We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous February break”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dolceacqua
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Villatalla Guest House
Ranked #3 of 16 Dolceacqua B&B and Inns
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fabulous February break”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

With the yellow mimosa and white genista telling you Spring is just around the corner, Villatalla is a lovely place for a quiet and relaxing retreat after a stressful business trip (which ended in Nice). Marina and Roger are such welcoming hosts, making you feel at ease and as if you are home-from-home with delicious cooking, and much in the way of home produce. From its perch high up there are wonderful views all around, and you're in the midst of inspiring scenery - no wonder the other reviews talk about its success as an art course venue and yoga retreat.

Room Tip: They are all good - great views too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    4
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
48
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Petersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 December 2013

As a yoga teacher of many years experience I was on the search for a retreat centre away from home. As soon as I arrived at Villatalla I knew that I had found the right place. This is an intimate hideaway for a group of up to ten participants (in five double rooms), all charming, comfortable and spotless with their own access to a balcony or sitting area. Yoga classes are held on a outdoor deck with views of the surrounding mountains. Sails for sun protection gently flap in the breeze. This is yoga in paradise! There is also a spacious indoor studio in case of rain. However, the main reason that makes teaching here such a pleasure is the care and support of the owners, Marina and Roger. Nothing is too much trouble and between them they do everything they can to enable the smooth running of the course. Marina cooks like an angel with tailor made meals to suit specific requirements. Other activities such as walking in the surrounding mountains, swimming and relaxing by the pool or exploring the nearby medieval village of Dolceacqua fill any time between classes. I have run five retreats in this magical place and many students have returned again and again. They have all experienced real change for the better in their lives having spent time in the calm beauty that is Villatalla.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sara l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Beach, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2013

There are sumptuous flowers everywhere... the lavender is just about in full bloom and the roses are insanely prolific, petals rain on us every time the breezes blow, magnificent mountain views with little villages and orchards across the valley beg to be recorded, pretty pots and urns, fountains and features provide us with plenty of inspiration... gotta love our current home.
Coming here was like coming home in Italy...the welcome and care shown to us lifted the dust from our weary hearts and provided us with with everything we could have desired! The beautiful food and wine provided by our cultured and capable hosts was nurturing and restorative, almost as much as siesta...such joy!
"As an International Tutor, the choice to come here on an Italian Art Tour was one of my wisest moves. The location of the Villa combined with the itinerary and transport provided by Marina and Roger made it possible for us to create Artworks in some of the most beautiful places imaginable, so fantastic in fact, 6 of us are planning to return next year". Casa Villatalla as part of any Art Tour would exceed all expectations!!! Sincerely...Carolyn Sheather

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Art2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beausoleil, France
1 review
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Villatalla is a great place to relax, unwind and escape the stresses of a busy life!
We loved the house clean, welcoming and warm.
Could be a great place to stay during the Grand Prix de Monaco to escape: the absolute quiet after the madness !

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Our week's holiday at Casa Villatalla was perfect. The location is stunning, with endless views of mountains, medieval villages, the Alta Via walking route nearby (we tried to walk to the French border but got so distracted by views and taking photos, we didn't make it!) and of course the Cote d'Azure not too far away. Marina and Roger made us feel like part of the family, even joining us in celebration of our engagement (we got engaged by the bridge in Dolceacqua - a perfect setting). Their hospitality made the holiday for us, lovely breakfasts and fantastic evening meals. We would also recommend their packed lunches if you go for a walk, or just a daytrip out. The room was beautifully looked after, with a stunning view from the balcony, and Marina and Roger were more than happy to bend to some our requirements like gluten-free food and feather-free pillows. We also had massages, which were a wonderful treat. We were extremely sad to leave and are considering going back for the first part of our honeymoon!
I would heartily recommend a holiday here, whether it be a weekend break or a full week you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1985FelicityC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Villatalla is a most wonderful vacation retreat. Situated in the Ligurian Nervia Valley among olive trees and wonderful local flora it provides incredible scenic views into a versatile landscape. Spending a day next to and in the pool within such a landscape is most relaxing. The hosts Marina & Roger are the soul of this unique place. Their warm and personal welcome, their concern to make your stay memorable is the true ingredient for your certain recreation. Villatalla is an ideal starting point for culinary excursions in the region. With the expert council of Marina & Roger one can find the most amazing places be it at the seaside or in the mountains with wonderful Ligurian culinary specialties. Should Marina offer a dinner at Villatalla you are well advised not to miss it. She is great cook! Venturing into France and enjoying highlights of the Côte Azure is easily done from Villatalla. Returning in the evening is like coming home happy to relax and relive the day in the most comfortable living room or on one of the many special seating places in the garden.
The rooms are very comfortable, have their own bathroom and are very cleanly kept. We stayed at Villatalla four years in a row and will return again. You should not miss this jewel of a place.

Room Tip: Rooms like "Rosmarino" with access to the terrace (there are three rooms) are ideal becaus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wedigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Villatalla has been my favourite place for yoga retreats for several years and I can highly recommend it as a yoga revenue for many reasons.

I came here first as a yoga student on a retreat to be able to unwind, relax and recharge. Villatalla offers that wonderful combination of 'getting away from it all' so that the batteries can recharge; yet also being ideally placed to explore many areas of interest in the region should one wish to be more active.

Villatalla has well appointed bedrooms with ensuite facilities with either a balcony or patio area, private gardens to sit and read, or daydream, an outdoor swimming pool to cool down in which overlooks across stunning scenery.

The yoga happens on an outdoor wooden deck, shaded from the sun with sails gently flapping in the breeze as you practice in the warmth looking out towards the valleys and moutains. Blissful.

Having been here as a student on a retreat I couldn't wait to bring my own yoga group to Villatalla - which I have done practically every year since and it is a very much loved venue by all.

Roger and Marina are such friendly and hospitable hosts who just cannot do enough for you. Marina is a wonderful cook and we are always well nourished in a very healthy way! Roger organises all the transfers and any trips required (and the morning coffee, just as you like it, out on the veranda) and both Roger and Marina have a great love of the area and a wealth of suggestions to explore and get to know the region.

We have been on short walks through vineyards, longer walks to perched villages with their hidden freshwater rockpools and little restaurants, mountain walks down to nearby Dolceacqua, trips to Bordighera on market day or over the border to Menton, visits to the most beautiful and stunning Hanbury Gardens, the list goes on....

From the perspective of a yoga teacher bringing a group across to Italy it really couldn't be more pleasant. You gather together a group of keen students, teach in a wonderful venue with a relaxing atmosphere and Roger and Marina make sure the rest is taken care of!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dolceacqua
2.6 mi away
Apricus Locanda
Apricus Locanda
#1 of 3 in Apricale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Lago Bin
Hotel Lago Bin
#1 of 1 in Rocchetta Nervina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
2.7 mi away
Muntaecara Albergo Diffuso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
B&B Le Gemme
B&B Le Gemme
#1 of 16 in Dolceacqua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
1.1 mi away
Talking Stones
Talking Stones
#2 of 16 in Dolceacqua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
1.2 mi away
B&B Agapantus
B&B Agapantus
#4 of 16 in Dolceacqua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Villatalla Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Villatalla Guest House

Property: Casa Villatalla Guest House
Address: Localita Villatalla, 18035 Dolceacqua, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Province of Imperia > Dolceacqua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Dolceacqua
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Villatalla is a beautiful Guest House situated in a stunning position in the hills above the medieval town of Dolceacqua, between the sea and mountains of western Liguria. Perfect for exploring the mountains with their perched villages, the Italian Riviera coast and the French Cote d'Azur, and less than an hour from Nice Airport. Breathtaking views of the surrounding mountains and valleys, large swimming pool and large garden, complete tranquillity and a warm welcome! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Villatalla Guest House Dolceacqua, Italy - Liguria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing