We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cycling trip from Mull of Galloway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Drummore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mull of Galloway Holidays
Ranked #1 of 4 Drummore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Great B&B at East Muntloch Croft!
Diane and John were extremely friendly and helpful, and gave us lifts to get evening meals as we were travelling by bike!,as well as taking Eve to Stranraer to get new bike tyres!
Our room had 2 easy chairs with a fantastic view down to the Mull of Galloway.
A great area to explore by bike! and a great B&B!

Room Tip: front room with great views!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sceniccyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland-on-Sunday, Owner at Mull of Galloway Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Thank you for the great review, very much appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
There are newer reviews for Mull of Galloway Holidays
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

108 - 114 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

thankyou diane and john we had a great holiday at auld smiddy cottage, it was home from home the cottage is fantastic and so cosy, highly recomended.there was so much to see and do around the area ,and we hope to return at a future date.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffreyg266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland-on-Sunday, Owner at Mull of Galloway Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review for us, they really help our business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This is a lovely B&B. We had the larger of the two rooms with a beautiful view down to the Lighthouse. In a quiet spot approximatey 2 miles from the lighthouse on the Mull. Warm, friendly atmosphere. Diane and John are a friendly, helpful couple who will go out of their way to make your stay an enjoyable one. Good breakfasts and very comfortable accommodation. The rooms and en suites are immaculately clean. Yhe power shower is fantastic as a 'wake up' in the morning. Highly recommended. We were only staying for three nights but hope to pay another visit as soon as we can. Lovely area of Scotland.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RUSSELL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland-on-Sunday, Owner at Mull of Galloway Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Thank you for the really good review you have written for us, it really helps our business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

But we were lucky enough to have a fantastic clear view in the morning. Brilliant B&B (and we have stayed in many) - everything you could want in the room and for breakfast. Diane was friendly and efficient - just what we needed after a tedious day's travelling.

Having travelled through the area a lot (going to the ferry), we are, at long last, thinking we might come back to stay a bit longer. Now, that's a recommendation!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LincolnTufty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland-on-Sunday, Owner at Mull of Galloway Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this really good review for us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed here 6th & 7th Sept 2013 after spending a few days traveling around after revisiting Gretna Green For Our First Wedding Anniversary.
On arrival, we were greeted by Diane, who helped us get our belongings to our room.
We stayed in the 2nd room as the 1st room had been booked.
What a lovely room in a beautiful B&B, with all the extra's that you would expect - PLUS more.
Orange Juice, selection of Teabags & Coffee's, a Jug of fresh Milk every day, cakes, chocolate bars, even sweets.
The Location with the stunning views are simply breathe taking.
Diane Is such a delightful lady, very friendly & NOTHING was too much trouble.
Her Breakfasts were absolutely amazing - we're still "Stuffed" a day later!
Thanks very much Diane for a Fantastic Stay, we simply can't recommend enough.
Just wish we could have stayed longer.
Nigel & Shelly

Room Tip: Front Room Has The Best View, But you won't be disappointed in the 2nd room.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corsanomix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland-on-Sunday, Owner at Mull of Galloway Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Thank you for the great review you have given us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Everything about this property was outstanding. The owners John & Diane were so helpful, kind & always available if you needed them. I would truly recommend this & I can assure you, you will not be disappointed. There is so very much to do & see in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Popsypops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland-on-Sunday, Owner at Mull of Galloway Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Thank you for the great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Just got back from a week at this beautiful location and holiday let and cannot praise it enough. We've stayed in many places over the years, but this was exceptionally good. We enjoyed the peace and quiet and miles of beautiful countryside which we viewed from the lovely conservatory. The cottage was very well equipped and furnished with a lovely comfy king size bed and reclining leather sofas along with every home comfort you could wish for.

We took our 11 year old Border Collie with us and he was welcomed by Diane & John. Nothing was too much bother - they were the perfect hosts.

If you want a wild week way partying in a lively location then this is NOT for you!! However, if you want some peace, comfort and relaxation I cannot recommend this place highly enough. We will definitely be back for some more Auld Smiddy style therapy!!!

Thanks to Diane & John for a truly wonderful and unforgettable week. xxx

Room Tip: Make sure you fill up with petrol as it's quite remote! Nearest petrol stations are at Stranra...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eps63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland-on-Sunday, Owner at Mull of Galloway Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Thank you so much for the great review for Auld Smiddy Cottage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drummore
15.3 mi away
The Portpatrick Hotel
The Portpatrick Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
530 reviews
15.2 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 5 in Portpatrick
336 reviews
17.4 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Stranraer
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Tigh Na Mara Hotel
Tigh Na Mara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sandhead
201 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hawthorn House
Hawthorn House
#1 of 1 in Port William
199 reviews
12.3 mi away
Torrs Warren Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mull of Galloway Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mull of Galloway Holidays

Address: Cairngaan Road,, Drummore DG9 9HN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Mull of Galloway > Drummore
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Drummore
Price Range: £54 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Muntloch Croft Bed & Breakfast, Scotland's most southerly point - Mull of Galloway. One ensuite bedroom/sitting room and one twin ensuite. Special diets catered for. Sorry no pets at B & B due to own pets. Breakfast served early, late or later to suit you. Excellent views to the sea, mull of galloway and Isle of Man on clear day from B & B. Free Wi fi access. Glen Auchie Holiday Cottage - two bedrooms, one double room and one twin room, bathroom with bath and walk in shower, fully equipped kitchen, sitting room and conservatory. Sea Views. Pet friendly! Auld Smiddy - sleeps 2, log fire! This cottage is on 3 levels, open plan. You can lie in bed and look down at the glowing fire. Conservatory, kitchen, sittingroom, bathroom with showe in bath, back porch. Short breaks welcome. Sea Views. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing