We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel in lovely area - food is beautiful, if expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Le Commerce
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Amou
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel in lovely area - food is beautiful, if expensive”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

As Amou is a very small town, there are limitations in your choice of places to stay, but you shouldn't be disappointed here.

Staff are friendly and helpful, but as per a lot of places in this area of France, the ability to speak at least some French is a distinct advantage! The hotel itself is well situated and easy to find, with plenty of parking available close by. Rooms are large enough, clean and well maintained - and excellent value for money at less than 70 Euros per night. A word of advice if you plan to arrive between 3 and 6 pm - discuss how you are going to get your key, as no-one is around at this time (I had a local contact with access to the hotel and the key had been left out for us). Although meals are not served until 07.30/19.30, I needed an early breakfast and the owners were quite willing to accommodate. The hotel was quite busy during my stay, but there were no problems at all with noise, so sleep quality is very good (unless you indulge a bit too much in all the good food and wine!).

The eating terrace is beautiful, as is the food; judging by how busy the restaurant got, it must be the place to eat around here! Try the local delicacies such as foie gras, confit gizzard and various cuts of duck, and you won't be disappointed, though you will certainly pay for them... Also, if you have a long day ahead, plan for a meal after breakfast, as the petit dejeuner is very petit - a croissant, a small bit of French bread and an orange juice won't keep you fuelled all morning!

All in all, if you are in the area, I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rednap36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    26
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
31
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SpainSpain
Level Contributor
157 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Amou is a small town in south-west of France.
The Hotel du Commerce is a great place for a pleasant stay and see the surroundings. Has good rooms fully renovated bathroom, tv etc. and has, above all, a wonderful kitchen that can be seen in the dining room or, in the days of summer in its magnificent terrace.
Those who are traveling to be thinking this part of France, provilegiado for its climate and its people this is a recommended site. Oh, and if possible make your stay with a match Sunday: a street market of regional products is presented by its artisans. Genuine.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RPVSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Stayed one night whilst on a cycling holiday with friends. We arrived at 1500 to discover the hotel didn't open till 1800, but the tourist board got in touch with the owner who soon appeared to welcome us in. That's what I call good customer service.

Accommodation fine though nothing special, but the meal in the restaurant was about the best on our trip. Absolutely excellent French provincial cooking - what a find!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesrmLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
196 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We dined at Madame Darracq's restaurant and it was superb experience. Sensational service and outstanding food. Highly recommended. It's a long way from Australia but we will be back!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveA22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pau, France
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

I have known this hotel for years, having stayed there first in 1997 just prior to moving to the area. For 12 years the restaurant became our 'local canteen'. Since I have moved to another part of SW France 100kms away, it has become a base for visiting friends in the area.

You can be assured of a very warm welcome from Sylvie Darracq and her team, some of whom have never worked for anyone but 'the family'. The rooms have been beautifully updated over the past few years and are now well above the standard one would normally expect from a small country hotel, and at around 70€ are excellent value.

The restaurant is run with loving care by Sylvie's husband, Jean-Jacques. The menu is what I would describe as 'sophisticated regional'. Lots of foie gras and duck, but a wide choice of other things as well - the Rouget is to die for as is the chocolate Mousse! Everything is locally sourced wherever possible. Totally unpretentious, and the set menu at 15€ represents excellent value. Good wine list - go for the local wines especially the Tursan. If you like Armagnac, ask for their 'house' variety which you can't buy elsewhere.

Le Commerce has been in the same family for over 200 years and it shows! Situated in a lovely little-known area in the southern Landes called la Chalosse it has everything. Peaceful village which offers the best of French village life including a fun Sunday market and very lively fêtes in the summer, loads to do and see in the area, and a little further afield, only about an hour and a half away from both the mountains and the sea. But don't tell everyone, or next time we won't get a room!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seel_peta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amou
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Au Feu de Bois
6.7 mi away
Hotel Des Lacs D'Halco
Hotel Des Lacs D'Halco
#1 of 1 in Hagetmau
95 reviews
8.3 mi away
Auberge du Relais
Auberge du Relais
#1 of 1 in Berenx
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Hotel aux Tauzins
Hotel aux Tauzins
#1 of 1 in Montfort-en-Chalosse
38 reviews
7.6 mi away
Kyriad Orthez
Kyriad Orthez
#1 of 1 in Orthez
47 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotellerie La Petite Couronne
Hotellerie La Petite Couronne
#1 of 1 in Saint-Cricq-Chalosse
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Le Commerce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Le Commerce

Property: Hotel Restaurant Le Commerce
Address: 2 Place de la Poste, 40330 Amou, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Landes > Amou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Amou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Restaurant Le Commerce 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel welcomes you in its 15 rooms(chambers) 2 stars. You will live(lie) in a quiet and sophisticated(refined) frame(executive) where the pleasure to receive is perceptible. Chalosse, hilly and standing of various botanical species, contrasts with the big forest of pines. Come to get fresh ideas to Amou, land of plenty, at one o'clock of the sea and the mountain where from the escape towards the coast(rib), Spain and Pyrenees is easy(well-to-do). " A name since five generations ... " A magic place where Sylvie, Jean-Jacques and their team welcome you in hosts. Very quickly, you will feel comfortable, almost as at your home(with you). Here the atmosphere is friendly, the permanent smile, and user-friendliness(conviviality) rhymes with simplicity. An authentic and generous cooking(kitchen) will be served to you in a warm, outside(terrace) frame(executive) the summer and in the corner(place) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Le Commerce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing