We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Galloway Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mull of Galloway Holidays
Ranked #1 of 3 Drummore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Galloway Gem”
Reviewed 19 September 2010

We have just returned from spending a week at the Auld Smiddy cottage. Its a lovely cosy cottage in a beautiful area. Just what we needed to re-charge our batteries. We had company of cows, deer and small birds which were all spotted from the conservatory. It was a great place to rest after a day walking or visiting the nearby gardens and beaches.The comfy leather 'lazyboy' type sofas in front of a roaring fire were perfect for bookreading on those rainy days. Thanks to Diane and John and Andrew, I'm sure we will be back

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Culla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
115
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2010

We spent Monday 30/08/10 to Friday 03/09/10 at the 'Auld Smiddy' cottage.
We had glorious weather, stayed in a beautiful cottage with stunning scenery & fabulous hosts, what more could you wish for.? My chap took some fishing equipment and fished off the seven mile beach (bait bought locally) while I walked the dogs or sat in the conservatory with a glass of wine looking out to sea and across to the lighthouse & I.O.M. Walking and cycling is also good on the peninsula. By car Port Logan & Port Patrick are a must and only a short journey away. The nearest village is Drummore it's just two miles away and has a post office, visitors centre, general store and pub... Oh and a phone box useful if you need to call home as we could not get a signal on the mobile which just added to the tranquility of the place. Diane & John are happy to help out though should you need them. A highlight of the holiday was watching a buzzard try to pinch lunch off a peregrin falcon (unsucessfully) and the visit to Ardwell gardens, which has a lake, walled gardens even deer in the woodland (magical). The fields surrounding the cottage are full off cattle and sheep, early in the morning deer can be seen feeding. You can get fresh eggs 100 yards up the lane & seed for the bird feeder in the local shop - buy some you will not be sorry. Happy Holidays......!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Falcon001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2010

We stayed in the Auld Smiddy Cottage at the end of August and couldn't recommend it enough.
The hosts Diane & John are very warm & welcoming and the cottage is absolutely charming and has everything you could possible need to make your stay comfortable and is also very clean.
The views over the Mull are breathtaking especially from the conservatory and the bedroom. We saw several deer whilst sitting sipping wine in the conservatory.! We are staying in Glen Auchie cottage next door next year which is also owned by Diane & John and some friends are staying in Auld Smiddy, we can't wait to go back.
There is also plenty to do and see in the area i.e. Logan Botanical Gardens, Portpatrick etc.
All in all well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahCLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2010

had a lovely week here in May. the cottage was home from home. In fact, there were things in the kitchen that I didn't have at home !!
Beautiful cottage in beautiful location.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pongosmum_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkby Stephen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2010

Glen Auchie cottage provides absolutely eveything you could possibly think of! Beautiful location, nice and quiet, Rooms are very comfortable and nicely furnished. There is loads of places to visit if you like gardens. Would and have recommended this cottage.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alandlynda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland-on-Sunday, Owner at Mull of Galloway Holidays, responded to this review, 6 September 2010
Thank you very much for the great review for Glen Auchie Cottage, very much appreciated. Diane & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

I stayed at "Auld Smiddy" Cottage with my 2 dogs for 1 week and we enjoyed ourselves tremendously. Very spacious, clean & very well stocked cottage which is situated in a lovely spot with views of the sea & lighthouse in the distance. Easy to get to most places. Lots to do and see. The owners, Diane & John, are very friendly and helpful. Will be going back and have already spread the word to my colleagues.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Popsypops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

very warm welcome, beautifull house with outstanding views. very quiet, would highly recomend a stay if you like the peace and quiet or just need to recharge your batteries. we loved our stay and will be going back.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biggee1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland-on-Sunday, Owner at Mull of Galloway Holidays, responded to this review, 26 August 2010
Thank you for the great review on Tripadvior, very much appreciated. Diane & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drummore
13.4 mi away
Knockinaam Lodge
Knockinaam Lodge
#2 of 5 in Portpatrick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hawthorn House
Hawthorn House
#1 of 1 in Port William
5.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
10.3 mi away
Tigh Na Mara Hotel
Tigh Na Mara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sandhead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Torrs Warren Country House Hotel
15.1 mi away
The Harbour House Hotel
The Harbour House Hotel
#7 of 14 in Portpatrick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
18.2 mi away
Thornbank House
Thornbank House
#1 of 24 in Stranraer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mull of Galloway Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mull of Galloway Holidays

Property: Mull of Galloway Holidays
Address: Cairngaan Road,, Drummore DG9 9HN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Mull of Galloway > Drummore
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Drummore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mull of Galloway Holidays 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Muntloch Croft Bed & Breakfast, Scotland's most southerly point - Mull of Galloway. One ensuite bedroom/sitting room and one twin ensuite. Special diets catered for. Sorry no pets at B & B due to own pets. Breakfast served early, late or later to suit you. Excellent views to the sea, mull of galloway and Isle of Man on clear day from B & B. Free Wi fi access. Glen Auchie Holiday Cottage - two bedrooms, one double room and one twin room, bathroom with bath and walk in shower, fully equipped kitchen, sitting room and conservatory. Sea Views. Pet friendly! Auld Smiddy - sleeps 2, log fire! This cottage is on 3 levels, open plan. You can lie in bed and look down at the glowing fire. Conservatory, kitchen, sittingroom, bathroom with showe in bath, back porch. Short breaks welcome. Sea Views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mull of Galloway Holidays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing