We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place, bit overpriced and disorganised, but charming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Koh Talu Island Resort
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Bang Saphan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I spent 2 nights on the island with my two teenage children. It is a stunning place and the room was comfortable. It was fully inclusive except for alcohol, but there are limited activities. Plenty to do for just 2 days, though the squid fishing was cancelled at the last minute on both days. There seemed to be quite a but if engine trouble with the boats, but somehow that was part of the fun. The snorkelling was great, but the water off the beach was too cloudy to snorkel. We could make free use of the canoes, but beware they are v heavy. A bit of litter on the beach too - I saw someone with a bin bag, but no real effort to clear it up, and no signs to ask people to keep it clean.

A real highlight was the turtle sanctuary - we were able to hold 3 day old babies, 1 year olds, and fully grown adults.

We had a fabulous time but found the lack of info about delays to snorkelling a bit frustrating. The buffet was delicious - try the fried bananas! Staff were friendly and eccentric. Overall a great trip, but don't expect five star service!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

I've been to Koh Talu Island Resort 3 times and this place never let me down. This resort price include all meals and all outdoor activities on the island that you can enjoy like Kayaking, trekking to sun-set point, marine nursery project for baby turtles, coral breeding, coral museums path tour for example. Koh Talu Island resort is the only one resort which suited on the island which has policy to be an eco & natural friendly resort. I've never seen any plastic garbage on the beach, not only one. Everyday the hotel staffs will carry all garbage from the resort to the shore by speed boat. Hence the policy to be eco resort so in the day time resort will turn off the electricity on the island, in order to save energy and persuade all guess to come out for outdoor activity like sea-diving. I love the idea of energy saving, so none of guess will staying in room all day with air con while they can enjoy and be the same with the nature.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Juzmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We took a one day trip from Hua Hin tol Koh Talu. The bus ride was quite long (2,5 hours). The snorkling is quite limited, there were are lot of people in the water at the same time.

Lunch at the resort was included, it was very good buffet. The Island resort is very nice with a good beach.

If you expect world class snorkling, this is not the place to go. But for a nice day trip is it ok.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ThomasGBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Compared to common price level in the area our trip was quite expensive. On the other hand everything but alcohol and soft drinks were included. Island was nice, quiet, and beatiful. The place for "honeymooners".

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tapio H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

This is an amazing place to stay! We have traveled a lot, and been around the world. This place it one to visit! The staff did everything in their power to make us feel comfortable, they planned trips, and everything was just amazing. We will be coming back! Best vacation ever.

Plus:
Amazing site
Super relaxing atmosphere
Great food
Wildlife right outside your door

Minus:
the continental breakfast (ask for a thai breakfast)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thefoodstudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Koh Talu is a beautiful island just of the coast with a wonderful beach and great snorkling. The resort runs a number of activities each day (from 9/10 - 12), from 15-17 and during the evening. In between is meal-buffets and opportunity to just relax. The view of the bay and mountains towards Cambodia is stunning, sunset will be wonderful - when they don't disappear in rain clouds.

We saw two rooms, but Thai-style, but I think these villa are the better options. The small bay is quite a walk from the main area. In both cases, the rooms was looked welcoming, but were in disrepair on closer inspection. Nothing that made the trip unpleasant, but really not acceptable at 12,500 THB (400 USD) per night. The rate includes meals, activities and transport, but still too expensive.

The staff was very helpful and friendly, many spoken sufficient English to understand and help. The meals were very tasty and the kitchen will conjure up most dishes upon request. The snorkling is great, follow the guides around. At low season (July is rainy season) the place is nearly deserted when the people on day trips leaves. Depending on the budget, I highly recommend staying a night or two.

Room Tip: Don't go for T4 - the room is nice but the toilet/bathroom layout is decidedly weird. T17 and T1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ulrik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Great place to relax for a bit, the staff are friendly and versatile in catering to your needs. Housekeeping could be a bit better in guest rooms, and certain areas of the rooms could be improved, mainly regarding the shower. We stayed at Big Bay in the nicest room option. Expected a little more than what I got, but the rooms are beautifully laid out.

Atmosphere and location is perfect, with a variety of activities and staff to look out for you and take you out on the raft they have, whether it's to go snorkelling, squid fishing and/or scuba diving.

One thing I noticed was that there was some trash on the beach and in the ocean, which is sad because it's a beautiful area with clear water. Housekeeping, but in rooms and public areas needs to be improved to really perfect this stay.

The restaurant provided great food, and was dependent on the amount of guests on the island. Our first and second lunch was a buffet line, with fantastic pork ribs, as there were more guests from day trips on both days, but dinner on the first night was a family service style Thai seafood meal, for the 10 of us on the island that night.

Had a great time there, and very close to a perfect stay. This resort just needs to invest a little more into Housekeeping and keeping their guest rooms up to standard.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KinMekun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bang Saphan
0.0 mi away
Coral Hotel Bangsaphan
Coral Hotel Bangsaphan
#1 of 15 in Bang Saphan
578 reviews
0.0 mi away
SEAnery Beach Resort
SEAnery Beach Resort
#6 of 15 in Bang Saphan
10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunshine Paradise Resort
Sunshine Paradise Resort
#1 of 3 in Thap Sakae
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ladawan Boutique
Ladawan Boutique
#12 of 15 in Bang Saphan
18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baan Grood Arcadia Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Ban Krut Resort
Ban Krut Resort
#3 of 15 in Bang Saphan
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Talu Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Talu Island Resort

Address: 111/1 Moo 10, Bang Saphan 77170, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Bang Saphan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bang Saphan
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bang Saphan
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bang Saphan
Price Range: £33 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Koh Talu Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Koh Talu Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Talu Island Hotel Bang Saphan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing