We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Polly S”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dolceacqua
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Villatalla Guest House
Ranked #2 of 15 Dolceacqua B&B and Inns
Petersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Polly S”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

My husband and I have taken a Yoga of Sound retreat at Casa Villatalla for the last three years. Each group we have taken really appreciated the beauty, tranquility and peaceful surroundings.
Yoga on the deck under a huge canopy in the summer and sessions in spacious upstairs studio in the late evenings.
Fantastic food cooked by Marina and very clean accommodation. The garden is a delight to walk around and relax in with the added bonus of a swimming pool. This is an ideal venue for any Yoga holiday/retreat, accommodating up to 10 students. Roger and Marina take great care to cater for individual needs and dietary requirements.
For couples with a car just wanting a secluded retreat while visiting the delightful hilltop villages of Liguria, this is a perfect resting place.
We are always sad to say farewell at the end of our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    4
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
49
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

My wife and I have been to Casa Villatalla four times in recent years, the latest visit in March. It is both a treat and a retreat going there. The setting is gorgeous, SO peaceful. The perfect escape for us city dwellers...
We always come away recharged and refreshed, which is why we keep going back.
Thank you so much Roger and Marina.
PS. I read someone below talking about it being too remote - it really isn't!!! And that's from a Londoner! It's blissfully peaceful but is only an hour from Nice airport...fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Duncan154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thame, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Nestled in the hills above Dolceacqua, this is a perfect paradise that combines the beauty of the hills with close proximity to the coast.

The villa itself is wonderful - the communal rooms are lovely with interesting artwork and artefacts throughout. The living room has inviting sofas and lots of books covering the local area including fauna and wildlife books to help identify the numerous wild flowers, insects and butterflies. Our room was large and light with a terrace. Breakfast was delicious and a treat every morning. Homemade breads, jams and local fruit tart with plently of fresh juice and pieces of fruit. All enjoyed outside with amazing views and tranquility.

Roger and Marina are fabulous - we received such a warm welcome on arrival and they could not have made us feel more at home. Lovely chats about our plans each day and much appreciated tips.

We thoroughly enjoyed a meal with the other guests at the villa. Marina cooked a delicious meal with good wine - excellent value and highly recommended. We retired to the sitting room for coffees and had a great time chatting with everyone. The laughter filled evening was a credit to the comfortable atmosphere that Roger and Marina work hard to create.

The whole feeling at the villa is extremely personal and by the time we came to leave, we were saying goodbye to friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clare P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We had high hopes for this Guest House, however it was just a little too remote for us. Roger's directions were very good, it's about 25-30 mins from the coast and about 15 mins from Dolceaqua, doesn't sound much that bad but you get more remote with each bend and turning. The house is pleasant enough although beginning to look a little 'tired', our room was spacious, bed comfortable, clean and and had a good sized bathroom. Roger & Marina are a pleasant enough couple but were a little on the reserved side, therefore our welcome was not as enthusiastic as I would've liked or expected. We stayed for a meal the first night as Marina was cooking for other guests, it was pleasant enough however, I didn't think it was worth the 25 euros each we were charged. The breakfasts were excellent, you could not leave hungry, there was plenty of choice and plenty of it; the home-made bread & jams were very tasty. The gardens were well-maintained as was the pool area. The turning into the house is on a difficult angle from the narrow road and if you have a largish car quite challenging. We stayed 3 out of our 5 booked nights as we found the narrow mountain roads just a bit too windy and had found in our motor trip that everywhere takes longer to get around than you think so booked an extra 2 nights in France on our way back to the UK.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villatalla, Owner at Casa Villatalla Guest House, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
We'd like to thank this reviewer for her comments upon her recent stay here. We are very pleased that she was happy with her room and facilities, and with the gardens and the pool, and we appreciate the kind remarks about our breakfasts. We're not sure what she means by “tired” - the house is only 8 years old so is nearly new and very well looked after.
There seem to be 3 matters, however, which caused her to mark us down:-
1. Access
We would recommend all our potential guests reading this response to spend a few minutes looking at where we are situated. We are 6kms from Dolceacqua, which takes 10 minutes by car, up in the hills, and although the last 2kms have a number of bends, the tarmac road is perfectly good with plenty of space for two cars to pass.
But we are in the midst of nature here, extremely quiet and tranquil, with absolutely stunning views to the mountains opposite us, and down to the valley below, and that is why most of our guests come to us. It is interesting that none of these points was mentioned in this review. I'm afraid you just cannot have it both ways.
The entry into our driveway is quite accessible, we often have minibuses, large vans and even lorries up here.
2. Welcome
We have been really surprised by this remark. We welcomed them warmly when they arrived, just as we always do, offered to lend them maps of this area and suggestions of where to visit, as we always do, made restaurant recommendations and bookings for them, as we always do. We felt we were consistently helpful and gracious to them during their stay. So far as we were aware, we treated them like we treat all our guests, in a very friendly way.
I can only say that in our 26 top reviews on this website, every single one of these 26 has made mention of the warm and friendly welcome they received from us. We do always try!
3. Dinner
The reviewer says she did not think the dinner on their first night was worth €25 for each of herself and her husband. Marina is an experienced, creative and extremely good Mediterranean cook – our guests rave about the quality cuisine they get here on a regular basis (see our Guest Book!) Dinner consists of 3 courses, i.e. a starter, main course and dessert, with unlimited house wine (often remarked upon as being very good), mineral water and coffee. For a dinner like this, €25 (about £21.50) is very good value for money, for the quality of food provided.

Obviously we are sorry that we did not live up to this couple's expectations in some respects. But we hope the above provides some helpful clarification.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

After four days in Torino and a week exploring the Piedmont's Hills and Vineyards, a drive south brought us to the Riviera di Ponente and Ventimiglia. Following Rogers directions we headed north to Dolceacqua and the turn off from the road to Rocchetta Nervina up the hill to Casa Villatalla. We were welcomed at the gate and soon made ourselves at ease in the Guest House and the relaxing grounds. Roger and Marina will make you feel right at home. The rooms are comfortable and the breakfasts inviting. A beautiful pool is available on the grounds as is Wi-Fi and a laptop for those e-mail and other travel needs. We received lots of tour tips for the local area. From Menton on the west to Bordighera on the east and the not to be missed villages of Rocchetta Nervina, Isolabona and Apricale. The pizza at a small family run shop in Isolabona is world class and the Farinata a treat.

If your schedule allows, three days is a perfect stay. We enjoyed breakfast conversations with other guests from the UK, France and Italy. This part of Italy is missed by a lot of Americans who rush from the South of France to Tuscany and on to Rome. Slow down and take a look at western Liguria. You will be very surprised by the land, the beaches, the un-crowded cafes, hidden picture postcard villages and the people. Roger and Marina can help expand your list of must explore options. ...................and the Pizza and Farinata!!

We will return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank longjwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

If you are looking to restore body and spirit this is the place to come for Marina and Roger have created a haven for relaxing in beautiful, natural surroundings with the comfort and warmth of their welcome and care. The views are wonderful as is Marina's food and you can rest assured that your needs will be met. The rooms are clean, tidy, homely with access to either balcony or terraces and garden and all have a bathroom en suite. Should you wish to venture out, the old village of Dolceacqua is just down the road and there are plenty of interesting hill top villages to visit. The national park is not too far away and nor is the seaside town of Monet fame, Bordighera. Another highlight is the pool positioned so you have a view out over the valley and the possible shade of the oak tree. Space to relax and dream, no worries.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fanny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

I cannot recommend this guesthouse highly enough. It is in the perfect setting with stunning views across the hills and valley, ideal for getting away from it all, with the gorgeous village of Dolceacqua within easy reach. You feel instantly relaxed, not at least because Marina & Roger are simply wonderful hosts, who go out of their way to make your stay as comfortable as possible. They have fantastic knowledge of the surrounding area and can make some excellent recommendations for local restaurants and places to visit. Marina is also happy to make restaurant reservations for you, very useful if your Italian is just not up to it!! Breakfast was an array of homemade treats and could be taken either inside or outside in the sunshine, blissful! Rooms are very comfortable, well-kept and simply but beautifully furnished, with everything you should need. I was interested to see that the guesthouse also runs yoga and painting weeks, Villatalla would be a perfect location for both. I had the most wonderful time and cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dolceacqua
2.6 mi away
Apricus Locanda
Apricus Locanda
#1 of 2 in Apricale
215 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Lago Bin
Hotel Lago Bin
#1 of 1 in Rocchetta Nervina
154 reviews
1.1 mi away
Talking Stones
Talking Stones
#3 of 15 in Dolceacqua
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
B&B Le Gemme
B&B Le Gemme
#1 of 15 in Dolceacqua
89 reviews
1.2 mi away
B&B Agapantus
B&B Agapantus
#5 of 15 in Dolceacqua
37 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Casetta di Vale
La Casetta di Vale
#8 of 15 in Dolceacqua
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Villatalla Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Villatalla Guest House

Property: Casa Villatalla Guest House
Address: Localita Villatalla, 18035 Dolceacqua, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Province of Imperia > Dolceacqua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Dolceacqua
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Villatalla is a beautiful Guest House situated in a stunning position in the hills above the medieval town of Dolceacqua, between the sea and mountains of western Liguria. Perfect for exploring the mountains with their perched villages, the Italian Riviera coast and the French Cote d'Azur, and less than an hour from Nice Airport. Breathtaking views of the surrounding mountains and valleys, large swimming pool and large garden, complete tranquillity and a warm welcome! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Villatalla Guest House Dolceacqua, Italy - Liguria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing