We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Little corner of heaven”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Helensdale

Rear of Helensdale with views over Irish Sea and Ireland
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rear of Helensdale with views over Irish Sea and Ireland
Rear of House with the view to Ireland! Lounge with a view!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Rear of Helensdale with views over Irish Sea and Ireland
Rear of House with the view to Ireland!
Lounge with a view!
Open Fire in the Lounge
Open plan dining, kitchen, lounge
open plan kitchen, dining and sitting area
Dining Kitchen
Relaxing area of Kitchen!
Double bedroom with king sized bed and sea view
Twin bedroom on ground floor
Double bedroom on 1st floor
Downstairs Shower room
Downstairs shower room
Hall with stairs leading to 1st floor
Upstairs bathroom with separate shower cubicle
Upstairs Bathroom
Top of stairs looking to bathroom
Outside
The View!
Mull of Galloway Lighthouse - most southernly point in Scotland
Sandy beach near Drummore 5 minutes drive from Helensdale
Logan Botanical Gardens
Logan Botanical Gardens
7 Miles of sand at Sandhead 10 minutes from Helensdale
Sandhead Beach 7 miles of sand often all to yourself
Killantringan Bay with lighthouse in distance
Killantringan Beach near Portpatrick
Portpatrick
Maiden Head Bay on Southern Upland Way
Coastal Path (Stranraer to Mull of Galloway) near Ardwell
Another unspoilt Beach!
Castle Kennedy Gardens
Tara's Belted Galloways
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Drummore, Mull of Galloway, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
grumpy-ga...
Mildenhall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Little corner of heaven”
Reviewed 12 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

this was our 2nd stay at Helensdale,the cottage itself is very well equipped and very clean and comfortable and met all our requirements. the views in all directions give a sense of peace and quiet and we felt very relaxed during our stay, a truly a beautiful cottage in beautiful surroundings.
Culzean Castle about 47 miles away is worth visit, as is the scenic walk along the cliffs to Dunskey Castle from Port Patrick, which also has a quiet little harbour.
There are also a number of gardens close by that are worth a visit Not forgetting the mull of Galloway Lighthouse,Scotlands most Southerly point

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2017
I am glad that you enjoyed your second stay @ Helensdale and thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review on Trip Advisor, it is very much appreciated. I hope to welcome you back to Helensdale some time in the future. Kind regards Elspeth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“stunning location very peaceful and relaxing .”
Reviewed 28 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

If you want somewhere away from everything Helensdale is the place to go,but its only 3 miles from Drummore .Lovely places to visit we loved Portpatrick,Port Logan and Wigtown.But the best thing to do is go off the beaten track we drove to 5 lochs then just went with flow it was amazing saw plenty of deer and birds of prey,One day we drove to Kirkcolm and found a lovely little beach called Lady Bay then drove on to Coursewall Lighthouse hotel .Its also nice to drive to Mull of Galloway Lighthouse amazing scenery.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review and for your kind comments. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay @ Helensdale and look forward to welcoming you back sometime.

Kind regards
Elspeth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magstick
1 review
“Helensdale”
Reviewed 6 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Had an amazing few days over the New Year at Helensdale Cottage.... Can't fault anything.... It lived up to its expectations..... Everything was top spec....If you want peaceful break but near enough to vist different places this is the place.... The locals are very friendly.....Even the farmers wife near us waved everyday..... scenery outstanding.....must not forget our vist from the cows.... Thank you once again Elspeth for letting us use your cottage.... and for being helpful regarding my family tree.... xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jan 2017
Dear Margaret

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor and for your kind remarks.
I am glad that you enjoyed your visit to Helensdale and found the locals friendly.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Helensdale sometime, perhaps when the weather is better

Kind regards
Eslpeth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna G
Airdrie, United Kingdom
1 review
“Breathtaking Sunsets!”
Reviewed 30 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My husband and I have returned home today after an amazing 3 night stay at Helensdale cottage and we truly did not want to leave. The cottage itself has absolutely everything that you could possibly need for a luxury self catering break in comfortable , spacious and cosy surroundings . If you are looking for a get away from it all and loose many hours staring at the magnificent every changing sunsets then this is the place for you !! we are experienced travellers and have enjoyed many sunsets in places such as mexico, mauritus, Dominican Republic and Ibiza and none of these can compete. Even our dog spent many an hour staring at the views of the beautiful bay. Your visitor book tells of many guests who return and I can truly understand why. Thanks so much for allowing us to experience this and we have truly found our 2nd home. Donna, Alan and Kai

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sunsets
Liked least: Having to leave .
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 May 2013 for a stay in April 2012
5
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being away from the business of city life, just getting away from it all to a beautiful property.
Liked least: The children would like wi-fi to access the internet, but no great issue!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing