We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
anthonyshay
New York City, New York

Honeymoon in Paradise!!!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Sept 2015via mobile
My wife and I travelled to the Reethi Beach Resort for our honeymoon over New Year's and it was perfect in every imagine able way! The staff was friendly when we arrived on our seaplane and quickly checked us in and brought us to our over-water bungalow. The island is covered with well-manicured dirt paths that lend to the tropical feel and laid back atmosphere of the island. Our room was to the left side of the arc of over-water rooms, closer to the reef, which is good if you like to snorkel. The room was very clean and very comfortable. When opening up the doors to the deck it is magical! Being able to walk directly from your room down into the ocean is an unforgettable experience. The reef has an abundance of colorful fish and corals and occasionally more exotic creatures like rays, sharks and turtles. A good underwater camera is a must as what you see here can not be described in words. We also brought our own snorkeling gear as I'm not sure what is available at the dive shop. I had read equipment was available but the dive shop wasn't always open and having the flexibility to take your mask and go is great. I went with the idea that we would try all the different restaurants through the "select" all-inclusive package but the food was so good in the buffet that we just ended up eating their most nights and did not pay extra for the "select" option. There was nightly entertainment in the bar but we didn't partake that much. What we did experience were live bands and they were fine. Another thing about the island is that most people don't wear shoes. It is all sand so there is no need and for me made the trip all the more relaxing! The staff throughout the stay was most friendly and helpful. Overall the island is truly paradise and the accommodations and services only enhance it. I would highly recommend it to anyone that is traveling to the Maldives!!!
Date of stay: December 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ReethiBeach, General Manager at Reethi Beach Resort, responded to this review
Responded 11 Sept 2015
Dear anthonyshay,

Thank you very much for choosing Reethi Beach as your holiday escape in Maldives and this superb review. We are delighted to learn that you have found our sumptuous buffet to be of excellent quality and we will certainly pass your comments on to our Executive Chef.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you again some time on Reethi Beach!

Sunny regards,

Peter
General Manager
Reethi Beach Resort
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    £2,312
  • Trip.com
  • Lol.travel
0.7 miles from Reethi Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
£2,256
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £1,905
  • Priceline
2.5 miles from Reethi Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
£112
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    £71
2.5 miles from Reethi Beach Resort
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £127
  • Hotels.com
    £439
  • Priceline
2.5 miles from Reethi Beach Resort
Earn Trip Coins after your stay
  • Agoda.com
    £53
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
2.5 miles from Reethi Beach Resort
Restaurant
£114
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
2.5 miles from Reethi Beach Resort
Odi Kamadhoo Outside View
£123
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    £122
  • Tripadvisor
    £123
  • ZenHotels.com
2.5 miles from Reethi Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Beachfront
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £73
  • Agoda.com
3.8 miles from Reethi Beach Resort
View more hotels in Fonimagoodhoo Island
Reviews (3,174)
Filter reviews
3,176 results
Traveller rating
2,288
628
171
55
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,288
628
171
55
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main bar sunset bar water villa fish our honeymoon every night dolphin safari deluxe villa other islands west side sea plane the grill octopus food in the main restaurant room boy room number half board
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,245 - 1,250 of 3,176 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2015

My husband and I travelled to Reethi beach in August for 12 nights. This was our second holiday in the Maldives at a similar time of year and the weather did not disappoint. We had two cloudy/rainy days and the rest were lovely and sunny and very hot!

Let me start with the accomodation. We stayed in a standard Reethi Villa, room 163, and I really would recommend booking this room. We could hear the sea from our room and only had to walk past a couple of trees to get on to the beach. We were actually better situated than some of the delux villas as this part of the island is very quiet and we rarely had people walking past us as we lay on our sun loungers. The room itself was spotless and had one of the biggest beds we have ever slept in on holiday, just wonderful! The bathroom was just as nice, although it took a little getting use to having a toilet in an outside bathroom (the bathroom is covered but has an open end), but the relaxing surroundings soon help you forget that. It's so lovely to have a shower whilst looking at the stars after a day relaxing on the beach.

The house reef is easy to access, there was an acess channel right by our room. In terms of coral life the reef is not so good - BUT it does have an incredible amount of life and the snorkelling is excellent. Aside from the great fish life we saw turtles eels and rays and some guests saw mantas and dolphins during our stay.

The food was also very good. We were debating going on the Reethi al la cate all inclusive for the last five days, but with myself being pregnant we decided it wouldn't be worth it, so we had standard all inclusive, but it may have been worthwile to go half board or bed and breakfast. The buffet was always very good, plenty to chose from and kept stocked with freshly prepared foods. The salalds were wonderful! We also treated ourselves to a couple of visits to the grill and lunch at Moodu, both very good. We would visit the bar near the water villas at night due to its quieter atmosphere and location near our villa.

The staff are just incredible! Every single employee we came across treated us with wamth and respect and I cannot thank them enough for their hospitality, you made our holiday very special. Special thanks have to go to our waiter at the main restraunt, Vishah, who every day remembered our drinks orders and always asked us about our day. Also our bar man at the water villa bar, Jyobhish, whose English was exceptional! He was incredibly welcoming and wonderful to talk to (he also makes delicious cocktails and moctails!).

Whilst at Reethi we were lucky enough to go on the Snorkling excursion to see the Manta Rays. On our first visit we only saw 4 due to a change in current direction, but on our second visit we were surrounded by these amazing animals! It really was a wonderful experience. My husband also took part in a number of dives and on one trip was even joined by a group of dolphins! He thought the diving was great and very well run. The visability at this time of year can be quite bad but the presence of manta rays makes up for it and he saw them on about half of the dives. He even got to see them being cleaned by cleaner wrasse.

Overall we just didn't want to leave! Thank you to everyone at Reethi that helped make our holiday so special, you all work incredibly hard and deserve a lot of credit for running such a wonderful resort!

Room tip: standard rooms up near the water villas are nice and peaceful with wonderful sunset views.
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank bug_et_denny
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ReethiBeach, General Manager at Reethi Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2015

Dear bug_et_denny,

Thank you very much for your superb review and choosing Reethi Beach this time as your holiday destination in Maldives. We are excited to hear that you have had a fantastic time on our island and were particularly happy with the underwater world around the island.

Please visit us again soon – we would feel honored to have the opportunity to welcome you again on Reethi Beach in the near future.

Sunny regards,

Peter
General Manager
Reethi Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2015 via mobile

Beautiful part of the world with lovely staff who would do anything for you. We stayed in one of the beach side villas which were in a beautiful setting and spotlessly clean. Would love to return one day.

Date of stay: October 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Colleen1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ReethiBeach, General Manager at Reethi Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2015

Dear Colleen1314,

Thank you very much for your great review, we can’t wait to welcome you again on Reethi Beach!

Sunny regards,

Peter
General Manager
Reethi Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2015 via mobile

We have just returned from 11 nights at Reethi Beach resort and we loved every single min of our stay.
We stayed in a deluxe beach villa on the all inclusive select package.

From the moment we arrived on the sea plane we were treated like we were the only guests and made to feel very special.

The level of calmness and relaxation on this island is huge which starts with the "no shoes required" as soon as you get to the island.

Our beach villa was perfect, outdoor shower was lovely, stepping out every morning to the beach just ten steps from our door was perfect. We spent our days snorkelling and relaxing with cocktails and ice creams. We hired snorkel equipment which was expensive but we got two free days and the equipment was very high quality.

We also had a free sunset cruise during which we saw manta rays and dolphins which was brilliant. We also went on a free island trip in which we visited two local islands which was nice to see how traditional islands ran. We treated ourselves to a desert island picnic which was amazing, the two of us and a picnic basket..... The closest we will ever get to be stranded on an island!!!

The food Is superb, I would definitely recommend doing the select all inclusive as it gave us the freedom of eating where we wanted. The Reethi grill was our fave, the waiter Sajan was brilliant and knew exactly what we wanted before we had even asked most of the time!

The sunsets were superb, we often watched these from the sunset bar just down from our villa. Again great bar staff where nothing was too much trouble!!) a great selection of drinks all over the island.

Snorkelling was great, big house reef that was easily accessible, we saw Dolphins, turtles, sharks and sting rays while we were out!

We didn't do any of the diving or water sports but all looked great fun if you wanted to! We had a massage as well which was sooooooooooo relaxing!!

Everything was organised for our departure (even though we didn't want to leave) and everything was made so easy for us!

We would definitely return and would definitely recommend this island!

Thank you!!!

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ReethiBeach, General Manager at Reethi Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2015

Dear Nicola C,

Thank you very much for your excellent review and choosing Reethi Beach as your honeymoon destination in Maldives. We are thrilled to learn that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay on our island and were especially pleased with the Reethi Select Package.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon on Reethi Beach!

Sunny regards,

Peter
General Manager
Reethi Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2015

We had a lovely stay here. Splitting our time between a water villa and a deluxe beach villa. We stayed all inclusive, however there is a reasonable selection of things that aren't inclusive (we knew this before arriving) which means you do have to constantly look or ask to make sure you're not choosing drinks or other items that aren't included.

We definitely preferred the water villa. Although the beach villa room was larger, both were of a similar quality, and we preferred the direct view of the sea and privacy afforded by the water villa. The beach villas are slightly set back from the water and have some vegetation between them and a complete sea view. This gives some privacy but wasn't what we preferred. The water villas at either end of the spread are in deeper water and would be recommended over those in the middle, which lose water on the front side of them at low tide so they are in very shallow water at their rear. This doesn't really spoil them when you're in them though as the views are to the rear.

The house reef was excellent with an impressive variety of fish and the coral in not to bad a state. As well as the usual fish we saw mantas and dolphins while snorkeling here.

The island staff are lovely and accommodating, with the guest relation team open to queries and concerns.

The dive school was excellent, although we found it to be relatively expensive (as expected for a captive audience I guess!), the quality of the dives and guides/instructors was high.

The honeymoon extras were wonderful, especially the excellent candle lit meal.

Overall a wonderful, highly recommended, holiday!

Room tip: Choose a close to either end water villa (for sunrise (high no.)/sunset (low no.) based on preference) rather than those in the middle.
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ukak47
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ReethiBeach, General Manager at Reethi Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2015

Dear ukak47,

Thank you very much for choosing Reethi Beach as your honeymoon escape and this beautiful review. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and experienced both categories of Beach and Water Villas.
Please visit us again, we would be pleased to have the chance to welcome you again one day on our island.

Sunny regards,

Peter
General Manager
Reethi Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2015

This was our first time in the Maldives. A great place to vacation, the water clarity is unreal, the varied species of underwater life is second to none. We stayed in both the Deluxe Villa and the Over Water Bungalows, both of the rooms were great. Serviced twice a day and with all the amenities I expect at home. The weather was always great, and the food was excellent. The large breakfast buffet each morning features several different types of cuisine and always has something for everyone. One of the best values anywhere. The staff also were amazing from start to finish. No complaints whatsoever. We made the trip all the way from Northern Minnesota USA and it was well worth it!

Room tip: All the rooms are good, the water villas though have a ladder that takes you right down onto the reef.
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ReethiBeach, General Manager at Reethi Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2015

Dear Jack M,

Thank you very much for coming all the way from USA to our island! We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us on Reethi Beach and were fully satisfied with the provided services. Even though it’s a long way from America to Maldives – we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again one day on the lovely island of Reethi Beach!

Sunny regards,

Peter
General Manager
Reethi Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews