We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
70steve
Melbourne, Australia

WONDERFUL HOLIDAY

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Sept 2015
What a great experience..........from the no shoes approach to the excellent food to the accomodation .I couldn't find fault with anything.....loved i8t all.....special thanks to Cassandra at guest relations for looking after me and Thomas and all the young men in the restaurant who served me
Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Travelled solo
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ReethiBeach, General Manager at Reethi Beach Resort, responded to this review
Responded 26 Sept 2015
Dear 70steve,

Thank you very much for your great review and special mentioning of Kassandra, Thomas and the Bar team. We can’t wait to welcome you again on Reethi Beach!

Sunny regards,

Peter
General Manager
Reethi Beach Resort
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    £1,960
  • StayForLong
    £851
  • Booking.com
    £1,960
2.5 miles from Reethi Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
Go to your Happy Price
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £100
  • Booking.com
2.6 miles from Reethi Beach Resort
Beachfront
Restaurant
£220
Earn Trip Coins after your stay
  • Vio.com
    £211
2.8 miles from Reethi Beach Resort
£38
  • Expedia.com
    £73
  • Hotels.com
    £73
  • Agoda.com
3.8 miles from Reethi Beach Resort
£2,494
  • Expedia.com
    £2,371
  • StayForLong
    £1,470
  • Trip.com
    £2,417
3.9 miles from Reethi Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
£1,803
  • Hotels.com
  • FourSeasons.com
  • Booking.com
4.1 miles from Reethi Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
    £630
  • StayForLong
    £79
  • Expedia.com
    £602
5.1 miles from Reethi Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Beachfront
£85
Get rewarded with One Key
  • StayForLong
  • Vio.com
    £80
  • Hotels.com
    £84
5.5 miles from Reethi Beach Resort
£1,344
  • Expedia.com
    £1,264
  • Trip.com
    £400
  • Booking.com
    £1,406
6.4 miles from Reethi Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Fonimagoodhoo Island
Reviews (3,176)
Filter reviews
3,177 results
Traveller rating
2,289
628
171
55
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,289
628
171
55
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main bar sunset bar water villa fish our honeymoon every night dolphin safari deluxe villa other islands west side sea plane the grill octopus food in the main restaurant room boy room number half board
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,236 - 1,241 of 3,177 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2015

The 'no shoes' and no strict dress code approach, as with the majority of the islands in the Maldives, makes for a very laid back and relaxing environment.
We had a Deluxe Villa although there seems to be 2 classes as we didn't have a swing outside our room, or the additional seating area or bath as the other guests have written about. Otherwise the room was great, with a very large bed. The typical outdoor shower is lovely, however the sink and toilet could have been inside as this may reduce the amount of ants we experienced.
There were no tea and coffee making facilities in our room which was disappointing, and while 1 bottle of water was provided in the room on a daily basis it would have been better to receive 1 per person.

As we don't like being tied to a buffet restaurant for all 3 meals we decided to go on a B&B basis. We were pleased to find that after 2 weeks we had spent under half the cost to upgrade to the standard all inclusive, and a third of the cost of the 'a la carte' option. It helped that we could view the restaurant prices before we booked so we could have an idea of whether it would be cheaper. The food in the restaurants was fantastic, we didn't have a bad meal for the entire duration and we barely had the same meal twice as there was so much choice. The food is reasonably priced, although the additional 23% tax soon adds up. Alcohol is expensive but then it is everywhere in the Maldives. Take advantage of happy hour from 6-7pm when you get 20% off (essentially the tax), you can also take unopened bottles back to your room to take advantage of the happy hour at any other time in the day.

We spent most of our time diving, a mixture of boat dives with the company Sea Explorer on the island and self dives on the house reef. The dive guides, boat crew and dive centre staff are great and they are active in conservation activities, such as the monthly 'Reethi Day' where divers collect broken, but alive, coral and then these get attached to a steel frame and placed on the house reef as an artificial reef.
Unfortunately the house reef was the same price as a boat dive which made it very expensive, we are used to places allowing you to do a self dive with only a charge for the tank, this is probably why not many people were taking advantage of the excellent house reef.
We had heard great things about the Baa Atoll for diving, and while every dive is always fantastic we do feel that the coral life is not as good as some of the other islands we have visited. On some occasions the house reef was better that the boat dive.

Overall I would say that the island was a good choice based on price, size, quality, and the excellent house reef.

A tip regarding the transfer from Male to the Island, we were told by the tour company that the only option to get there was by sea plane. This is not true, you can get a domestic flight to an island close by and then have a short boat transfer, this would have been much cheaper if we had known this.

One quick plea, regardless of which island you visit, please help the islands in the Maldives by taking all your rubbish home with you. The Maldives do not have the facilities for waste recycling as we do at home and it is the least we can do in return for our amazing holiday experience.

Room tip: Deluxe villas on the West side of the island.
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank Lisa021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ReethiBeach, General Manager at Reethi Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2015

Dear Lisa021,

Thank you very much for your detailed review and choosing Reethi Beach as your holiday destination. We are happy to hear that you have had a great time on the island as well while exploring the underwater world nearby.
It is pleasing to hear your recommendations to fellow visitors regarding the waste management which is still the biggest challenge. Not only for us, but also for other resorts and the local communities which we assist in any possible way. Thank you for being so cautious about our environment which is the future of us.

We hope to have the possibility to welcome you again soon on Reethi Beach!

Sunny regards,

Peter
General Manager
Reethi Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2015

We visited Reethi beach in 2010, and thought it was time to visit again in August/September. This was our 15th trip to the Maldives and I so wish I had read my previous review of Reethi beach before booking.

Booked via Travellab, with excellent service as usual, flights with Emirates and we were straight onto a seaplane as soon as we had cleared customs, so arrived at the island only a short while after landing at the airport. The seaplane journey was via two other islands, but it was the usual enjoyable flight.

On arrival at the island we were greeted by Maria, from the seaplane and onto the Dhoni, not the best greeting as we were the only passengers, she appeared to be going through the motions. However we did the formalities with another member of the guest services team who was a little more interested.

We were allocated room 108 a deluxe villa, which was great, it was large airy with a great bathroom, all as we expected. we had a nice piece of beach in front of us, which was better than last time. Strange set up with the covers for the seats on the decking and the sunbeds on the beach, they both shared the same covers, so you had to carry them to whichever seat or bed you were using, not the end of the world but never had that before.

After unpacking and checking things i noted that although there were tea and coffee making facilities there was no milk except coffe mate powder, which i dont like so went to reception to ask about a small jug of milk for the fridge, I got Maria again, she was chewing gum as she told me that "No" I could not have a small jug of milk but I could purchase 1ltr of milk from the bar...great customer service..NOT

Anyway, the island is lovely great beaches and the sand is nice and soft, its one of the largest island we have visited but it is well set out and beautiful.

We were half board and our first evening meal in the main resaurant was a disapointment, with very little choice of food and even the salad bar was lacking, but maybe we were just tired, but the following morning the breakfast was just as poor, yes there were cereal, but the hot food was a mix of things that just didnt go together.
I like a nice cooked breakfast but in all ten days we were there I never had one, one day there would be beans but nothing else another day there would be hash browns but nothing else to go with it, we did have british muffins and bacon one morning which was actually pizza? The salads on a morning were better than the evening, the food was poor everytime we visited the restaurant, and nothing appeared to go with other things one night there was a curry but no rice, I had to have it with vegatable noodles, it was all very strange.
However our holiday was saved by the excellent staff Santosh and Babatosh in the Moodu restaurant, where the food was excellent, we decided to eat there for our evening meals as well, due to the poor food in the buffet. We never had a bad meal in the Moodu but of course we had to pay for the food, and we had already paid for our evening meal in the half board we were on, so a nice earner having to pay twice for an evening meal. but I can recommend the food in the Moodu and the staff who were excellent.

Besides the main restaurant and one grumpy guest relations staff we had a great time, the island is as I said lovely, one special mention must go to our roomboy Samrath, who did a bed decoration that was the best we have ever had in the Maldives it was superb, it was so beautiful we considered leaving it on the bed and sleeping on the sofa.

Would we visit again, I am afraid no, we wont, because of the food in the main restaurant, but as is shown on the reviews plenty of people apparently like the food so It just wasnt for us.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
10  Thank oztravellerLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ReethiBeach, General Manager at Reethi Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2015

Dear oztravellerLeeds,

thank you very much for your review and feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us to the fullest and that you found the choices and varieties of the buffet in our Main Restaurant not satisfactory. As we cater to guests from all over the world, we put our best efforts in meeting everybody’s taste. Please be assured that we have passed your comments on to our Executive Chef who will certainly look in possible improvements.

Once again we are sorry that you found your stay with us disappointing, nevertheless we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at some time on our island.
Sunny regards,

Peter
General Manager
Reethi Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2015

Its a great place with affordable luxury, specially when you are looking for someplace quiet but at the same time not lonely. Its a beautiful resort with affordable water villas and a good home away from home feeling.

Room tip: Delux beach villas
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Nsharma24
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ReethiBeach, General Manager at Reethi Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2015

Dear Nsharma,

Thank you very much for your great review, we can’t wait to welcome you again on Reethi Beach!

Sunny regards,

Peter
General Manager
Reethi Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2015

I won't wax lyrical about this piece of paradise as it's all been said before. What I will do is list some useful points that would have assisted us. The Villas - very spacious, 3 pin sockets everywhere so no need for adapters. You don't need any shoes, no one wears them! There is a hairdryer in the villas but unless you are determined to blow dry your hair everyday it's pretty useless. The food - we went all inclusive as we didn't want any nasty bills at the end of the week; it is excellent, all very fresh, amazing salads and there is a theme each night so there's always something different. Be aware though that there are standards to be upheld so you do need to cover up in the main bar and restaurants, we spotted at least one lady each day being turned away for arriving in a bikini to eat/drink. The nightlife - there isn't much to speak of, anything that was laid on didn't start until 21.30 by which time we were too tired! quiz night, Karaoke, films and even a 70's/80's disco. This resort is very much dominated by middle aged German tourists so for an English couple making new friends wasn't easy; having said that all Germans speak excellent English. The snorkeling is excellent, but if you can't do it learn before you go otherwise you'll miss out on the main attraction of this part of the world. We took some trips to swim with Manta Rays and Turtles fantastic experiences. The Dolphin Safari was an expensive gamble which didn't pay off, so think twice before you book. The staff are all second to none and being a Muslim country they're all men with the exception of the ladies who sweep the leaves everyday. I would avoid the monsoon season at all costs, there's nothing to do if it's pouring with rain, we were caught out by showers on more than one occasion. take plenty of swimwear as it's not easy to dry if it's raining all the time! We used the laundry service twice and it was excellent. I wouldn't take children here, there were a small number and they were quite obviously pretty bored and did NOT like the food on offer, such a shame really that they were so set in their ways when it comes to dining out. It's not for teens either unless they are into SCUBA diving. The dive school is owned and run by Germans and appeared to be very popular, we don't dive but looking at the prices whoa! The dive school runs snorkeling trips and we took 2, they were very good, the staff were lovely, would recommend you give it a go. There is free wi-fi in the reception area and main bar, but when 20+ guests are all on it at the same time it slows right down so best to access it first thing in the morning. We plan to return in 2018 for my 60th b'day (this was a 60th treat for my husband)

Room tip: try and get a villa on the west side of the resort where the house reef is, we were on the east side next to the jetty (186) a bit noisy
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank outofreachFleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ReethiBeach, General Manager at Reethi Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2015

Dear outofreachFleet,

Thank you very much for your extensive review and rating, we are glad that you have chosen our island as your holiday destination in Maldives on the occasion of your husbands’ 60th birthday. We truly hope to have the chance to celebrate your special day with us on Reethi Beach in 2018 and can’t wait till then!

Sunny regards,

Peter
General Manager
Reethi Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2015

Excellent the Asian staff particularly were extremely nice. smiling and wanting to help all the time. we had a water villa fantastic. And thank you so much for my birthday it was very special and the chef did an Indian theme food night and the food was excellent. also the resort was very kind and layed on dinner and breakfast when we arrived very very late due to planes breaking down and us having to leave early they gave us a small breakfast in moodu bar the coffee was lovely. overall there isn't really a bad place to stay on this island all villas are excellent. and the snorkelling is really good on the beach villa side.

Room tip: watervillas 225 and up have excellent fishes under them or 201- 207 have good snorkelling. to be honest there isn't really a bad room here
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bihag1054
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ReethiBeach, General Manager at Reethi Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2015

Dear bihag1054,

Thank you very much for your great review and rating, we are happy to hear that you had a fantastic time on our island. Thank you very much for choosing Reethi Beach as your holiday destination, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon on our island!

Sunny regards,

Peter
General Manager
Reethi Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews