We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great family friendly holiday rental, close to an...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Beach Cottage

Sandhead Beach 7 miles of sand on your doorstep
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sandhead Beach 7 miles of sand on your doorstep
front lounge lounge with sea view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Sandhead Beach 7 miles of sand on your doorstep
front lounge
lounge with sea view
Kitchen
Conservatory at rear of Beach Cottage overlooking secluded garden
Conservatory
double room with sea view and en-suite shower room
Twin bedroom
Back garden early spring
Sandhead Beach
Fun in the sun at Sandhead!
Portpatrick
Portpatrick
Logan Botanic Gardens
Logan Botanical Gardens
Mull of Galloway Lighthouse
Port Logan
Maidenhead Bay on Southern Upland Way 10 minutes walk from Portpatrick
Lady Bay near Kirkcolm with Irish ferry in distance
Killantringan Beach
Ardwell Bay
Ardwell gardens
Another unspoilt beach!
Coastal path (Stranraer to Mull of Galloway) near Ardwell
Tara's Belted Galloways
Well earned rest after a day on the beach
Spring lambs enjoying the sunshine
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Sandhead, Mull of Galloway, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Creativep...
Leeds
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great family friendly holiday rental, close to an amazing beach.”
Reviewed 17 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Beach cottage is in an amazing location, yards from an amazing beach which, even in the height of the summer holidays, was almost deserted.

The cottage was spotless when we arrived and had all the everyday items so easily forgotten in a holiday rental. Kitchen utensils and cooking equipment were well provisioned and the (presumably home made) Shortbread biscuits left for us on arrival were a nice touch. The views from the lounge made watching the evening draw in over Luce bay one of the highlights of each day.

Too often a holiday let can be a vanilla shell with little personality. Not so with beach cottage. The garden was well tended, which added a touch of colour to the conservatory view and made the holiday rental feel like a home from home. The items left by the owner for us to use were well thought through and Elspeth popped over a couple of times to check we had everything we needed.

The village of Sandhead is quiet and provides a fantastic base for exploring the Mull of Galloway. This is not a location where you'll be fighting the crowds but more somewhere to relax amongst some amazing scenery, with unique attractions around every port.

We chose Beach Cottage based on a recommendation and we'd certainly recommend this place to others.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2017
Thank you very much for posting such a comprehensive and positive review for Beach Cottage on Trip Advisor - I really appreciate you taking the time highlight the features of the cottage and surrounding area from a guests point of view and hope to welcome you back to Beach Cottage sometime in the future. Kind regards
Elspeth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dos200
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Peace and tranquility in a lovely location.”
Reviewed 15 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Lovely cottage in quiet village with spectacular sea views. Local hotel does excellent food. Lots of lovely walks and mull of Galloway worth a visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2017
Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor with such positive comments. I'm glad that you enjoyed your visit to our peaceful little corner of Scotland and hope to see you again sometime
Kind regards, Elspeth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2helen197...
Greystones, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mrs ”
Reviewed 11 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Brilliant. Fabulous location. I could have spent all day looking at the view. Great house. Everthing you could want. Cant wait to go back .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2017
Thank you for visiting us @ Beach Cottage and for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor - so glad that you all enjoyed your visit to Sandhead and hope to see you again soon Elspeth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
townstewa...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beach cottage”
Reviewed 12 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great time watching the world go by. The cottage was clean and had everything we needed. Cant wait to visit another of Elspeth's properties next year

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2017
Thank you for visiting Beach Cottage this year, for a change, when you heard Helensdale was already booked for your dates. I really appreciate you taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor & look forward to seeing you again @ Helensdale in 2018. Kind regards
Elspeth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odyssey68...
1 review
“Little bit of paradise”
Reviewed 20 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Excellent location, stunning view and extremely well equipped ,comfortable clean holiday home.Thanks to Elspeth and Hugh for their help and advice. Neighbours very friendly. Dogs loved the bay and we had super walks. Weather was great, sunshine everyday. We will definitely be back. One of the best holidays we have had and perfect base to visit local attractions and towns. Thank to the owners again. Iain, Karen and our dogs Ruairidh and Breiadh. (They were not amused at having to leave but then neither were we ).

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 May 2017
Hi Iain Karen, Ruairidh & Breiadh
Glad that you enjoyed your holiday @ Beach Cottage - the weather was kind to you!
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor and thank you for your kind comments.
Hope to see you all again sometime.
Kind regards
Elspeth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margaretk...
Motherwell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Home from home very dog friendly.”
Reviewed 19 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Home from home. Great for our dog Cooper enclosed garden and also lovely patio area for my mum who enjoyed watching the wild life in the garden. Grassy area across road superb for Cooper and stones through to the beach. lovely coffee shop two doors up and at the other end local hotel. Elspeth very pleasant and responded quickly to our heating issue also the lovely gesture on arrival shortbread made by daughter so we had that with coffee and eggs which we had for our breakfast great. We will be back. Thanks again Elspeth.x

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 May 2017
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor - I really appreciate it. Hope that you are able to visit us again sometime
Kind regards
Elspeth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joannecla...
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect family New Year”
Reviewed 6 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Our third time staying at Auld School House. A beautiful house in a beautiful part of Scotland. So relaxing and cosy with the open fire, the ideal place for our family New Year get together. The house is very well equipped with everything you could think of, like a home from home. Seven people sharing with plenty of room for everybody. The local pub is very friendly and the beach is great for walking the dogs. Mrs Little is a very warm, approachable lady who is on hand if ever you need anything at all. The only problem I found was that I just didn't want to come home!

Would highly recommend and will certainly be visiting again in the near future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jan 2017
Dear Joanne

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor and for your kind & positive comments regarding the Auld Schoolhouse. I am so glad that your party enjoyed New Year @ Sandhead and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards
Elspeth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing