We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (304)
Filter reviews
304 results
Traveller rating
172
84
26
9
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
172
84
26
9
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity pool personal butler talisay port speed boat butler service light house boat transfer beach front island hopping view deck breathtaking views hill top full board meals reception area hilltop rooms golf cart buffet meal
Filter
Updating list...
253 - 258 of 304 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Staying in Tugawe was an amazing experience. The private driver they arranged for us was super punctual. The drive from Naga to the port (I believe it was Sabang) took almost 2hrs. It was a smooth ride (albeit narrow and bumpy roads) in an air-conditioned van so we didn't mind.

A Tugawe staff was waiting for us at the port when we arrived. I think his name was Dominic. I just loved the big warm smile on his face. He helped us with our luggages and made sure we were comfortable on the speed boat. It was drizzling that day and the water was choppy. Dominic gave us a blanket to cover ourselves with, but we still got soaking wet. I would recommend packing a rain coat, just in case.

The boat ride took 1.5hrs (double that on a regular motor boat). When we arrived, they welcomed us with a complimentary drink and smiles all around. We were introduced to our butler, Pinky, who is just amazing! Pinky walked us to our room and helped us with our luggages. The power was out when we arrived, something to do with the generator rebooting or whatever. Well, considering the remote location, it's hard to believe they get any power at all! There's wifi available but is only accessible from the restaurant.

Our cabin had an amazing view. I specifically asked for room 202 and that's what we got. Power was restored during lunch hour. The food was good but the location was even better - a hilltop restaurant with a sweeping view of the island. It can be a bit of a walk from the cabins but hey, we could all use a good workout! Their infinity pool just below the restaurant is gorgeous. Unfortunately, Mother Nature wasn't feeling very cooperative that day so we didn't get to go island hopping. We just stayed in Tugawe and made the most of it. In the evening, they served dinner buffet with live entertainment. Good stuff. We also got to meet Kevin who lives in Tugawe like a boss.

Overall, our stay in Tugawe was a very pleasant experience. I highly recommend it. But I must say, it's not for people who have difficulty walking (ie elderly guests, people with disability). Getting on and off the motor boat alone can be very tricky. You also have to climb a number of steps to get around the property. NOTE: During our stay we noticed they were building something that looked like a track or rail layout. Could be an inclined lift or an escalator? Or a luge! A luge would be great. And how about a zipline while you're at it? ;)

Tugawe Cove Resort is not easily accessible but the hard part is not getting there but leaving it behind.

Room tip: Room 202 has a wonderful view of Caramoan.
Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank nikkiesha416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

This place would probably entice every couple. very few guests which gives you privacy, stunning view as if you were really in a paradise, and very good service and food from the staffs and restaurant.

Date of stay: February 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank RicoJrM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Everything was very picturesque. From the private beach to the man-made lagoon to the infinity pool all the way to the lighthouse. The staff were nice and accommodating.

It was rainy season when we went to Tugawe in July 2012 and Ms. Col, the owner, gave us frequent updates about whether it is safe to get to the ferry from Naga to their resort. Best to take the 45-minute ferry ride from Virac instead as the 2-hour ferry ride from Naga isn't for the faint of heart especially when sailing amidst heavy rains.

Generally, we had a fun stay and enjoyed our little interaction with the very sweet Kevin. :)

Date Reviewed:

Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cat2127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Took us 4 hours on the rough sea, rain and all other elements of nature, 196 steps to get to our room, but the view was to die for- staff was friendly, food not so good but the smile of the people serving made everything ok.

Room tip: Insist in having a room closer to the main floor-
Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElsieC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Four of us stayed in Tugawe Cove Resort from January 9- 14. There's a lot going for the place: stunning location, to-die-for views, island hopping (the private beach isn't much so you have to venture out), friendly staff, private casitas, a small but strategically placed infinity pool, family activities (kayaking, decent DVD and book collection, feeding the native deer and pigs, getting to know Kevin the kalay/hornbill) and friendly staff. There are also quite a few things that could be improved like sliding doors that won't lock, unimaginative food (I'm being kind here), shower stalls that don't drain, bed linens/towels that don't get changed unless you tell the very nice staff, slightly battered bed frames and a lick of paint here and there. Despite al these, though, my friends and I had a wonderful time and would go back IN A HEARTBEAT! For best views, book 114, although 312 wasn't bad since it was just a skip and a hop away from the pool and restaurant. Ask for Noli (our butler) who - we suspect - probably doesn't know the meaning of the word "no" since he accommodated just about every request of ours. Tip: Ask him to take you to Barrio Colongcogong to join in the kids' game of "surfing" down the hill on ribs of dried coconut branches. It's an experience you won't easily forget.

Tugawe's a place where you keep still and and bask in the beauty of this slice of earth called Caramoan.

P.S. It's a quite a walk up (300 steps we were told) from the tiny beach at the cove to the pool and restaurant). Older folk are advised to take the casitas by the freshwater "lake".

Room tip: 114 has great views of the cove at any time of the day. 112's not bad either.
Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MBGarchitorena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews