We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Auld Dairy Cottage

Relaxing living room with great views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relaxing living room with great views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Relaxing living room with great views
the northern lights from drummore in march 2013
sunset at portlogan
mull of galloway lighthouse
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Drummore, Mull of Galloway, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Steven G
1 review
“Fantastic cottage”
Reviewed 14 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We couldn't​ have asked for a better place to stay, for a start it's in the most beautiful setting looking over the bay. The cottage itself is beautiful and really well layed out, with every convience we needed.
It was also great as we have young kids, there were plenty of toys to keep them amused, highchair and even travel cot which made life easier for us.
We are so happy with our stay, we will definitely be heading back as I don't think you could find a better place to stay.
Thank you James we really appreciate all the effort that goes into the cottage to make it feel like a home for home.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin N
1 review
“Great cottage, amazing views, peaceful holiday!”
Reviewed 28 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The cottage is spacious and very comfortable. The views are wonderful and there's plenty for kids and parents to do in the area - lighthouse, botanic gardens, Port Logan fish pond. Very welcoming and friendly owners. Definitely recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hazel G
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“superb cottage amazing views.”
Reviewed 10 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We stayed as a party of 6 and had a great time, walked along the seafront and watched the chuck the haggis competition! we were a bit disappointed that the loony dook was not on as some of the party had enjoyed this the last time we stayed here. Also enjoyed ourwalk round the lighthouse, weather was fantastic, views magnificent. Lovely welcome with homemade short bread and bubbles thank you Jim much appreciated, Cottage has everything you could possibly need and very comfortable, heating easy to control and views from the cottage are lovely. We enjoyed our stay so much we booked for next year while we were there, roll on Dec 17. My only recommendation would probably be that the couch has almost seen better days but for the money this cottage is amazing and truly worth a visit.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2017
Hi Hazel
Thanks for the review on tripadvisor, the couch is due to be replaced soon!
Regards Jim.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spaciousness and comfortable.
Liked least: Our weather was pretty poor 😞
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Robert G
2 reviews
“September Break”
Reviewed 6 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This is one of the best holiday rental I have ever had, the cottage is the most well maintainded
and comfortable properties I have stayed in it is really well equipped and the decor was really nice. The place was spottlesly clean and the furniture was in excellent condition, the beds were really comfortable and the internet worked well, and as for the views from the cottage they are something else they have to be seen to believed. The proprietors are really nice and nothing is too much trouble for them, you really need to stay there to find the peace and quiet of the area, wonderful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hilld59
Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fantastic relaxing break”
Reviewed 27 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I spent last weekend at The Auld dairy Cottage with my husband and friends.The cottage had a beautiful setting, the views were spectacular.The inside didn't dissapoint either.Spacious, clean, airy, knitted out with everything you needed, even down to having board games DVDs etc. The owners had even left a bottle of wine and home made shortbread for us on arrival.
Free wifi as well.The only tip I would give is take plenty of groceries as the local shop was quite expensive.We will definately return and would recommend to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views from cottage
Liked least: Bit of a trek to village
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ninalcowe
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay”
Reviewed 11 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We have just returned from a weekend of relaxation in the comfort of this superb cottage. The pictures really don't do the accommodation justice. It really did exceed our expectations and there was so much space. Very modern and the location was picturesque. We did not have long enough and will definitely be returning. Highly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;