We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Property lovely and central - NO MEANINGFUL WIFI”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Domaine de Camiole
Reviewed 10 May 2014

A lovely property and relatively central to Provence. We visited Avignon, NIce (several times), Monaco, Cannes, and a lot of pretty small Provence towns in our 9 day stay. Villas was lovely and private, with very nice mid-sized pool for kids to enjoy, and larger heated pool in center of property, gym and spa. Housekeeping service was good, and laundry on premises -critical for a long stay as ours. However - they say they have WIFI - DO NOT BELIEVE THIS! It was dail- up to a wall installation in the hallway, and even this did not work at times. It took several service calls to get this right - finally on the very last day we were there. Heard this compliant from a lot of families - so it was not just our villa. Front desk - the usual French sniffiness and unhelpful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GillyzFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

I didn’t stay here but visited the spa and couldn’t believe my eyes. It is described in the brochure as a “true haven of peace”. The pool was full of screaming children, jumping off the side, diving in, throwing polystyrene floaters and water at each other. As I swam up and down they didn’t hesitate to jump off the side or dive in where I was trying to swim, totally unsupervised. I didn’t see any signs of a lifeguard or any other staff on duty in the pool area the whole time I was there. The children also used the jacuzzi and steam room and at least the adolescents, the sauna also, apparently without any restrictions.
The floor of the changing rooms was completely covered in significant quantities of water and extremely slippery. They were not cleaned nor the floor dried while I was there, the dustbins were overflowing and there was no soap or even toilet paper.
When I bought the entries to the spa I was told that I had to reserve in advance as numbers would be very limited to ensure a good experience for everyone. The receptionist on the day told me that anyone from the residence was allowed in and that she did intend to clean the changing rooms later. Clearly the management’s policy is very confused. I wouldn’t have a problem with anyone being allowed to use the pool but that should have been clear upfront and there was apparently no supervision or respect for the normal rules applicable to an open swimming pool.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Francetraveller24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marie_mmv, Responsable relations clients at Residence Domaine de Camiole, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Hello,

Thank you for taking time to post your review about the Spa.
From your comments we understand you did not choose to experience the massages of the Spa, but just took some information and some time in the swimming pool.

The pool is opened to families staying in the Resort, on dedicated hours only, when the exterior temperatures do not allow to use exterior swimming pools. This is why you saw children having fun, probably with their parents around. As a private swimming pool, a life guard is not mandatory. The children are under their parents supervision only.
However, children are absolutely not allowed in jacuzzi or sauna: thank you for pointing this out, we will make sure it will not happen again.
When the pool is not opened to families, it is very quiet and calm as you were expecting it, which our staff might have explained.

Regarding the cleaning of the changing rooms, it is taken care of every night or every morning by our staff, unfortunately we do not always have time during the day to dry the floors.

We are sorry to read you were disappointed by our Spa but hope you had a good stay in Pays de Fayence.

Best regards,

The Customer Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment that was on the top floor, but we had a lift so no complaints there. Basic, but very clean with a balcony and outdoor furniture,lovely view across the valley. i agree with previous comments the pillows were the hardest i have slept on but the beds were comfortable. Breakfast was good for 8 euros, cereal, and the usual croissants, ect (lovely and fresh) yogurts,cold meat ,cheese and hot scrambled eggs with sausage and bacon which was a nice suprise. it was a buffet so you could fill up as often as you liked and we did !! The only downside to the resort is the VERY steep hill up to reception and the restaurant.Good location though and the countryside is beautiful.Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hellokittyPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

We found this accommodation at the last minute and were really excited about our 5* chateau retreat! We couldn't check in until 3, and reception was closed so we couldn't leave bags, so we came back at 4 and waited until 530pm (in 40' heat, and bar closed) to check in. Then discovered the apartment was small, balcony non-existent, and we were at the top of 4 flights of slippery stairs (raining) which my mum could barely navigate and stayed in the room for 2 days. All the rooms are on top of each other so when it's busy you'd know about it. We couldn't get a seat by the pool, we couldn't get a table for dinner, we couldn't get wifi outside reception which was usually closed. If you got a private pool villa it could be ok, but if you don't like European resorts with all day activities and kids clubs - don't go!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katleesav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Apartment was clean and functional (stayed in a 2-bedroom). Everything is ok but nothing special and I would not have stayed a week or two. Good location if you want to explore the cities around (Grasse etc.). The view from the apartment terrace/balcony can vary very much depending on which apartment you get, so if you like to enjoy some time on your terrace/balcony especially during a longer stay it might be worth trying to request for an apartment situated on a high level on the residence (the residence is on a slope) with a view. The price is anyhow the same for same size of apartment. A few nice restaurants in Callian (especially Au Rendez-vous), but you need a car. Pools clean and were not overcrowded in July. The pillows were much too high and hard (there were no options), we had to make our own ones from towels..

Room Tip: High level with view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JUlrikaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I have stayed at the beautiful Resort in July. I booked because some friends were staying close by and it was a last minute booking. The pictures on the Website of the resort were not promising but there was not much choice. My first impression by arrival was positive. The resort seemed to be much better that the Website was showing. The receptionist were very kind and although the english skills were not that good but all staff was very friendly, I finally could check in after 20 min.
The room I got was very nice and clean. I could have stayed a bit longer but had no time. The restaurant was disappointing and looked like a banquet hall. Unfortunately I couldn´t find an alternative. The pools were ok and refreshing. I suggest by a late arrival to bring some drinks and food with you. All in all I had a great stay and can recommend the resort.

Room Tip: Take some food and drinks with you for the first night. The resort is quite even though they had a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEMKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This facility is a bit down the road from Callian and we booked it as a "bridge location" between arrival and a longer stay closer to the sea.

This was a pleasant surprise!

It's a newly built facility pretty much along the lines of a small French town and offer a wide variety of accommodations, the one we were in with a family of 5 was perfect, well equipped, new feel and spotless.

The pool area is great with a (sort of) infinity pool and a small bar/restaurant poolside. There is also a proper restaurant on the property.

There are tons of things to do in the area and it's a perfect second location if you want to combine it with another stay seaside.

I'd recommend having access to a rental car (ample parking available) since it's quite a steep walk up to the city :-)

Friendly staff and luxury feel. What more can you ask for?!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callian
2.8 mi away
Moulin de la Camandoule
2.8 mi away
Lagrange Prestige Domaine de Fayence
2.5 mi away
Le Mas Nomade
Le Mas Nomade
#2 of 2 in Callian
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Les Tourterelles
Les Tourterelles
#3 of 6 in Callian
1 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chambres d'hotes Carpe Diem
0.6 mi away
Auberge des Mourgues
Auberge des Mourgues
#5 of 6 in Callian
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Domaine de Camiole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Domaine de Camiole

Address: 991 route de Fayence, 83440 Callian, France (Formerly Résidence Le Château de Camiole)
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Var > Callian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Callian
Price Range: £29 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Domaine de Camiole 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Domaine de Camiol , completely air-conditioned, has a 7-hectare garden overlooking the green countryside of Fayence, between Côte d'Azur et Provence . You can choose between a room, an apartment (from studios to 4-rooms) or even a private villa with parking, garden and private swimming pool. Free Wi-Fi is available everywhere in the Residence. The Residence has an infinity pool, a paddling pool and a Spa with a heated indoor pool, a jacuzzi, a sauna, a hammam, and a fitness center. An underground car park is available with extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Stayforlong S.L., Fastbooking, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Residence Domaine de Camiole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Camiole Resort And Spa
Chateau De Camiole Hotel Callian
Residence Domaine De Camiole Callian, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing