it. It was "ok" but we won't be back and I really can't recommend it except for maybe a honeymoon or romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlaskaJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

After a long trip by land and sea, it was a relief to discover that staying in Tugawe Cove Resort is just like being in a five-star hotel in Manila albeit being in the middle of clear blue waters and inviting islands. The rooms are spacious with LCD screens and cable signals. The beds were a relief to bury into after a day of snorkeling and swimming. The baths are spacious; hot water delivered on rain showers. The cabanas are well spread out - perfect for honeymooners who want privacy. For those who are being discouraged by the stairs, the good news is that the resort is building a funicular. The food was excellent - we loved the pumpkin soup!!! Our butlers, Milan and Noli were the most helpful and were always ready to accomodate our requests.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tugawe Cove R, Owner at Tugawe Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Dear Atty. Ellen,

Thank you for your great review of Tugawe cove. Our goal is for the guests to have a memorable, enjoyable and stress free vacation, We are happy that we met this goal when you visited us. We will continuously improve our services and facilities, taking into consideration your positive feedback.

We hope to see you again in Tugawe cove soon.


Best regards,

Ms. Col Magtuto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We were in Tugawe 2 years ago. I can say that we are a well travelled couple (me, 38 countires, and my husband, 44 countries) and this resort is one place that we will always go back to.
Even before we arrived in Manila, Ms. Col and I had been communicating already regarding the whole package. She informed us about everything that will take place during our visit in their resort. They even suggested options on how to fly to the nearest airport (which didn't have a bearing because we bought our plane tickets already). How long the boat ride would take etc. Now, because we don't have a local bank and we don't use paypal, we had a problem sending them the payment prior to our arrival. I thought they would turn us down due to this money payment thing but instead, they just told us to pay the manager on site, Mr. Herzon, once we are in the resort.
Our flight from Manila was so delayed (3-4 hours) that I thought we would miss our boat ride from Talisay port to Tugawe. I was texting Ms. Col the whole time stressing that they wait for us. In return, all she did was calm me down and assured me that the boat will be there waiting for us. And yes, they patiently did.
Yes, the boat ride was rough (due to tropical depression that week) and long (that's what you pay for exclusivity) but we never had a problem with that. We actually enjoyed the boat ride taking pictures of just about everything.
When we got to the resort, we were met by Mr. Herzon and Nilda, our personal butler. We were given drinks and sitted in the dining area near the beach shore. Just imagine, there was a tropical depression and it was raining like crazy. But still, excellent service was given. They were so concerned about us not getting wet while they just ran around trying to make sure all our needs were met. We were served late lunch. Food was really great. Chef Edsel cooked really good local Filipino foods for us. I am a chef by profession and still, I appreciated the food that was served to me.
Our room is spacious with great views of the inside lake and the ocean. We were just not able to enjoy the balcony due to the tropical depression. We loved the room. Slept well, watched TV, shower with strong pressure.
The package included the island hopping. It was great. Enjoyed every bit of it. But the highlight was the boat ride during the night to see the bioluminescent planktons. They even shut down the lights near the beach area so we can play with the planktons on the shore. It was really fun.
The resort was still under construction when we were there but honestly, I don't remember being disturbed by that.
We really had a great time. The staff was so amazing even to the point of making sure we get back to Lagazpi City safely via Virac. Due to the tropical depression, we cannot make it to Talisay port in time to catch a ride that will take us to Naga City.
I highly recommend this place. We can't wait to be back :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tugawe Cove R, Owner at Tugawe Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review even though its been a year since your visit. Your review is important to us.

We are continuously improving our services, while maintaining our strengths. We hope that on your next visit, you will have more enjoyable experience. We are planning to add more fun activities and amenities.

Sincerely,

Ms. Col Magtuto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

Their staffs are The best. The location is perfect. Food is great and affordable. Getting caramoan is a bit difficult especially when ur not into boatrides. Rooms are great but you need to climb those stairs. Infinity pool has the perfect panoramic view. Their staffs were so accommodating ang they are willing to make maximum adjustments for their clients. Their staffs never left us, they even accompanied us to cross those gigantic waves in the middle of a typhoon. This is the perfect paradise!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacyjoaquin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tugawe Cove R, Owner at Tugawe Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Everybody in Tugawe cove are so happy to read your review. We aim to continuously improve our services so that guests will have an enjoyable vacation. On your next visit, we hope to surpass your expectations.

Sincerely and best regards,

Ms. Col Magtuto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caramoan
29.9 mi away
Hotel Fina
Hotel Fina
#1 of 4 in Tabaco City
56 reviews
43.4 mi away
The Oriental Legazpi
The Oriental Legazpi
#5 of 14 in Legazpi
493 reviews
52.5 mi away
The Avenue Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
42.3 mi away
Hotel Venezia
Hotel Venezia
#2 of 14 in Legazpi
170 reviews
52.3 mi away
Villa Caceres Hotel
Villa Caceres Hotel
#3 of 11 in Naga
199 reviews
33.4 mi away
Misibis Bay Resort
Misibis Bay Resort
#1 of 2 in Cagraray Island
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tugawe Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tugawe Cove Resort

Address: Bgy. Colongcogong, Caramoan, Luzon 4429, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Bicol Region > Camarines Sur Province > Caramoan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caramoan
Price Range: £98 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tugawe Cove Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Tugawe Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing