We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Splendid”
other travellers have booked this property
The house viewed from the meadow
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The house viewed from the meadow
One of the outside tables House and courtyard with ample parking
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
The house viewed from the meadow
One of the outside tables
House and courtyard with ample parking
Sunset behind the house
Wood-burning stove in kitchen/diner
Dining area in kitchen/diner
A festive Burn's Night dinner
The first floor with another sofa - ideal for quiet reading!
The smaller double bedroom
Barfleur harbour and church
A nearby beach - in August
Another empty beach - on the north coast
A local beach - in August
Winter Snow - A rare event
Barfleur church
The tallest lighthouse in mainland France (and a smaller relative)
Cycling on the beach track
Floor-plan downstairs
Floor-plan upstairs
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Barfleur, Manche, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
grahambic...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Splendid”
Reviewed 26 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Friendly welcome and had a lovely time. A cosy place to enjoy one's holidays. The village has a butcher's and bakers and Barfleur is just up the road. Take a walk up to la panoramique and take in the views.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
langkawif...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely location and property”
Reviewed 8 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The location is perfect. There is a bar, baker and butcher in the village. Supermarkets within easy reach as are the towns of Barflour and St Vaast both have many restaurants, shops, a market and cafes.
The welcome from the owners is warm and friendly. The house is comfortable and well equipped for all your holiday needs.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 Nov 2014
Thanks for the comments. Just to be clear - the 'hole in the floor' is a vent which allows warm air to rise from the wood-burning stove into the room above. It has a trapdoor over it and bars across it so you can't actually fall through it - or even put a hand through it. You can look through it but that is all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sherrysta...
Oxford
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant house in a lovely location”
Reviewed 19 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here with grown up daughters, young cousins and dog. We know the area well and this is one of the nicest places we stayed in. The house and kitchen has evey thing you could want. When my brother and his family stayed in a nearby guest house for a couple of days we produced dinner for 12 - if the house hadn't already been equipped to do this the lovely owners would have loaned us anything extra that we needed.

The extensive garden is perfect for children and dogs, there is an excellent bakery and a butchers 5 minutes walk away, and a selection of great beaches within 10-15 minutes drive. We know from past experience that its within easy cycling distance from Cherbourg if you don't want a car-dependant holiday.

My only hesitation in recommending this is that you might get to book it before I do - we are definitely going back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The combination of the house and location was unbeatable
Liked least: we only got to stay for two weeks!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B0urnem0u...
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful peaceful location with plenty of pretty surrounding towns”
Reviewed 6 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My parents, my husband and our 2 children (aged 5&3) had a wonderful activity based holiday in anneville. We cycled, went to beaches, did rock pooling, swam in the sea, saw fish etc. We went to 8 - 10 local towns and villages, went to the bakery daily, loved the cakes and breads. We went to the WW2 museums in Quineville and Utah Beach and the children loved both! Very peaceful and no TV for a week. The house was spotless, the shower brilliant, and a bath for the kids. My parents had a great time, and we had some fab meals. Would definitely recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the fantastic garden
Liked least: The beds were a bit uncomfortable
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francesca...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“superb holiday!”
Reviewed 21 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We stayed in this beautiful cottage for the week of my best friend's wedding in Barfleur and I can't imagine a better place where we could have stayed!
First of all the location is really convenient, 5 min drive from fantastic beaches , a stream just outside the house where you can fish for trout, a bakery, butchers and bar just round the corner and all the attractions Normandy has to offer just a little drive away!

The house was incredible, clean, big and very very comfortable, just as advertised, the garden with all the vegetables and salad there to pick, was perfect for a lovely picnic outside and just to spend some time out.

I have to say as we went there for a wedding,we may have had a couple slightly noisy evenings to celebrate the occasion but Anthony and Tom didn't mind at all and have been really understanding, helpful and lovely, lovely hosts!

I can't wait to go back to Normandy and maybe take all my family there!
I had a great time at my friend's wedding but definitely staying at Anneville made our holiday even more special!

Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Accommodating hosts and green, tranquil surroundings.
Liked least: Having to leave...
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
483odette...
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing