We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I could write a long review but ...”
Review of Tugawe Cove Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tugawe Cove Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caramoan
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“I could write a long review but ...”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Ok so your thinking of going to tugawee cove ... You've read the reviews ... Everyone loves the place , the staff are great , the resort is amazing , nothing left to decide but which days you will stay , only advice is that you make the most of it and say at least 3 nights to make your trip worthwhile and arrive to the resort as early as possible on your first day to make the most of it. Thanks to Pinky she's the best.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigozzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    69
    21
    5
    5
See reviews for
56
65
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Relieved to be in a good accommodation after very rough sea travel for 3.5 hours. If you want to commune and appreciate the beauty of these islands, this is the place to be. Location of the dining place is not fit for older people who cannot do a steep climb three times a day. Every cabana is provided with a personal butler who is readily available 24 hours a day. Only wish is that the resort provides a better transport to/ from the resort, maybe a bigger boat.. Another big drawback is the absence of Globe services in the resort.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LB0223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Wow. This place really is something else. Picture an immaculate, secluded scattering of bungalows, impossible to reach by anything but boat, set in the most beautiful part of the world you've ever seen (think Ha Long Bay meets New Zealand) and you're about halfway there.

Add in to this the personal butler service (Hency, you were an amazing addition to our holiday and I am proud to call you a friend), the utterly spectacular restaurant and infinity pool (the photos speak for themselves) and impossibly varied and exciting island-hopping trips (be sure to check out the 'magical' milk fish and the just-submerged sandbar), and you'll start to appreciate the magesty of Tugawe Cove.

My girlfriend and I had been travelling around Asia for 9 months (staying in some really nice places!) and she surprised me with this as our last stop in the Philippines. I can assure you that it was the greatest, most relaxing surprise ever!

I could easily write ten thousand words on how unbelievably magnificent and beautiful this resort and the surrounding area really is, but I'll let you discover it for yourselves.

Thanks Tugawe team (especially Hency - and Kevin), and see you soon!

Room Tip: Rooms at the top are convenient for the restaurant and the pool, rooms at the bottom better for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TLovatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The Resort did a fantastic job making travel arrangments for my wife and I to reach their remote location. The van and boat connections to the airports worked perfectly.

The resort had high quality bungalows built along the island hillside and a nice open air restaurant at the hill top. The rooms were really of the best quality and very clean. The beds were excellent. Our one complaint would be that you absolutely need to drink bottled water. The sink and shower water were slightly contaminated by salty sea water. I do not like being sticky after a shower.

The staff provided great service as long as the individuals assigned to your bungalow were nearby. Pinky, our butler, was absolutely fantastic, and took care of all our needs even when I became ill. If your assigned staff is not around, make sure to impose yourself on the other staff. They will assume you are taken care of and will ignore you unless you let them know you need something.

Even though the resort is nice we did not find much to do there. Plan on staying one full day and to take the offered island hopping trip. that was good fun. Only stay longer if you really want to escape the world.

Note that the resort is located on a hillside and there are many, many steps to navigate. Take this into account if you have mobility issues. The hotel does have a tram to assist guests, but it only covers about 1/4th to 1/3rd of the total height of the resort.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kirkr1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We took a plane to Virac from Manila, a van ride then a boat ride to get to this beautiful island. We were greeted by the very able and knowledgeable staff. They gave us an orientation about the island and what the staff can do for us. Apparently this place is a national park and they are making efforts to make it a marine sanctuary. They also informed us that when you check in there, they plant a coral in your name.

We were assigned a butler named Jasmin Palaganas. So pleasant and accommodating. She anticipated our needs for our activities like food, drinks, logistics and transportation.

The food was okay and in big portions so if you're a light eater, you must share. You can have your meals at the restaurant or you can request them to deliver it to your cabana and have it privately at your own balcony. The view from the pool is magnificent. The view from the deck and restaurant is also fabulous. There is a hike you can take to the lighthouse to enjoy the sunset and magnificent vista. To top it all off, the rooms are very very comfortable. Spacious bathroom, big comfy bed, fluffy pillows and ample closet space.

On the early morning ride back to the port, plankton lit our way back. This is how I imagined responsible tourism should be. Regulated foot traffic, efforts to preserve the environment, supporting local economy and employment plus beautiful surroundings.

Room Tip: If you have a hard time climbing stairs, best to stay at the lake side rooms OR the cottage halfway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AnnaVarona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Staying in Tugawe was an amazing experience. The private driver they arranged for us was super punctual. The drive from Naga to the port (I believe it was Sabang) took almost 2hrs. It was a smooth ride (albeit narrow and bumpy roads) in an air-conditioned van so we didn't mind.

A Tugawe staff was waiting for us at the port when we arrived. I think his name was Dominic. I just loved the big warm smile on his face. He helped us with our luggages and made sure we were comfortable on the speed boat. It was drizzling that day and the water was choppy. Dominic gave us a blanket to cover ourselves with, but we still got soaking wet. I would recommend packing a rain coat, just in case.

The boat ride took 1.5hrs (double that on a regular motor boat). When we arrived, they welcomed us with a complimentary drink and smiles all around. We were introduced to our butler, Pinky, who is just amazing! Pinky walked us to our room and helped us with our luggages. The power was out when we arrived, something to do with the generator rebooting or whatever. Well, considering the remote location, it's hard to believe they get any power at all! There's wifi available but is only accessible from the restaurant.

Our cabin had an amazing view. I specifically asked for room 202 and that's what we got. Power was restored during lunch hour. The food was good but the location was even better - a hilltop restaurant with a sweeping view of the island. It can be a bit of a walk from the cabins but hey, we could all use a good workout! Their infinity pool just below the restaurant is gorgeous. Unfortunately, Mother Nature wasn't feeling very cooperative that day so we didn't get to go island hopping. We just stayed in Tugawe and made the most of it. In the evening, they served dinner buffet with live entertainment. Good stuff. We also got to meet Kevin who lives in Tugawe like a boss.

Overall, our stay in Tugawe was a very pleasant experience. I highly recommend it. But I must say, it's not for people who have difficulty walking (ie elderly guests, people with disability). Getting on and off the motor boat alone can be very tricky. You also have to climb a number of steps to get around the property. NOTE: During our stay we noticed they were building something that looked like a track or rail layout. Could be an inclined lift or an escalator? Or a luge! A luge would be great. And how about a zipline while you're at it? ;)

Tugawe Cove Resort is not easily accessible but the hard part is not getting there but leaving it behind.

Room Tip: Room 202 has a wonderful view of Caramoan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank nikkiesha416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

This place would probably entice every couple. very few guests which gives you privacy, stunning view as if you were really in a paradise, and very good service and food from the staffs and restaurant.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Rico Jr M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caramoan
29.9 mi away
Hotel Fina
Hotel Fina
#1 of 2 in Tabaco City
51 reviews
52.5 mi away
The Avenue Plaza Hotel
43.4 mi away
The Oriental Legazpi
The Oriental Legazpi
#4 of 14 in Legazpi
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
52.3 mi away
Villa Caceres Hotel
Villa Caceres Hotel
#3 of 11 in Naga
176 reviews
33.4 mi away
Misibis Bay Resort
Misibis Bay Resort
#1 of 2 in Cagraray Island
760 reviews
8.2 mi away
Casita Mia Bed & Breakfast
Casita Mia Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 11 in Caramoan
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tugawe Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tugawe Cove Resort

Property: Tugawe Cove Resort
Address: Bgy. Colongcogong, Caramoan, Luzon 4429, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Bicol Region > Camarines Sur Province > Caramoan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caramoan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tugawe Cove Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Tugawe Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing