We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Suzanne-May3
Bristol, United Kingdom

A 4* Resort with 5* Experiences

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Feb 2016
We spent 9 nights at Reethi Beach over half term with our 3 children (oldest 15, youngest 10) and we loved it.I have been lucky enough to go to a number of different resorts in the Maldives over the years but I think Reethi Beach ticks more boxes than any of the others.

Food: We went half board which worked really well. We chose to have lunch every day in the beautiful Moodhu Restaurant built out over the lagoon. The food was delicious, great service and you would be hard pushed to find a more beautiful setting. Supper was buffet style in the main restaurant with a different theme every day. The cooking was outstanding. My parents visit the Maldives every year staying in different 5* resorts and commented that the food at Reethi was as good if not better than any resort they had stayed at (and that includes Soneva Fushi, Jumeirah, Cocoa etc). The only difference between dinner at Reethi and the top 5* resorts is the slickness of the service and the little extra details of presentation. And you will pay at least three times as much for that difference.

Rooms: We had a two Reethi Villas on the sunset side. They were comfortable and permanent hot water was available in the bathroom which isn't always the case on many islands. The location was perfect, right on the beach with your own sun loungers. My parents had a deluxe villa which was a notch up and possibly worth the extra but it depends on what matters to you.

Reef and Snorkelling: Reethi Beach reef has the best house reef snorkelling I have experienced in the Maldives. It is incredibly easy to access and runs the whole way down the sunset side (you can also snorkel on the sunrise side but it isn't a continuous reef). The coral is nothing special and has suffered like many of the islands but the quantity and variety of sea life was outstanding. It may have something to do with being on the edge of the atoll but there were huge shoals of angel fish, orange toothed trigger fish and many others. We also saw morays, the house turtle, napoleon fish (which I haven't seen for ages), clown triggerfish, lion fish, octopus, surgeon fish, bat fish, reef sharks etc etc etc. We took an underwater camera, bought a book on Maldivian fish and my sons and husband spent most of the holiday underwater taking photos and then ticking the fish off in the book! Every evening at 6pm there would be ray feeding on the beach. This was an amazing sight as at least 10 rays would appear coming right into the shallows and sit on the feet of the guy feeding them splashing as hard as they could to get his attention! They were also accompanied by other fish, reef shark and a guitar shark. One of the highlights of the holiday which is unlikely to be replicated in the near future was the hatching of a nest of turtle eggs. The resort kept them in a safe place for the day as they had hatched at dawn. They were released when it was dark and we got to see them head out to sea.

Watersports: By the time we had exhausted the obvious things on offer and started to look at watersports the weather had become a bit unsettled and we didn't use any. However, we met a couple who took the catamaran out everyday with a skipper and sailed amongst the dolphins who hang out very close to the island. Definitely will be something we do on arrival next year!

Facilities: A real bonus for keeping the kids occupied was the sports centre. Whilst most of the day was spent in the sea, the boys never really sit still. The sports centre is great, with badminton (which they played every day), table tennis, squash and a gym.

Things to note: I guess to keep the price down for guests who don't use the extra facilities on offer you do have to pay for some things. e.g. the sports centre is $7 an hour or you can buy an unlimited weeks ticket for $30 ($50 for a couple) but you do then get bottled water free on every visit. A big tip is to take your own snorkelling equipment. It is very expensive to hire from the dive centre.

In summary, unless you are searching for the smartness that accompanies 5* hotels then I don't believe you can do much better than Reethi Beach.
Date of stay: February 2016
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ReethiBeach, General Manager at Reethi Beach Resort, responded to this review
Responded 7 Mar 2016
Dear Suzanne-May3,

We were stunned to read your lovely review and we would like to thank you for taking the time to write it! Moreover we would like to thank you for choosing Reethi Beach over all the 5* Resorts for your family holiday.
We can imagine how much fun it must have been to snorkel every day and then come back and tick off the fish names in your book.
You were very lucky indeed, to see our turtles hatching as this is a very rarely happening event but always a precious one.

Overall, we are delighted to hear that you had such a great time on our island and it would be our great pleasure to welcome you back in 2017 so you can experience our water sports center and who knows, maybe another turtle hatching :)

Sunny regards,

Peter
General Manager
Reethi Beach Resort
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £4,250
  • Trip.com
0.7 miles from Reethi Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    £2,353
  • ZenHotels.com
    £1,914
  • Booking.com
2.5 miles from Reethi Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
£437
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
2.5 miles from Reethi Beach Resort
Odi Kamadhoo Outside View
£123
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £123
  • ZenHotels.com
2.5 miles from Reethi Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £104
  • Priceline
2.6 miles from Reethi Beach Resort
Beachfront
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £73
  • Agoda.com
3.8 miles from Reethi Beach Resort
Get rewarded with One Key
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
    £1,930
  • Expedia.com
    £2,357
3.9 miles from Reethi Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
£1,819
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Trip.com
4.1 miles from Reethi Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Fonimagoodhoo Island
Reviews (3,170)
Filter reviews
3,171 results
Traveller rating
2,283
628
171
55
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,283
628
171
55
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main bar sunset bar water villa fish our honeymoon every night dolphin safari deluxe villa other islands west side sea plane the grill octopus food in the main restaurant room boy room number half board
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,150 - 1,155 of 3,171 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2016 via mobile

We visited Reethi between 22nd Jan and 3rd Feb and we could not have wished for a more perfect cure to the winter blues. Everything about the island is exactly as the reviews state, beautiful, welcoming, well maintained and peaceful.

My husband spends hours planning our holiday and this was no exception the forums have been wonderful for providing us with all the information we could need so thanks to everyone who replied to him!

We stayed in a standard villa for 7 nights and a Watervilla for the final 3, our first bungalow could not have been in a more perfect spot a few steps onto the beach and sun all day long. The ease of having your own sun loungers really is a huge plus and the rooms are kept so clean and tidy. The Watervilla was stunning and it was so amazing to wake up to the view in the mornings. The only thing was the difference in noise as the last two nights we quite windy so you hear the waves crashing just worth bearing in mind if you are a light sleeper! Lovely to have the private balcony with loungers to relax in and we found that by late afternoon it got a bit breezy so we would head off to the lagoon for a swim and then a drink at the sunset bar to wind down!

After a lot of thought we booked the AI select option and I have to say it was worth every penny, to not have to worry about being up in time for the buffet breakfast, to enjoy the beautiful setting of Moodhu for your own choice of breakfast was wonderful, the added bonus of watching a pod of dolphins swim by in our first day added to the magic! We lived being able to switch between all the restaurants and we want to say that the food in every single one is superb, the standards here are really extremely high and I agree with the majority that the butter chicken in Reethi Grill is to die for! We were made to feel so special with little touches from the waiters who remembered your choice of wines and cocktails although working our way through the excellent wine list did keep them on their toes 😄😄

We had drinks in the main bar every evening and again the service was simply superb with a great choice of delicious cocktails, my husband became rather addicted to the Cafe Royales......

We really enjoyed the technical tour it is fascinating to find out what goes on backstage and is it any wonder the whole island runs like clockwork!

I am usually pestered wherever I go with mosquitos and although we had read that there were none I was still not sure enough until we arrived but the staff have worked hard to keep the island free of them and it really is true!

I am not a confident swimmer at all but came prepared with a flotation vest to go with my snorkelling gear and was delighted to be able to merrily spend my time floating out to the edge of the reef and getting up close and personal with such a stunning mix of fish, not having much to compare it to I enjoyed every minute of it and was delighted with what I saw.

We really cannot recommend Reethi highly enough and we keep looking back at the pictures, facebook updates and forum posts longingly wishing we were still there! A huge thank you to all the staff who made us feel so very welcome and well looked after. So question is will we booking again for next year..... Who knows! But if you do decide to go you won't be disappointed.

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
6  Thank seannaholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ReethiBeach, General Manager at Reethi Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2016

Dear seannaholland,

Thank you very much for choosing Reethi Beach for your winter blues escape and of course for writing this lovely review!
It is such a pleasure to read your stunning comments and we are more than happy that you have had enjoyed your stay with us in its entirety.
The Reethi Select option gives you more flexibility indeed, as you are more or less free of any timetable. Therefore, we can imagine how much you must have liked our Moodhu Bar in the morning especially with some dolphins passing by.

We would feel honored to welcoming you back in 2017 for some more Café Royales and one or the other dinner in our Reethi Grill. Did you try the Saima Garden yet? :)

Sunny regards,

Peter
General Manager
Reethi Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2016

We returned to Reethi for the 3rd time in early February and we couldn't fault our 10 nights in a Deluxe Villa near the Sunset Bar. Many Staff genuinely remembered us from last year and our food/drink choices. Mind you, we are a bit 'distinctive' with my curly mop and my husband's very short white/grey hair! We met a few couples from last year and the year before and it was nice to catch up and spend time at the bars (with the perfect Mojito) comparing turtle sightings!

As always, our room was kept spotless and my request for a mattress topper was sorted out within an hour. There were a few of those huge ants round the loo outside, but a large can of Hit! appeared when we mentioned it. The cutely rubbery resident geckos sorted any other little bugs. No mosquitoes, of course, but quite a few biting sand flies this year.

The nightly turndown always involves complicated sheet patterns, but on the evening of my husband's 60th birthday, having received a card from Reethi management in the morning, the bed was decorated beautifully with individual petals and Happy Birthday spelled out with palm leaves. We went to the Moodhu for dinner to find a decorated table and were presented with a bottle of wine, cake and singing afterwards. I know this is what happens for everyone, but it doesn't make it any less special and it's obviously part of the Reethi ethos to make all guests feel that way.

The food was as good, if not better, than last year. We can't comment on the Buffet, but it always looked and smelled amazing, as we had breakfast and lunch at the Moodhu, then alternated between the Moodhu and Reethi Grill for dinner, plus a really lovely Saima Gardens evening. The wine choices were great, as I'm a Marlborough Sauvignon/sparkly fizz girl and husband like his Riojas. It really has to be experienced to capture the atmosphere of dining with your toes in the cool sand, or listening to the waves under the Moodhu. The Staff are all outstanding and friendly.

The beach was really lovely this year; no pumping to spoil the tranquillity. We had a few fun end-of-evening walks along the beach with torches to spot the hermit crabs doing their thing; even had a 'David Attenborough' moment when we watched about 10 crabs line up in size order to swap shells! The stars were incredible as usual.

This year, the snorkeling was amazing; the Reef is improving year on year. We are sure the fish were bigger, bolder and more numerous than last. The spotted rays were cruising about and the huge groupers and the massive Napoleon Fish made their presence felt. One guest, Dave, who's been to Reethi 14 times, said it was like a wardrobe swimming past! We saw a few new species this year and noticed that there were a quite a lot of Titans about too; we gave them a wide berth! We swam with Freddy the turtle on a few occasions and it was such a privilege; my husband also found a much larger turtle near the water villas and mooched about with him for ages. We didn't see an octopus this year though. Next year we might drag ourselves out of the water/bars and onto a few trips to see the Mantas.

Everyone has their own criteria for what makes a perfect Maldivian Island. Reethi ticks all the boxes for us. It's informal, but I can dress up in my maxis for the evening; it caters for everyone, from buffet to silver service, soft drinks to fancy cocktails and top shelf wines and spirits; accommodation choices are excellent; it's truly eco, which we love; the Staff are brilliant; other guests are just really nice, too! We keep looking at other islands, but are already planning our 2017 Reethi return.

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank SunFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ReethiBeach, General Manager at Reethi Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2016

Dear SunFreak,

Thank you very much for visiting us already the third time and of course for taking your time to write this breathtaking review!
We do feel honored that we fulfill all your personal criteria’s for a perfect holiday. Moreover, it is so good to hear, that you felt welcomed by our staff, in particular with our Moodhu Bar waiters on the evening of your husband’s birthday!

It would be great to welcome you again in 2017 back to Reethi Beach, so that you can visit Freddy again! :)

Sunny regards,

Peter
General Manager
Reethi Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2016

Positives
- For the money we paid - absolutely great value for mid-September
- Beach villas and water villas were fantastic and thoroughly enjoyed both
- Staff were absolutely lovely
- Food was delicious - not gourmet - but hearty, well cooked, well flavoured food
- Great house reef and good even for beginners - current can be strong so if not a strong swimmer - life vest helps with confidence - would have liked the buoys to be a bit more visible as these were the routes in and out of the sea.
- We went for the Mantas in Baa Atoll and we saw them!
- Good size island
- Wonderful massages
- Very peaceful
- Own sun loungers on beach when we had a beach villa and when we had a water villa so no fighting for loungers
- Beach and Lagoon were great - no complaints
- Wifi was good
- Night Snorkel was well worth it
- Stingray feeding was not to be missed

Negatives
- Snorkelling trips - the gents leading the snorkel trip could have tried harder to find the manta rays - we were in and out of the water so quickly each time we found the feeding stations we barely had time to look around and the people who lingered in the water hanging around when we were told to get back in the boat saw the mantas who swam away when we first got in. That being said - all local Maldivian staff leading this trip and running the boat were great - a real pleasure
- The sea-plane transfer wasnt as smooth as I would have liked - with hanging around and stopping at other resorts and leaving very early on the day of our flight - not an issue when staying a long time but we only had 5 nights - there was just time unnecessarily wasted

Overall would recommend to others. We are coming back to Maldives but going somewhere 30 mins speedboat ride away and now seduced by water villas with a plunge pool...

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Shabyscooby
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ReethiBeach, General Manager at Reethi Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2016

Dear Shabyscooby,

Thank you very much for visiting Reethi Beach and for rating our hotel.
We are glad to hear that you had generally enjoyed your stay with us! Please be assured that we will pass your comments to the respective departments and especially to our dive school.

Even though you are planning you next trip on a different island, we would be happy to welcome you again one day on Reethi Beach!

Sunny regards,

Peter
General Manager
Reethi Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2016

First visit to the Maldives and it could not have been better. The hotel was spectacular, with everything you could need. From the moment you arrive you are relaxed, no money needed as everything including shop purchases are charged to your room, no shoes required, no dressing up for dinner - shorts and t-shirt are fine. Also, as we had paid the all inclusive supplement which gave two trips free of charge, the sunset cruise and the island visits both were very good. The food is of an exceptional standard and is varied nightly, with some themed nights. We celebrated a birthday at the Moodhu Restaurant again excellent food, but also the staff organised a birthday cake and bottle wine at the end of the meal a surprise to all of us as we had not requested it. The snorkeling on the house reef was great and very safe but you could see some of the fishes in the shallows as well. Our room was on the land a few seconds from the beach, no worrying about beach loungers each room have their own with umbrella. Moonis kept our room spotless and arranged the bed sheet in a different pattern each night. A lovely relaxing time was had by all, and none of us wanted to leave.

Room tip: We stayed in 193 which was in a very good location
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janet0256
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ReethiBeach, General Manager at Reethi Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2016

Dear Janet0256,

Thank you very much for choosing Reethi Beach for your first Maldives holiday and of course for rating our resort.
We are delighted to hear that our team made your holiday memorable, especially the night of the birthday celebration in Moodhu Bar!
We will ensure the feedback is shared with the respective departments and with Moonis from Housekeeping.

We are hoping to have the chance to welcome you again on our island, maybe for the next birthday!

Sunny regards,

Peter
General Manager
Reethi Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2016

Second time at Reethi, travelled with 18 month old. Everything was fantastic, staff were great from Hoda and the guys at breakfast and everyone at Moodhu and the Grill and to the water sports guys, Island is beautiful, rooms are clean and food is great, Catamaran to deserted islands was highlight. Really cannot fault anything
Will definitely go back,

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ReethiBeach, General Manager at Reethi Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2016

Dear MarkLondon80,

We would like to thank you for choosing Reethi Beach for the second time as your holiday destination and for rating our Resort.
We are delighted to hear that you had a great time on our island!
Please be assured that we will share your comments and feedback with the respective departments.

It would be our great pleasure to welcome you again in the near future!

Sunny regards,

Peter
General Manager
Reethi Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews