We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Baan Klang Aow Beach Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Haadsaikaew Bankrut Resort(Prachuap Khiri Khan)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
    Sirarun Resort(Thap Sakae)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Ladawan Boutique(Bang Saphan)
    View Hotel
    Average 3/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    • Beachfront
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    World Cat Hotel(Bang Saphan)
    View Hotel
    Average 3/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (52)
    Filter reviews
    52 results
    Traveller rating
    25
    24
    3
    0
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    25
    24
    3
    0
    0
    See what travellers are saying:
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    23 - 28 of 52 reviews
    Reviewed 17 March 2013

    Pro's:
    - Amazing location & pristine beach right on your doorstep
    - Friendly staff
    - Amazing pristine landscaping, best I have ever experienced
    - Very clean & well maintained
    - Unspoilt town
    - Great for families
    - Quaint bungalows

    Con's:
    - Hard bed (usual for Thai orientated reports)
    - Mosquitos due to such a dense landscape within the resort
    - Noise
    - No restrictions on pool usage times (pools are centrally located)

    Loved this resort but checked out early due to a large contingency of southern Thai’s enjoying themselves into the wee hours of the morning with a karaoke party & then their kids up at 0530 in the morning screaming & splashing in the centrally located pools. Three other couples also checked out on the same morning due to the excessive noise.
    My partner & I will come back again as it is a beautiful resort & location but will check in advance with management that there are no party nights organised for large groups during our stay.

    • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    4  Thank JayLeeGee
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 21 February 2013

    This was definitely the best hotel we had on our trip. Very nice stuff and a beautiful beach! The rooms were clean as well. We only had some bad luck with the weather...
    The restaurant was ok. I have seen better ones in Thailand.

    • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank RolG
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 9 December 2012

    We arrived in Ban Krut in the wake of a storm so the sea was very rough and it was raining heavily. After a long journey on the slow train from the north, we were tired and wet on our arrival but given a nice, refreshing drink and shown to our bungalow. Our initial reaction was that the room was a bit dingy and was very close to the ones either side but for most of our stay we were out and about and it was very peaceful overall so this wasn't a problem. If we were to return, we would definitely go for a pool view or beach view bungalow.
    We arrived on a Thursday and the place was like a ghost town. Possibly due to the weather. But on the Friday night, many many buses arrived and the hotel was full of Thai people there for the weekend, including school trips. The children weren't a problem but we had a VERY loud Thai gentleman talking on his mobile for most of the night in the bungalow next to us. If you are staying over a weekend, it seems this is a hotspot for weekenders to take some ear plugs, just in case!
    The masses departed on Sunday lunchtime and the weather was much nicer so the whole place had a different atmosphere. Still very sleepy but unbelievably relaxing and beautiful. We borrowed the hotel bikes (beware, they will get you where you are going but some have no brakes or moving seats!) to take us the 2km to the restaurants further up the sea front. The bikes were a Godsend as the place is quite long but it was lovely cycling around the area, particularly at night with the many squid boats shining on the horizon.
    Beds at the hotel were made every day and the gardens were lovingly tended by a young gardener who took pride in his work. The pools were also cleaned every day and great for cooling down after a long bike ride.
    There is a nice bar area, in addition to the breakfast space, and most of the staff were warm, welcoming and friendly. Particularly if you try to speak Thai as they find this endearing, even if you keep getting it all wrong!
    When we left, the reception staff arranged the tuk-tuk to take us to the station for our train. In a lovely gesture, they made us sandwiches for our journey and gave us a chilled bottle of water each, all packed into a carrier bag.
    If we were in the area again and looking for the perfect Thai, beach gettaway then we would definitely stay here again. Real and beautiful!
    Oh, look out for the giant dog, Nuan (we named him Hoover as he ate everything!). Lovely, big fella, he will sleep on your porch and happily wait for any spare snacks. Maybe take him some Weightwatchers dinners!

    Room Tip: Beach or pool view rooms are better.
    • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    7  Thank piskie73
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 27 September 2012

    This very peaceful resort is across a narrow very lightly trafficed road from one of the cleanest and most picturesque sandy beaches in Thailand. That in itself makes it worth staying here for a day or several.
    We stayed in a pool side one bedroom villa, small, but with all needs completely catered for.
    The staff were all totally friendly and extremely helpful. The peace and tranquillity of their environment appears to have rubbed off on them all, judging from their happy smiling faces!
    We will be back soon!

    Room Tip: Choose a pool side rather than a garden villa. A little more expensive, but well worth it.
    • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank easyas
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 25 May 2012

    Nestled half way along a wide bay, one could imagine this is what Thai beach resorts were like 25 years ago. The property faces east onto a beautiful clean white sandy beach. A few deck chairs sit deserted under the dappled shade of tall coconut trees. There are no hawkers and not a spot of garbage to be seen.

    The resort is at Baan Krud, a sleepy village along the coast 382km from Bangkok, 20 km north of Bang Saphan District. To get here by road it is roughly 4 1/2 - 5 hours in a private car with a lunch stop along the way. You could also consider taking a southern bound train from Bangkok, get off at Baan Krud station just a few kilometres away, and arrange a pickup from the resort.

    The Baan Krud beach is much less developed than the tourist resorts of Pranburi, Hua Hin and Cha-am to the north. On my early morning run along the beach access road I encountered only a couple of motorcycles and some cheerful locals. The middle part of the beach is where most restaurants and resorts are, and there are bamboo shacks on the beach.

    The beach opposite Baan Klang Aow is completely devoid of development. In the front of the resort, opposite the beach, rooms are surrounded by towering trees and flowering shrubs of all varieties, a veritable tropical garden. Two well maintained chlorine treated pools are fed with fountains, each with a shallower end for small children, and comfortable lounge chairs and stone paving around the pools under shady trees for reading or drying off after a swim. A perfectly peaceful place for relaxing.

    There are 1, 2 and 3 bedroom rooms and bungalows available. I stayed with my wife and small son, and another family with a young daughter, in a 2 bedroom bungalow facing one of the pools. The rooms are older style timber dwellings but clean and well maintained with aircon inside, and wide verandahs outside. There were no flyscreens on the bedroom windows and no fans in the room we slept in so aircon was the only option. Each room has a separate bathroom.

    There is a small cozy open restaurant-cafe near the check-in counter, surrounded by lush vegetation and well-ventilated by fans. It has a comfortable homey feel. This overlooks the beach so you could read a book or check the internet from here. Wireless is free and the signal is good in the common areas. The restaurant where breakfast is served is is a larger open plan area opposite here.

    We found the staff very pleasant and accommodating. They seemed to have permanent smiles whenever we spoke to them. Guests also seem to be happy. One family from Estonia we met had planned to stop just one night, then stayed a week.

    The food at the resort was average. The breakfast is bit basic but passable with a small range of Thai and Western foods, fried rice, soup, fresh eggs, fresh fruit and interesting herbal juices that change each day. We ate once in the restaurant at lunch time.

    There are a number of good eating options in the Baan Krud area. For Thai-style seafood, including spicy local dishes, try Pramong Seafood which is on the beach 3km to the north. We ate here three nights in a row. There is a Thai Isan food restaurant called Som Tam Nam Nuea which serves fried chicken, somtam, sticky rice and other delicacies. That is 2km to the north along the beach access road. These are within cycling distance and you can borrow a bicycle from the resort to go there.

    On the activities side, there is a spa on the property and I had an hour-long foot and shoulder massage for only 250THB. There is a stunning temple Wat Tang Sai on a promontory overlooking Baan Krud beach with an impressive set of steps to reach the pagoda. On the bottom floor of the pagoda, the inside walls are covered with beautiful murals. On the upper floor are beautiful stained glass windows and outside an amazing view of the coast to the north can be seen.

    Down the road you can organize boat trips to go squid fishing in the early evening for about 300THB per person. Further afield, it’s possible to arrange to go snorkelling on coral reefs at Koh Talu, 37km to the south. We didn’t do these activities since we had small children with us.

    Baan Klang Aow is a great place to chill that is reasonably priced. We stayed during the cusp of the wet season, arriving during the week so there were just a few guests around. Our 2 bedroom bungalow was 3,600THB (weekday rate, valid until November 2013). Weekends get busier, and on our last night (Friday), a large group of Thai tourists arrived but the resort is spread out and we did not notice them. Well worth the extra hour and a bit drive past Hua Hin to escape the crowds. The website is at http://www.baanklangaow.net/index.php

    • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank Tony L
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews