We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hostellerie Bressane
Nearby Hotels
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Rempart(Tournus)
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
US$77
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
60
61
10
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
60
61
10
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewson arrivalmenustournuscookingfrancewines
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 135 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Coming from Calais going to Switzerland, Italy, French Alps or Riviera, it's a good distance: about 7 hours drive. We found it many years ago, going through the Guide Michelin and looking for a good restaurant (2 crossed forks and knives or better) with hotel accomodation in the area between Beaune and Macon. If the weather is nice you eat outside under tree cover. Very good though not too long menu and excellent wine list. Set menus from around €25 to 40. Very good quality, with husband in charge of the kitchen and wife doing restaurant and front of house. You are not expected to dress more than casual.
We've been there at least 10 times and we always look forward to it. Luckily, our friends for whom it was a first, were impressed!
Best for rooms is to ask for one in the 'annexe', which is a row of ground floor rooms: spacious, quiet (behind the hotel so no street noise) and a big bathroom. Park the car just outside your room.
Nice breakfast, with a lot of choice. If you want coffee in your thermos for your next leg, they'll fill up without charge. Room, without breakfast, is €80 per night.

Room Tip: Read my review! For photos look on the web site: hostellerie-bressane.fr
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betseytom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

This was our first visit to La Bressane for about 8 years and it was reassuring to find that this splendid hotel/restaurant is still in good form and safe in the hands of Jean - Francis Beaufays, Maitre Cuisinier de France, and his wife.

One of the advantages of this hotel is its ease of access off the motorway South to Lyon and beyond, and another is the fact that, if you choose to stay in one of the garden rooms at the back of the main building, your car can be left outside your front door giving overnight security so that the whole car does not need to be emptied of cases and valuables.

The rooms are fairly basic and a little tired, but the beds are comfortable and the bathroom very adequate.

The main point of staying here is, though, to enjoy the magnificent cooking of M. Beaufays. Tables are generously spaced and the decor low key and pretty. Orders are taken by Madame Beaufays who speaks good English and is a cheerful and welcoming Hostess. Waitresses and Sommelier are charming, but very correct and professional. This a seriously professional outfit!

The menu majors of course on 'Poulet de Bresse' and it was outstandingly tasty and tender. My rack of lamb was also excellent, perfectly pink and garnished with a delicious croute made of nuts and herbs.

Breakfast is served in a separate room and although expensive at 11 euros a head it was plentiful and kept us going until the evening as we travelled further South.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank suburbanite12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We enjoyed an overnight stay on our way South, and booked a junior suite which was upstairs in the separate garden block, so very quiet. The room was amazing, extremely spacious and beautifully furnished with a modern and stylish bathroom with very large corner bath with shower over, twin basins etc, separate WC. Unusually for France there was even a kettle in the room and tea bags!
The restaurant was very busy and extremely good, with first-class service. The set menu at 30 Euros for 3 courses was excellent, including a wonderful hot souffle for dessert - the real test for a kitchen.
We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Splash out for a junior suite in the garden - very luxurious.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judi4jam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

A really nice property, with lovely staff. We stayed here en route to the south for one night in a garden room that was large, clean and very comfortable inside with it's own table and chairs under a veranda outside. A big plus was being able to park our car outside the room in a secure off road location.
Dinner was wonderful served in a delightful dining room, the staff were excellent and the food & wine superb. Breakfast was also one of the best we have encountered on our travels in France
Would definitely recommend staying here, we will certainly return

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanssis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We stayed here for the food which was very good and the service excellent both at dinner and breakfast. Our room was at the back of the main building and was spacious and comfortable. If you like sleeping with the windows open (there is a/c), there is noise from the road. We had major problems with the wifi, apparently due to interference from the gendarmerie nationale building next door. This also seemed to be the cause of problems on some TV channels.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterBeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews