We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When God made something beautiful, it was Tugawe”
Review of Tugawe Cove Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tugawe Cove Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caramoan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We took a plane to Virac from Manila, a van ride then a boat ride to get to this beautiful island. We were greeted by the very able and knowledgeable staff. They gave us an orientation about the island and what the staff can do for us. Apparently this place is a national park and they are making efforts to make it a marine sanctuary. They also informed us that when you check in there, they plant a coral in your name.

We were assigned a butler named Jasmin Palaganas. So pleasant and accommodating. She anticipated our needs for our activities like food, drinks, logistics and transportation.

The food was okay and in big portions so if you're a light eater, you must share. You can have your meals at the restaurant or you can request them to deliver it to your cabana and have it privately at your own balcony. The view from the pool is magnificent. The view from the deck and restaurant is also fabulous. There is a hike you can take to the lighthouse to enjoy the sunset and magnificent vista. To top it all off, the rooms are very very comfortable. Spacious bathroom, big comfy bed, fluffy pillows and ample closet space.

On the early morning ride back to the port, plankton lit our way back. This is how I imagined responsible tourism should be. Regulated foot traffic, efforts to preserve the environment, supporting local economy and employment plus beautiful surroundings.

Room Tip: If you have a hard time climbing stairs, best to stay at the lake side rooms OR the cottage halfway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AnnaVarona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

Staying in Tugawe was an amazing experience. The private driver they arranged for us was super punctual. The drive from Naga to the port (I believe it was Sabang) took almost 2hrs. It was a smooth ride (albeit narrow and bumpy roads) in an air-conditioned van so we didn't mind.

A Tugawe staff was waiting for us at the port when we arrived. I think his name was Dominic. I just loved the big warm smile on his face. He helped us with our luggages and made sure we were comfortable on the speed boat. It was drizzling that day and the water was choppy. Dominic gave us a blanket to cover ourselves with, but we still got soaking wet. I would recommend packing a rain coat, just in case.

The boat ride took 1.5hrs (double that on a regular motor boat). When we arrived, they welcomed us with a complimentary drink and smiles all around. We were introduced to our butler, Pinky, who is just amazing! Pinky walked us to our room and helped us with our luggages. The power was out when we arrived, something to do with the generator rebooting or whatever. Well, considering the remote location, it's hard to believe they get any power at all! There's wifi available but is only accessible from the restaurant.

Our cabin had an amazing view. I specifically asked for room 202 and that's what we got. Power was restored during lunch hour. The food was good but the location was even better - a hilltop restaurant with a sweeping view of the island. It can be a bit of a walk from the cabins but hey, we could all use a good workout! Their infinity pool just below the restaurant is gorgeous. Unfortunately, Mother Nature wasn't feeling very cooperative that day so we didn't get to go island hopping. We just stayed in Tugawe and made the most of it. In the evening, they served dinner buffet with live entertainment. Good stuff. We also got to meet Kevin who lives in Tugawe like a boss.

Overall, our stay in Tugawe was a very pleasant experience. I highly recommend it. But I must say, it's not for people who have difficulty walking (ie elderly guests, people with disability). Getting on and off the motor boat alone can be very tricky. You also have to climb a number of steps to get around the property. NOTE: During our stay we noticed they were building something that looked like a track or rail layout. Could be an inclined lift or an escalator? Or a luge! A luge would be great. And how about a zipline while you're at it? ;)

Tugawe Cove Resort is not easily accessible but the hard part is not getting there but leaving it behind.

Room Tip: Room 202 has a wonderful view of Caramoan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank nikkiesha416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

This place would probably entice every couple. very few guests which gives you privacy, stunning view as if you were really in a paradise, and very good service and food from the staffs and restaurant.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Rico Jr M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Everything was very picturesque. From the private beach to the man-made lagoon to the infinity pool all the way to the lighthouse. The staff were nice and accommodating.

It was rainy season when we went to Tugawe in July 2012 and Ms. Col, the owner, gave us frequent updates about whether it is safe to get to the ferry from Naga to their resort. Best to take the 45-minute ferry ride from Virac instead as the 2-hour ferry ride from Naga isn't for the faint of heart especially when sailing amidst heavy rains.

Generally, we had a fun stay and enjoyed our little interaction with the very sweet Kevin. :)

Date Reviewed:

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cat2127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Took us 4 hours on the rough sea, rain and all other elements of nature, 196 steps to get to our room, but the view was to die for- staff was friendly, food not so good but the smile of the people serving made everything ok.

Room Tip: Insist in having a room closer to the main floor-
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElsieC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Four of us stayed in Tugawe Cove Resort from January 9- 14. There's a lot going for the place: stunning location, to-die-for views, island hopping (the private beach isn't much so you have to venture out), friendly staff, private casitas, a small but strategically placed infinity pool, family activities (kayaking, decent DVD and book collection, feeding the native deer and pigs, getting to know Kevin the kalay/hornbill) and friendly staff. There are also quite a few things that could be improved like sliding doors that won't lock, unimaginative food (I'm being kind here), shower stalls that don't drain, bed linens/towels that don't get changed unless you tell the very nice staff, slightly battered bed frames and a lick of paint here and there. Despite al these, though, my friends and I had a wonderful time and would go back IN A HEARTBEAT! For best views, book 114, although 312 wasn't bad since it was just a skip and a hop away from the pool and restaurant. Ask for Noli (our butler) who - we suspect - probably doesn't know the meaning of the word "no" since he accommodated just about every request of ours. Tip: Ask him to take you to Barrio Colongcogong to join in the kids' game of "surfing" down the hill on ribs of dried coconut branches. It's an experience you won't easily forget.

Tugawe's a place where you keep still and and bask in the beauty of this slice of earth called Caramoan.

P.S. It's a quite a walk up (300 steps we were told) from the tiny beach at the cove to the pool and restaurant). Older folk are advised to take the casitas by the freshwater "lake".

Room Tip: 114 has great views of the cove at any time of the day. 112's not bad either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MBGarchitorena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Tugawe Cove Resort is strategically located at the tip of the Caramoan Peninsula. I must say it is one of the most beautiful resorts I've been to in the Philippines. One's Caramoan adventure is best experienced if one stays at Tugawe - that's a fact! I stayed at Tugawe for 2 nights and i enjoyed every second of my stay. I so love this resort that I always recommend this to my friends who are looking for a great adventure or a great vacation. When it comes to the natural beauty of the Philippines, the resort has every thing! From inland water, corals, beach front, amazing islets, majestic sea view and mountain view, and even pristine flora and fauna, every one can enjoy all these just by staying at the resort. The tours offered by Tugawe are special and really caters for a traveler like me, not only because the island destinations are locations used by the reality show SURVIVOR, but because the unique beaches, lagoons, and islands included in the itinerary are close to the resort and some can even be seen from the resort. The resort is also willing to assist when one wants a customized tour, as I did another tour on my 3rd day. Truly Tugawe Cove is a tourist attraction that makes Caramoan as one of my Top 3 destinations in the Philippines :)

The people working for Tugawe Cove are great. Thanks to Yaye, Herzon, Blanca and the Bangkeros for being compassionate. The rooms, resort facilities, food, and staff are all extraordinary. The resort's infinity pool is the Philippines' best for me. Dining at Tugawe was even an unforgettable ritual during my stay because Kevin was always there for me <3 You will meet "her" at Tugawe ;)

Many many many thanks Tugawe Family <3

Room Tip: Choose the hill top cabanas :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RayGohetiaJatico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caramoan
43.4 mi away
The Oriental Legazpi
The Oriental Legazpi
#5 of 14 in Legazpi
495 reviews
52.5 mi away
The Avenue Plaza Hotel
42.3 mi away
Hotel Venezia
Hotel Venezia
#2 of 14 in Legazpi
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
52.3 mi away
Villa Caceres Hotel
Villa Caceres Hotel
#3 of 11 in Naga
199 reviews
33.4 mi away
Misibis Bay Resort
Misibis Bay Resort
#1 of 2 in Cagraray Island
790 reviews
9 mi away
Island View Lodge
Island View Lodge
#6 of 20 in Caramoan
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tugawe Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tugawe Cove Resort

Address: Bgy. Colongcogong, Caramoan, Luzon 4429, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Bicol Region > Camarines Sur Province > Caramoan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caramoan
Price Range: £98 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tugawe Cove Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tugawe Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing