We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surfing Costa Rica”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castillo de Pavones
Ranked #2 of 5 Pavones B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My two friends and I spent 3 days at the Castillo de Pavones. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The room was very spacious and had lovely furniture. We had dinner there every because the food is exquisite! Even if you stay somewhere else you should definitely stop by for dinner and drinks. We had a breathtaking view and got to see all kind of wildlife like red macaws and sloths as well as an array of different birds. I can't wait to come back :) The walk to the beach takes about 8 min. and despite having a car I ended up taking this stroll at least a couple of times a day. I recommend this hotel for anyone coming this way. PURA VIDA!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surfsuprio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
There are newer reviews for Castillo de Pavones
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014

My Wife and I spent two weeks at Castillo De Pavones. Todd and Marryane who run the place made sure we were taken care of!!!!! We felt like we were staying with family from the moment we arrived. The staff are very friendly and made every effort to ensure we had a great time in Pavones. Castillo De Pavones has a great view of the ocean and the rooms are very comfortable. The surf was very fun, and there is a very nice river for swimming near the property ( a close walk). The food was great, and they had juice drinks with the dinners that were awesome. I strongly recommend renting an ATV to get around. The owners made it very easy to rent one and it was very fun. There is tons of wildlife right around the place, such as monkeys, tucans, macaws, and sloths. It is a bit like wild kingdom :) It is very relaxing and quiet there. it is a perfect place to disconnect.

Room Tip: we stayed in the Aves room, which had incredible views of wildlife. They also have a very cool villa...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

If you want luxury in Pavones (not easy to find) then this is the spot. Exceptional rooms and service prevail. Todd the proprietor could not have been more helpful and the staff were friendly
and keen to help in any way. The rooftop terrace has to be seen to be believed and the plethora of wildlife surrounding the hotel is awesome. If nothing else, go and have a drink and see for yourself!

Room Tip: All rooms are outstanding!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

A spectacular place. I'm here for business and pleasure and stayed here at the recommendation of a friend. I couldn't thank him enough. The proprietor, Todd, and his wife, Maryanne, are first class people. They couldn't have been more friendly and were always asking if they could do anything for me. The rooms are superb and the meals beyond excellent. The entire staff will do anything to make your stay "perfect"

I'm a professor in a university in New York and I'm considering bringing a group of students here next January to study Entrepreneurship. I am certainly considering having them stay here. As stated earlier the rooms and the meals are excellent, the location is spectacular, and safety is not a concern. There are also enough activities, surfing, hiking, trips into the "jungle", horseback riding, etc. to keep them occupied in their free time.

This is also a great family or honeymoon spot. It has all the privacy that one would want if that's your choice, and also a great place for the family to "reconnect".

I strongly recommend you consider the "Castle" if you are thinking about coming to CR.

Dr. Laskowski

Room Tip: All rooms are of equal quality
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

My husband and I recently spent 2 nights at the Castillo de Pavones in Pavones Costa Rica. I can't explain how helpful the staff was. Everyone was so pleasant and answered all of our questions with a smile on their faces. The chefs were incredible! The rooms spectacular, clean and spacious, not to mention the bathroom. It was done in stone with a unique flair. And we had a jacuzzi tub along with a seperate shower. We would highly recommend a stay there, overlooking the ocean and the jungle!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kasey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights before Christmas. It is a beautiful building that sits on a hill overlooking the gulf in what seems to be about the middle of Pavones. We originally had booked the mezzanine room thinking it would have the best view but as it turns out all the rooms have fairly equal views. The rooms are very clean and the A/C works great. The bathrooms are very "castle" looking with a lot of dark stone. It's funky but very fun. The common dining area is very inviting and the scarlet macaws make a daily habit of landing on the porch railings so you will get fantastic photos. We only ate breakfast there but it was great and plenty of it. We would have loved to eaten dinner there but as it was before the season started, we were the only ones there so we decided not to burden the wonderful staff to cook for two. We did several activities through the Castle. First being surf lessons. We have never surfed before and it was one of the highlights of our trip. I've forgotten our instructors name but he did all the work. He pushed us out, put us on appropriate size waves and made us have fun. We had our lessons in a very safe, sandy area. I highly recommend this. The next thing we did was have massages on the roof top deck. We watched all sorts of crazy birds flying by while relaxing to a beer and a lovely massage. The masseuse is a plethora of great pavones/nature knowledge. We found the prices to be reasonable for everything. We had a car but we did walk a few times to the beach and through most of pavones. If you do not have any mobility issues, walking is doable and you'll burn off a few calories. They were having their road grated the day we left so driving/walking should be easy. The property is beautiful, besides the 4 room inn, there is a villa on the property that would be great for families. There is a trail to the river as well. If the place couldn't get any better, they are adding a pool. If it's like what the new owners have already done, then it will be spectacular. The owners are on site, extremely friendly, accommodating and helpful. You will love your stay here!

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floor vs ground level may have slightly better view but all rooms are nice
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Castillo amazing! Views wonderful! Staff extremely friendly!

For us, pavones was a haven. We had spent 2 weeks searching Costa Rica for somewhere super relaxed, a little remote, with yoga and surfing and had come up empty handed. Arriving at castillo, we were greeted with a beer and a smile, and knew we had found our home for the next couple of nights.

We spent 4 days practicing yoga, surfing, river tubing. The loooooooonnng walk up the hill to castillo was even a welcome hike because we knew at the end of the walk we'd be sitting on a terrace overlooking tree tops and the ocean. Castillo was perfect for watching the sunset and scoping out the local wildlife. The first night we were served an amazingly delicious meal and the food just kept getting better. You might say I even started to crave the vegetarian omlette.

Always one for liking to try new places and new adventures, we spent 4 luxuriously comfortable nights at castillo before going in search of a place closer to the ocean. However, after checking out the other accommodation in the area, we knew we wouldn't be happy anywhere but at castillo. Luckily for us it was slow season so we were able to secure another 3 nights.

While I can appreciate's life's luxuries, I don't always necessarily need them. Castillo is beautiful but what I really liked about it - it didn't smell like mold. They have a de-humidifier so the sheets are always fresh and the rooms are super clean smelling. Friendly people, clean (non-moldy) sheets, big/clean/comfortable room, a bar on the rooftop, a pair of macaws to eat breakfast with and river tubing - all a girl needs!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danita h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pavones
10.3 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
10.2 mi away
El Remanso Lodge
El Remanso Lodge
#3 of 43 in Osa Peninsula
618 reviews
10.8 mi away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
The Zancudo Lodge
The Zancudo Lodge
#3 of 12 in Golfito
134 reviews
13.7 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#4 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
339 reviews
22.9 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castillo de Pavones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castillo de Pavones

Address: 500 Meters Sur de Super Rio Claro | ., Pavones 60704, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Pavones
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Pavones
Price Range: £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castillo de Pavones 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castillo de Pavones is the perfect place to be in Paradise. Located in SW Costa Rica near the Panamanian border, the Castillo is located in the quiet town of Pavones. We are a jungle castle offering massive suites, most of which have spectacular ocean views. Here, you can enjoy fantastic ocean views and your 2-person jacuzzi tub and king size orthopedic bed. Enjoy our glass-enclosed restaurant and lounge, offering world cuisine restaurant. A five-minute walk down the hill brings you to the ocean, river, and directly in front of the beginning of the longest left break wave in the world. A ten-minute walk brings you to the center of town. We can book your boat trip to Matapalo for surfing, fishing, snorkeling. Horseback riding, private guided hikes and canopy tours can also be arranged through the Castillo. Walk to the river, or just relax all day at the Castillo, wandering from window to window, taking in the breathtaking 360 degree views from our 3rd, 4th, and 5th level restaurant, bar and lounge. Castillo de Pavones offers the Guaymi Indian Reserve, and the famous Tiskita Jungle Lodge. Castillo de Pavones has four large, private luxury suites for rent daily/weekly/monthly. We are service-oriented, and pride ourselves on paying attention you every detail of your Costa Rican adventure vacation. Full made to order all you can eat breakfast and drinks in the morning delivered to your suite or enjoyed up in our famous 360° Leftbreak Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Castillo de Pavones reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing