We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most special place..”
Review of Hotel Bodenhaus

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Splugen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Bodenhaus
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Splugen
Hollywood Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Most special place..”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

This place is very special.. Not many places of this high quality do exist, and this is quite valid even in a county like Switzerland, where a simply "good" or an "excellent" hotel is rather standard. This place has a flair of history.. Very unique.. Very inspiring.. If you drive to or from San Bernardino, you should plan a stopover overnight.. Excellent food, too..

Room Tip: Just articulate yourself and rely upon recommendation from the front desk
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catuniversal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    40
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
32
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This is a beautiful and charming hotel in an original historical building in the center of this alpine village. Everything has been carefully refurbished and is in good shape. Nice Spa and pool area, too. The breakfast is generous and taste.

We also enjoyed the lobby with a cozy real fireplace to relax and get a drink after some backcountry skiing and ski touring.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelTigers T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan
Level Contributor
115 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

This historical guesthouse, dating back to the early eighteenth century, is now a refined hotel that doesn't lack any comfort. Besides the spacious rooms, a HD television set and free Wi-Fi Internet access, the hotel also has a small swimming pool and a sauna that can both be very relaxing, especially after a day spent hiking. If I had to mention a flaw, I would only complain about that single tiny shower-gel sachet per person which is not enough even for one shower.
The breakfast is rich with everything you could possibly expect to find. If you choose the half-board service, you'll have a very good three-course dinner too, with a couple of options for each course. The half board is quite expensive, though – 41 francs per person.
The prices in general are not at all cheap, but on the other hand nothing in Switzerland is cheap and the Hotel Bodenhaus can be no exception.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LR71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok/Zurich/London
Level Contributor
118 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

For many years I spend a week in spring for ski touring around Splügen - always lodging in Bodenhaus. Not that everything is perfect but most people may have overlooked, that the restaurant actually deserves to be rated by Gault-Millau. The menu as well as the wine list are truly outstanding and an excellent quality to price ratio makes it even more alluring. The owner/manager couple is present from morning 5am to closing time, which is when the last guest goes to sleep!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aromdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

the shown photograph is NOT the hotel.
The still original entrance with the cosy sofas in the lobby and the open fire place make you feel welcome at once as well as the staff. The restaurant and the bar are also very nice and the food looked great. I was there on a half pension basis and breakfast as well as dinner were very good.
The rooms are spacious with some modernization in the bathroom - they could have some more charm.
The sauna is brand new and as I approached reception with my bathrope to collect a towel staff
already came towards me with one.
Pool is a fair size for a hotel pool.
I will come again if I have to stay in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jutta_coleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carp, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We were on route from Interlaken to Lake Garda and happened upon this lovely hotel with a sunny inviting patio - perfect for a couple of chilled drinks. Our room was lovely and a view of the mountains which we love ! We dined in the restaurant that night and had a wonderful meal ! We would go back in an minute !

Room Tip: always nice to have a mountain view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mardi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

A wonderful hotel with a pool, great restaurant and fantastic staff. We stayed with our young soon and it all worked out wonderfully.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoBoGloucestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Splugen
6.0 mi away
Fravi Hotel
Fravi Hotel
#1 of 1 in Andeer
84 reviews
22.6 mi away
Romantik Hotel The Alpina Mountain Resort & Spa
11.3 mi away
Hotel Weiss Kreuz
Hotel Weiss Kreuz
#1 of 2 in Thusis
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Vittoria, Hotel and Restaurant
11.6 mi away
Alps Oriental Hotel
Alps Oriental Hotel
#1 of 3 in Campodolcino
357 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hotel Rovanada
Hotel Rovanada
#1 of 6 in Vals
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bodenhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bodenhaus

Property: Hotel Bodenhaus
Address: Splugen, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Splugen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Splugen
Number of rooms: 26

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing