We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy cottage - perfect hosts!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Drummore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mull of Galloway Holidays
Ranked #1 of 4 Drummore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2010

We stayed at the Auld Smiddy with our spaniel for a week in mid-October and could not have been better pleased with the cottage. A stunning setting - cows to the right of us, sheep to the left of us and a view from the conservatory out over three miles of rolling open countryside down to the lighthouse and the Irish Sea. The cottage was immaculate, extremely comfortable & snug and had been so thoughtfully kitted out that we wanted for nothing. The village of Drummore is two miles away and has a good village shop, a post office, two pubs & a cafe. There were plenty of places of interest to visit within a short drive and highlights for us were Logan Botanical Gardens and also Port Logan Fish Pond. The owners Diane & John Gilmore were so warm & friendly and it has to be said responded way beyond the call of duty when I had a bad fall on our last evening and fractured an elbow. Their compassion & kindness will long be remembered. We can't thank them enough.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twoals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

160 - 166 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2010

Stayed at Glen Auchie with hubbie & 7 year old daughter during last week of October. Couldn't fault the cottage, it has everything you could possibly need, fantastic when like us you decide to eat in rather than go out. The surrounding area has the most fantastic scenery & the Autumn colours were amazing. Loved Port Patrick - great pitch & putt course, althpogh our daughter landed her ball in the burn from which it travelled out to sea!!! Wigtown was great - bought loads of books & even watched an osprey on the web cam in the town hall. Castle Kennedy is also worth a visit - great walks around the lochs. Loved Kircudbridge - what a gem of a town, especially enjoyed Broughton Gardens - amazing paintings. Finished the week off with a tour of the Galloway Forest - brilliant.
We had a great week & will definately be returning.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whiteflower79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

We have just spent a week at Glen Auchie cottage with our dog Dolly. It is perfect for recharging the battery's. The cottage is so warm and inviting. Everything needed from the kitchen to the bedroom is there. Dolly loved having the cows and sheep for neighbours, the garden is very secure for her. The area is lovely and I would recommend
a stay here to anybody

Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank mmartin45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2010

We found the B&B on line, the location is even more stunning than the photos! Our host was very welcoming and we had everything needed in our room which was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was cooked to order at an agreed time, was very tasty and set us up for the day ahead. There are many places of interest to visit, we enjoyed Logan Bay and Logan Botanical Gardens. We had lots of information in our room including where to visit, and where to eat. We explored the Forest of Galloway which is close by. Our only problem was we only had a short break, but hope to return for longer!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobhudson58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

We stayed at the B&B for the weekend and had the front room overlooking the Mull of Galloway. Well, I can only describe the view as picture postcard perfect. The room was spotless and spacious with TV, tea/coffee facilities, CD player and a modern, roomy en-suite with toiletries and daily clean towels. The breakfast is just amazing, full Scottish indeed! Thank you to Diane for allowing our little one to feed the hens and ducks and play with the cats, she's still talking about them all! Thank you also to the lovely Andrew for trying out his culinary skills on us, a junior Masterchef in the making! Hopefully we will return, but in the meantime, we would have no hesitation in recommending East Muntloch. Diane and John's eating out recommendations also spot on and their hospitality was exceptional.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesleyPod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Staying with John, Diane and Andrew was like being with family. The welcome by son Andrew was just brilliant, although he was in the middle of baking. Situation is perfect and we enjoyed being able to walk from the house into glorious unspoiled countryside with friendly folk met on the way to talk to. We have stayed in many B & Bs around the world but Diane and Johns really is world class and we have no hesitation in recommending this place to anyone. Highlight was sitting on the small beach just before the Mull Lighthouse, being watched by and watching a pair of seals just feet away from us,
There was plenty of local information available and Diane gives tips on eating out which were spot on when we tried them.
We will certainly try and spend more time the next visit and most likely in one of their cottages.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swiscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

Our stay in this B&B was simply perfect.
Bedroom and bathroom are spacious, clean and comfortable.
Everything we needed/wanted was there: tea/coffee facilities, bathroom facilities, depliants and brochures on what to do and see, local restaurant menus and prices...
Breakfast was impressive as well: lots to choose, very good quality.
Owner Diane is very friendly and helpful and, last but not least, the view from the room to the Mull of Galloway is breath-taking (site pictures don't lie!).
We were totally satisfied, hope to go back there someday...

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Panilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Mull of Galloway Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mull of Galloway Holidays

Address: Cairngaan Road,, Drummore DG9 9HN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Mull of Galloway > Drummore
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Drummore
Price Range: £63 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Muntloch Croft Bed & Breakfast, Scotland's most southerly point - Mull of Galloway. One ensuite bedroom/sitting room and one twin ensuite. Special diets catered for. Sorry no pets at B & B due to own pets. Breakfast served early, late or later to suit you. Excellent views to the sea, mull of galloway and Isle of Man on clear day from B & B. Free Wi fi access. Glen Auchie Holiday Cottage - two bedrooms, one double room and one twin room, bathroom with bath and walk in shower, fully equipped kitchen, sitting room and conservatory. Sea Views. Pet friendly! Auld Smiddy - sleeps 2, log fire! This cottage is on 3 levels, open plan. You can lie in bed and look down at the glowing fire. Conservatory, kitchen, sittingroom, bathroom with showe in bath, back porch. Short breaks welcome. Sea Views. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing