We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very fine hotel.. brings class and comfort, and a great base to walk, ride the high country.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Bodenhaus

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Splugen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Bodenhaus
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Splugen
Certificate of Excellence
Verbier, Switzerland
Level Contributor
195 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“A very fine hotel.. brings class and comfort, and a great base to walk, ride the high country.”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The small things count, like a full tv/radio range, with foreign channels, and also radio channels, like 3 cheers for the Swiss Classic music. Excellent breakfast, fresh bread and natural yoghurt, berry bircher muesli, pots of jams. Good coffee. And the rooms bring comfort and space! And the public access areas bring the same comfort and space, calm old world décor. Touches like a bible illustrated by Albrecht Durer. As a small group we dined there too and it was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank william e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    40
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
32
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Neuhausen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

It's a beautifully decorated hotel. Being a vegetarian we got here quite a few more options than anywhere else. Our stay was pleasant here. I will recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for an excellent stay in not so expensive hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snigdha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

This place is very special.. Not many places of this high quality do exist, and this is quite valid even in a county like Switzerland, where a simply "good" or an "excellent" hotel is rather standard. This place has a flair of history.. Very unique.. Very inspiring.. If you drive to or from San Bernardino, you should plan a stopover overnight.. Excellent food, too..

Room Tip: Just articulate yourself and rely upon recommendation from the front desk
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catuniversal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This is a beautiful and charming hotel in an original historical building in the center of this alpine village. Everything has been carefully refurbished and is in good shape. Nice Spa and pool area, too. The breakfast is generous and taste.

We also enjoyed the lobby with a cozy real fireplace to relax and get a drink after some backcountry skiing and ski touring.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelTigers T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan
Level Contributor
116 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

This historical guesthouse, dating back to the early eighteenth century, is now a refined hotel that doesn't lack any comfort. Besides the spacious rooms, a HD television set and free Wi-Fi Internet access, the hotel also has a small swimming pool and a sauna that can both be very relaxing, especially after a day spent hiking. If I had to mention a flaw, I would only complain about that single tiny shower-gel sachet per person which is not enough even for one shower.
The breakfast is rich with everything you could possibly expect to find. If you choose the half-board service, you'll have a very good three-course dinner too, with a couple of options for each course. The half board is quite expensive, though – 41 francs per person.
The prices in general are not at all cheap, but on the other hand nothing in Switzerland is cheap and the Hotel Bodenhaus can be no exception.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LR71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok/Zurich/London
Level Contributor
117 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

For many years I spend a week in spring for ski touring around Splügen - always lodging in Bodenhaus. Not that everything is perfect but most people may have overlooked, that the restaurant actually deserves to be rated by Gault-Millau. The menu as well as the wine list are truly outstanding and an excellent quality to price ratio makes it even more alluring. The owner/manager couple is present from morning 5am to closing time, which is when the last guest goes to sleep!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aromdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

the shown photograph is NOT the hotel.
The still original entrance with the cosy sofas in the lobby and the open fire place make you feel welcome at once as well as the staff. The restaurant and the bar are also very nice and the food looked great. I was there on a half pension basis and breakfast as well as dinner were very good.
The rooms are spacious with some modernization in the bathroom - they could have some more charm.
The sauna is brand new and as I approached reception with my bathrope to collect a towel staff
already came towards me with one.
Pool is a fair size for a hotel pool.
I will come again if I have to stay in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jutta_coleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Splugen
6.0 mi away
Fravi Hotel
Fravi Hotel
#1 of 1 in Andeer
82 reviews
11.3 mi away
Hotel Weiss Kreuz
Hotel Weiss Kreuz
#1 of 2 in Thusis
96 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hotel Steinbock
Hotel Steinbock
#4 of 6 in Vals
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Albergo Vittoria
Albergo Vittoria
#1 of 1 in Montespluga
62 reviews
11.6 mi away
Hotel Oriental
Hotel Oriental
#1 of 3 in Campodolcino
350 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Piz Tambo
Hotel Piz Tambo
#1 of 2 in Splugen
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bodenhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bodenhaus

Property: Hotel Bodenhaus
Address: Splugen, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Splugen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Splugen
Number of rooms: 26

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing