We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swimming pool renovation - alert June 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Baan Grood Arcadia Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Bang Saphan
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Nice place, villas are lovely but at the moment you cannot use the pool from 10am-5pm as there are renovations during the low season. We found this hotel very comfortable but were not impressed when on checkout, we were asked for 30thb for accidentally breaking a water bottle when we had paid 2600thb for a villa without the use of the pool!

Room Tip: there are villas around the swimming pool but I would choose one back from there during the renovati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wattamillsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed at this resort for just over two weeks. The resort is very clean and well maintained. Lovely pool and was never crowded. Lots of sun beds available. The beach was just across the road, deck chairs were provided by the hotel. We stayed in the block of hotel rooms which were about 100 meters from the main reception. Rooms were fine, clean and comfortable . Air con, mimi fridge, tv (basic channels, no BBC or CNN ). Large balcony with table and chairs. Very reasonable for the price. If you want something a bit more luxurious you can book one of the little chalets which are positioned around the pool. The town itself is within walking distance however the hotel has a free bicycle service which is really handy. Restaurant choice is a bit limited as it is such a small town. There is a great little restaurant callers Kasima's run by an ex pat American called Byron and his Thai wife(Kasima). Byron is a real character and is also an author of crime dramas, having published many novels ! The food is pretty good and varied. We'll worth a try. All in all we loved Ban Grood, it was perfect for a quiet and totally relaxed holiday. Don't go there if you want late night bars, night clubs and non stop entertainment.

Room Tip: We stayed on 4th floor. Sea view. No lift so had to walk up stairs, not a problem for us however not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gowrie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The Arcadia is right on the beach with just the fairly quite beach road to cross ( the beach is about 10kms long not busy but not many beds or brollys but there is shade at the back under the trees). The hotel is set out on a large plot with pool side villas, garden villas and rooms in a block at the back of the plot (some people in other T/A reports have said these are a bit of a walk i would say about four minutes!!!).
We had a garden villa which was fantastic!it was spotlessly clean,large bedroom, nice dressing table with light above,fridge with two free waters each day,plenty of storage space,bathrobes,slippers and now onto the bathroom it was big,sink area had lots of space to put stuff, the toiletries that were supplied were good quality,shower nice and powerful,flip flops provided but the best bit was that the rear wall of the room was all glass that opened up into a little garden that was enclosed with a cold shower and a clothes rail to dry your smalls on (I must admit at first sittting on the toilet with a glass wall in front of you was a bit strange!! but different).There was a good space between the villas so you did not hear your neighbours also the patio outside the room was big with nice table and chairs.
The pool area was big with just enough beds and brollys but when we were there you did get the people who put towels on beds then did not use them till late in the day (selfish people),the pool is big and very clean.
The breakfast was good but my only complaint about the hotel (and it is small ) is that the juice is not fresh but squash and it would have been nice to have had filter coffee and bacon.
This is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in for the price we paid which was £65 per night through Agoda in Jan this year,it would cost more in a b/b in a seaside town in the U.K.
I would have rated this place excellent if it had had the juice etc at breakfast.

Room Tip: Choose a garden room for a quite time as we think that the pool side villas get too many people walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aqualungcheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

There are some very good points to be found in this resort:

Staff is efficient and friendly.
I was picked up and brought back to the station for free
The breakfast was pretty good, bread, eggs etc but I liked to Thai section (tasty fried rice, pad thai and rice soup) and fresh fruit.
The swimming pool is very nice (but all chairs had either people or towels on them)
Perfect location right on the beach with lots of seafood restaurants nearby

But I can not give more than an average rating cos I had a very bad night of sleep.
I booked through Agoda, paying 1200 THb for the standard room in the building in the back. The room was tiny, there were two beds in it but no wardrobes. Luckily I was alone so I used the second bed for my luggage. The beds were bouncy soft, not my favorite but this was all ok.

When I got home around 7 PM, there was a lot of noise on the back of the building. Turned out there was an open air Cinema quite close to the back. My window in the toiletroom could not close but also through the exit door came a lot of noise.

So from 7 PM till after 1 AM when I finally got some sleep, I was going through the rollercoaster of Thai horror movies. The soundsystem is probably designed to make people in their chairs be part of the surround sounds of the movies but I was not so happy that I was shaking in my bed all evening.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fredinasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The Arcadia, in Baan Krut, was such a pleasure to stay at. Great service, cozy cottage in the trees, massive and deep swimming pool, manicured gardens, great buffet breakfast, and best of all, right across the road from one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. This is a place to go to relax and just lay back and enjoy a tiny slice of paradise. Not many downsides here, the attached Spa was ridiculously overpriced, but that was about it. If you want a massage, follow the road back towards the train station and look for the Massage shop right across the street from the local convenience store. Ask for Pon, she is amazing!

Baan Krut has virtually no nightlife to speak of, so for party goers, head to Hua Hin or Pattaya instead. There are some great restaurants along the beach road, however, and the one right next door to the hotel will bring the food right out to you at a table on the beach. The specialty is fresh seafood caught that same day, and cooked to perfection Thai style. Motorbike rental is just 250 baht/day, and it is the perfect place to rent a bike and zoom around. Head up the hill to the big temple, or just explore the countryside.

Would not hesitate to go back!

Room Tip: The cottages just into the trees behind the pool are called "Garden View Villas" and are q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LosBound2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

In fact, it was a lovely place ! We had one of their deluxe bungalows and it was comfortable and clean. There was a slight problem when we arrived as the allocated bungalow had a largish gap in the back door leading to the outside shower. We weren't going to use the shower ( cold water only, oh no ! ) but Madam was worried that mozzies might get through in the night and chew her up a bit ! Good thinking. Anyway, no problem as the hotel found us another bungalow very quickly. This one had twin beds instead of the king-size but maybe we slept better with no distractions ! The beds were very comfortable I must say.
Good pool too ! Good breakfast too ! Nice staff too !
Get in quick before this place changes. Very reasonable prices for good accommodation . We will be booking for next year for certain.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a villa by the pool and we've had three days of total relaxation. Friendly staff, decent breakfast, almost no people on the beach. Rent a motorbike and drive for a while and the beach is nicer. All the food i had in the area was good and prices are very decent compared to the more touristy areas.A really good place if you want to avoid noisy chavs ans other annoying disturbers of the peace.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Kai M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bang Saphan
4.9 mi away
Sunshine Paradise Resort
Sunshine Paradise Resort
#1 of 3 in Thap Sakae
132 reviews
13.5 mi away
Coral Hotel Bangsaphan
Coral Hotel Bangsaphan
#1 of 15 in Bang Saphan
583 reviews
12.9 mi away
SEAnery Beach Resort
SEAnery Beach Resort
#6 of 15 in Bang Saphan
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Baan Klang Aow Beach Resort
Baan Klang Aow Beach Resort
#5 of 15 in Bang Saphan
51 reviews
0.0 mi away
Koh Talu Island Resort
Koh Talu Island Resort
#2 of 15 in Bang Saphan
97 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ban Krut Resort
Ban Krut Resort
#3 of 16 in Bang Saphan
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Grood Arcadia Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Grood Arcadia Resort & Spa

Address: 333/2 Moo 3 | Thongchai Subdistrict, Bang Saphan 77190, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Bang Saphan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bang Saphan
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Bang Saphan
Price Range: £25 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baan Grood Arcadia Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baan Grood Arcadia Resort & Spa with its convenience facilities for all luxurious rooms. A variety of stylish rooms of villa, single house (for 6 - 8 persons) provided to our honored hotel guests. Each room is fully equipped with TV, refrigerator, safe box, water heater, vanity, wardrobe and more. At the dining room, placed nearby the pool (Kids swimming pool is available.!) and overlooking the sea, with its romantic and relaxing atmosphere; you can enjoy a good time with your loved ones while being served with great taste Thai food and/or international food. Cafe DeWa, another place with its friendly nooks and crannies, is provided to our coffee persons; gourmet coffee and a list of drinks are informally served daily. Absolutely, an up-to-the-minute health fitness room provided. Also, a sizable convention room with the volume of 120 seats is ready and handy for multi purposes such as a private meeting, seminar, social parties etc. To improve your health, a well-arranged relaxing and pleasant atmosphere health spa is just the thing, of course, you will never miss out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baan Grood Arcadia Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Grood Arcadia Resort And Spa
Baan Grood Arcadia Hotel Bang Saphan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing