We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Graham L
London, United Kingdom

REETHI - RELAXATION IN PARADISE

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 Oct 2017
We came for a week before going onto another island. Arrived by sea plane which was a wonderful experience but equally now we have done it and if we are lucky enough to be able to come back I would be happy to go on the domestic flight and speedboat as other guests said it worked out well for them.

Stayed in a beach villa approx. 100m from the sunset bar which worked well with snorkelling on your doorstep. (tip if you intend to snorkel daily bring your own snorkel and flippers as its circa $11-15/day).

The reef on the sunset side can get a little choppy (this seems to be the case on most islands didn't seem to bother most people) however if your not a confident snorkeler it is nice that the dive school do a free snorkel introduction each day which is great to gain confidence.

The beach is simply perfect and the white coral sand didn't seem to get hot and it was beautiful fine sand with no (or very few) lumps of broken coral in it when you walked along - not always the case on islands in Maldives.

The coral is bleached but that seems to be the same all over the Maldives if not the world thanks to el nino but there were still plenty of fish including rays, turtles and shoals of trigger fish.

We decided to go bed and breakfast partly as we both primarily drink wine which is generally not good on all inclusive and also so we could try the different restaurants. It worked well for us as we often feel we end up eating for the sake of it when on all inclusive buffets, We often had a snack lunch by the pool or in Muidhoo (not spelt correctly its been a few weeks now) and then tried the Reethi Grill and Muidhoo in the evening. The fresh fish were so big and only $30 we often shared. With a bottle of wine approx $45 we think it worked out quite well for us.

I have heard other say the rooms are a little tired but we thought that Reethi was totally charming yes there are potentially more modern places around however they come with a corporate feeling -and price unless you are used permanently staying at the 4 Seasons or other 5* places you wont be disappointed with Reethi. We loved it and the food and service were 4 wonderful.

The restaurant staff were extremely friendly and the room cleaner was great.

We did the night snorkel which was a first and really interesting and went on one day time trip where we would have seen a manta ray close up had another snorkeler not decided to dive in front of it and scare it away - oh well more of an excuse to come back!! .Whilst we rarely go back to the same place twice in the case we just might.



.
Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Trip.com
  • Hotels.com
    £4,279
  • Priceline
0.7 miles from Reethi Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
£2,369
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £1,964
  • StayForLong
    £822
  • Trip.com
    £2,097
2.5 miles from Reethi Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
£112
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    £70
2.5 miles from Reethi Beach Resort
£127
  • Expedia.com
    £438
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    £439
2.5 miles from Reethi Beach Resort
Odi Kamadhoo Outside View
£129
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    £122
  • Tripadvisor
    £122
  • ZenHotels.com
2.5 miles from Reethi Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Beachfront
£114
  • Agoda.com
2.5 miles from Reethi Beach Resort
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    £150
  • StayForLong
    £57
  • Hotels.com
    £122
2.6 miles from Reethi Beach Resort
Beachfront
Restaurant
£221
Earn Trip Coins after your stay
  • Vio.com
    £212
2.8 miles from Reethi Beach Resort
£635
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    £677
  • Priceline
    £188
  • Booking.com
    £688
2.8 miles from Reethi Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Fonimagoodhoo Island
Reviews (3,172)
Filter reviews
3,172 results
Traveller rating
2,284
628
171
55
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,284
628
171
55
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main bar sunset bar water villa fish our honeymoon every night dolphin safari deluxe villa other islands west side sea plane the grill octopus food in the main restaurant room boy room number half board
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
811 - 816 of 3,172 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

The place gives a Robinson Crusoe feel in a private yet lively island. Meet a friendly British couple who were also on vacation. Several romantic places for couples and numerous sea adventures. The highlights for me was the fish feeding of the string rays and occasionally a shark can be spotted
Skills in snorkeling and diving can help make your stay memorable though

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank julianm793
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Our whole experience of landing in Male - being transferred to Dharavandhoo by Flyme and then by speedboat to Reethi was really nice fun. If you have a higher budget in mind, then please do try out the sea-plane. That's an exciting adventure by itself.

We were also upgraded to a Deluxe villa upon arrival itself, and that was a wonderful surprise.

The rooms are amazing. The chefs in the restaurants are great and they take care to ensure that all your dietary requirements are met. We especially loved the Moodhoo bar and restaurant.

Lots of stuff to do (or not do - if you want to laze around).

I'm yet to get over the tan and the memories of the place :)

One suggestion - the diving services are very intimidating for a 1st timer. Its filled with experts (staff and customers), so making it a little easier to access very basic information would be great.

Room tip: Deluxe and water villas offer you the best view and proximity to the beach. If you have kids then choose the deluxe villa
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank DSKrishnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Arriving on Reethi Beach now feels like coming home......warm, relaxing, comforting, like that old baggy jumper from the eighties that you couldn't bring yourself to throw away, the one that you used for decorating and now wear in bed when you're ill.
Reethi Beach is a rustic, unpretentious, laid back, well priced Maldivian resort with an exceptional level of customer care with repeat guests aplenty.
As most will be aware RBR is scheduled to close in it's current form in 2020 but that is not stopping the management from maintaining the island to the highest standard. Upon arrival I was struck by how tidy the island looked with trimmed trees and bushes and how tranquil it seemed. Several villas were re-roofed and refurbished whilst we were there with very little noise or disturbance. The gardening team are still removing dead branches and trees on a daily basis and we noticed some maintenance work going on around the pool one evening. So those that say the island is looking tired.....I'm afraid you are wrong.
A few staff have left the island for various reasons and some will be transferring to the new Reethi Faru resort. We did notice that the service in the main restaurant (at breakfast time) was much improved with some new staff and of course, the return of the Reethi egg man! Not just one egg station but TWO!! Many thanks to the two egg men for looking after me.
Many thanks also to Denise.....the table on the beach was perfect. Islam at the Reethi Grill again gets our vote for "employee of our holiday".
Fish life is still amazing with several species not seen by me previously including a solitary bat fish and a few giant trevallys. A couple of dolphins also made a visit to the reef edge.
Not sure what we will do come 2020 to find somewhere as enjoyable. Of course we have 2018 and 2019 before that though.
If you haven't been to Reethi Beach before, book it now whilst you can. As long as you like peace and quiet, fantastic service, great food, you can cope without sunshine butlers and are happy to be barefoot for your entire holiday this will suit you perfectly.
John

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
14  Thank Reethi-John
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Loved every minute of my staff at the beautiful rustic resort, the grounds are well kept and natural. The no shoe policy is something special. We would recommend the sea plane transfers -such an amazing experience and it's very efficient. We had a deluxe reethi villa and it was so sweet. Outdoor rain fall shower was amazing. It was so refreshing to have our very own sunloungers. Seeing the beautiful wildlife so natural in their habit was stunning. They feed the fish every night around 6 and all the stingrays and fish including baby sharks come in for grub and it's such an breathtaking sight.
All restaurants lovely.
Pool was small but perfect when you wanted a little break from the salt water . Overall a very relaxed and romantic destination. Would love to return if I could be so fortunate.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5  Thank dmortx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

Beautiful rustic resort. We stayed in both a deluxe villa which was right on the beach, then moved to a water villa to experience that. Both were great . Fantastic choice of restaurants and one that is 24hours. Beautiful setting at reethi grill and saima garden. Could not fault the food, they truly do an excellent job and nothing is too much trouble for the staff. The resort never felt crowded, is very well maintained and above all relaxing. We will certainly be back.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mje4390
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews