We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not be bettered”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Drummore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mull of Galloway Holidays
Ranked #1 of 4 Drummore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Staying with John, Diane and Andrew was like being with family. The welcome by son Andrew was just brilliant, although he was in the middle of baking. Situation is perfect and we enjoyed being able to walk from the house into glorious unspoiled countryside with friendly folk met on the way to talk to. We have stayed in many B & Bs around the world but Diane and Johns really is world class and we have no hesitation in recommending this place to anyone. Highlight was sitting on the small beach just before the Mull Lighthouse, being watched by and watching a pair of seals just feet away from us,
There was plenty of local information available and Diane gives tips on eating out which were spot on when we tried them.
We will certainly try and spend more time the next visit and most likely in one of their cottages.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swiscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

165 - 171 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2010

Our stay in this B&B was simply perfect.
Bedroom and bathroom are spacious, clean and comfortable.
Everything we needed/wanted was there: tea/coffee facilities, bathroom facilities, depliants and brochures on what to do and see, local restaurant menus and prices...
Breakfast was impressive as well: lots to choose, very good quality.
Owner Diane is very friendly and helpful and, last but not least, the view from the room to the Mull of Galloway is breath-taking (site pictures don't lie!).
We were totally satisfied, hope to go back there someday...

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Panilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

Great breakfast, great room and great view for a small price.
The owner, Diane, is very friendly and helpful.
I hope to come back in this b&b a.s.a.p.!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laricciola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

We have just returned from spending a week at the Auld Smiddy cottage. Its a lovely cosy cottage in a beautiful area. Just what we needed to re-charge our batteries. We had company of cows, deer and small birds which were all spotted from the conservatory. It was a great place to rest after a day walking or visiting the nearby gardens and beaches.The comfy leather 'lazyboy' type sofas in front of a roaring fire were perfect for bookreading on those rainy days. Thanks to Diane and John and Andrew, I'm sure we will be back

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Culla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2010

We spent Monday 30/08/10 to Friday 03/09/10 at the 'Auld Smiddy' cottage.
We had glorious weather, stayed in a beautiful cottage with stunning scenery & fabulous hosts, what more could you wish for.? My chap took some fishing equipment and fished off the seven mile beach (bait bought locally) while I walked the dogs or sat in the conservatory with a glass of wine looking out to sea and across to the lighthouse & I.O.M. Walking and cycling is also good on the peninsula. By car Port Logan & Port Patrick are a must and only a short journey away. The nearest village is Drummore it's just two miles away and has a post office, visitors centre, general store and pub... Oh and a phone box useful if you need to call home as we could not get a signal on the mobile which just added to the tranquility of the place. Diane & John are happy to help out though should you need them. A highlight of the holiday was watching a buzzard try to pinch lunch off a peregrin falcon (unsucessfully) and the visit to Ardwell gardens, which has a lake, walled gardens even deer in the woodland (magical). The fields surrounding the cottage are full off cattle and sheep, early in the morning deer can be seen feeding. You can get fresh eggs 100 yards up the lane & seed for the bird feeder in the local shop - buy some you will not be sorry. Happy Holidays......!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Falcon001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2010

We stayed in the Auld Smiddy Cottage at the end of August and couldn't recommend it enough.
The hosts Diane & John are very warm & welcoming and the cottage is absolutely charming and has everything you could possible need to make your stay comfortable and is also very clean.
The views over the Mull are breathtaking especially from the conservatory and the bedroom. We saw several deer whilst sitting sipping wine in the conservatory.! We are staying in Glen Auchie cottage next door next year which is also owned by Diane & John and some friends are staying in Auld Smiddy, we can't wait to go back.
There is also plenty to do and see in the area i.e. Logan Botanical Gardens, Portpatrick etc.
All in all well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahCLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

had a lovely week here in May. the cottage was home from home. In fact, there were things in the kitchen that I didn't have at home !!
Beautiful cottage in beautiful location.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pongosmum_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Mull of Galloway Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mull of Galloway Holidays

Address: Cairngaan Road,, Drummore DG9 9HN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Mull of Galloway > Drummore
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Drummore
Price Range: £25 - £29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Muntloch Croft Bed & Breakfast, Scotland's most southerly point - Mull of Galloway. One ensuite bedroom/sitting room and one twin ensuite. Special diets catered for. Sorry no pets at B & B due to own pets. Breakfast served early, late or later to suit you. Excellent views to the sea, mull of galloway and Isle of Man on clear day from B & B. Free Wi fi access. Glen Auchie Holiday Cottage - two bedrooms, one double room and one twin room, bathroom with bath and walk in shower, fully equipped kitchen, sitting room and conservatory. Sea Views. Pet friendly! Auld Smiddy - sleeps 2, log fire! This cottage is on 3 levels, open plan. You can lie in bed and look down at the glowing fire. Conservatory, kitchen, sittingroom, bathroom with showe in bath, back porch. Short breaks welcome. Sea Views. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing