We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable stay after a tiring workday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dotties Place Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 24 Butuan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I came to Butuan for a 5-day fieldwork filled with endless road-travel and tiring days. Thanks to the clean and relaxing Dottie's Place, I was able to taste a bit of fun for the week.

Their staff are warm and accommodating.
The food is, well I guess, average.
The rooms are clean.
The swimming pool is nice.
The lighting is good.
Good wifi

Very accessible to all your needs :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank gbs09288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

Glad my stay was only only for an overnight accommodation. First I was given a room at the very end of the hotel, upon entering turned on the a/c unit but after approx an hour it was not yet cooling so i requested that I be transferred to another. The new room likewise has an old dilapidated a/c unit, barely cooling but not as bad as the previous one. The linen are likewise dilapidated with holes in it the towel is yellowish. Butuan has an early PAL flight and i cant arranged for an early breakfast. The hotel staff said that the breakfast will be served 6:30am sharp. So I waited, 6:45am and breakfast was not yet ready. Left the hotel without any breakfast as i might be late for my flight.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Rafael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Pity how a once great place can turn so bad. Lack of maintenance was apparent shining in the eye: windows with a broken lock, shower in need of a fix, producing smelly water (although that can be issue with the Butuan water company), bathtub I am not going to use due to it's state, water leaking at the fountain (wife slipped and fell), towels not really clean. And of all,alousy internet connection which is for business trips absolute required to be excellent.
That's the infrastructure.
Personnel was helpful and friendly, good point but doesn't cover for the bad state the hotel is in. The breakfast was ok, strangely no continental breakfast served and 'sunny side up' means one side fried eggs,not both sides.

Room Tip: Test the aircon on noise before taking a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Ger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

I booked over the phone for 14days for a family short vacation.Our first night was terrible.We see cockroaches running the room, cobwebs everywhere and the cabinets tables and the floor were all very dusty.Even 2 glasses prepared in the table were all dusty and smelly.The room was quite big with a bath tub.For that long stay they should prepare the room and clean but it seems nobody was supervising the cleaners.We transferred to different room @ midnight without any help with our suitcases.A Smaller room but I thought it was cleaned enough but in the early morning I found the bathroom undersink was full of cockroaches.From then we transferred again for the 3rd time.We requested to see the manager but the staff were saying that the manager was not around not even a supervisor.We deposited 10thou pesos when we checked in and we dont want to make any problem and fight with them.This place is disgusting with all the cockroaches in everyroom! The swimming pool was so dirty frogs were swimming at night and the water was so dark.Rooms soooo dirty even after cleaning.No supervision at all!Breakfast just egg fried rice and pasta (bihon). Never never comeback anymore.We transferred to Inland hotel.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
5  Thank sheilburz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This looks like a decent hotel, but lacks either the will or management to be one. The first room we checked into had no hot water and a huge hole in the bathtub rendering it unusable. Well, OK, we've spent time in the Philippines before and realize that standards can be different there. We call the desk in the morning and, after much back and forth, are promised a better room and that we will be charged a lower rate for the night we spend in the defective one. Only problem is that, hours later when we finally get the new room, it's worse than the old one; smaller with two tiny beds instead of one big one and no bathtub at all. So we call the desk again to complain and are told, sorry, no other rooms available but we will be moved as soon as one is. Eventually we ARE moved, much later that evening, but the room is only marginally better. We give up, it's our last night and we don't to make a third move. At checkout the next morning, what a surprise; no one seems to remember their promise of a lower rate for that first night, even after numerous phone calls to higher-ups. In the end, I refused to pay the higher rate and told them, if they have a problem with that, to send me a bill. To their credit, they have not. Needless to say, we won't be staying there again.

Room Tip: Check out the room in advance and don't believe anything they tell you, it's just what they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

average place but staff are very helpful. didn't have a phone in my room. i think the place is overdue for a refurbishing due to its tired lockers & furniture (inside the room) as well as the toilet and shower i think a lot needed to be done to re-energise the place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sime918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Appreciated getting a room on short notice, but not at the cost. Went to Dottie's Place on a recommendation of "best in Butuan City." A sad commentary on the state of local hotels. Air conditioner was anemic, half the lights burned out, room was right on the highway, with accompanying traffic noise all night, breakfast menu not just extremely limited but also dried out and at ambient outside temperature. The dinner in the restaurant was quite good. The best thing about Dottie's was the friendly, helpful maintenance and security staff; the front desk staff couldn't care less.

Room Tip: Make reservations well in advance, ask for a room well away from the highway in front, be prepared t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Panda1098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Butuan hotels
0.3 mi away
Go Hotels Butuan
Go Hotels Butuan
#3 of 9 in Butuan
84 reviews
0.1 mi away
Almont Inland Resort
Almont Inland Resort
#4 of 9 in Butuan
146 reviews
0.6 mi away
Watergate Hotel
Watergate Hotel
#1 of 9 in Butuan
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Butuan Grand Palace Hotel
2 mi away
Amaris Suite
Amaris Suite
#7 of 9 in Butuan
10 reviews
1.3 mi away
Almont City Hotel
Almont City Hotel
#6 of 9 in Butuan
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dotties Place Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dotties Place Hotel and Restaurant

Address: JC Aquino Avenue, Butuan, Mindanao, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mindanao > Agusan del Norte Province > Butuan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Butuan
Price Range: £25 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dotties Place Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dotties Place Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dottie`s Place Hotel Butuan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing