We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfort, peace and privacy in a beutiful location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Kenmuir Cottage

View from the hill behind Kenmuir Cottage, with the sea in the background
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the hill behind Kenmuir Cottage, with the sea in the background
Front of Kenmuir Cottage Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
View from the hill behind Kenmuir Cottage, with the sea in the background
Front of Kenmuir Cottage
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Main Bedroom
Main Bedroom
Main Bedroom
Small Bedroom with Bunk Beds
Small Bedroom with Bunk Beds
Hall
Hall
Separate Toilet with Basin
Kenmuir Cottage is located in rolling countryside
Secure Garden
Roses outside Kenmuir Cottage
Hares waiting to greet you at Entrance to Kenmuir Cottage
Ardwell Bay, which is a 15 minute walk from Kenmuir Cottage
View from window of Main Bedroom
Fishing Boat at Portpatrick Harbour
View of Irish Coast from Front Door of Kenmuir Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ardwell, Mull of Galloway, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
David H
Crewe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfort, peace and privacy in a beutiful location”
Reviewed 18 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

If you’re after some peace and privacy with stunning scenery then we thoroughly recommend this cottage. Despite its fairly remote location, which we saw as a bonus because of its beauty and privacy, the property has every modern convenience including a dishwasher, TV and internet, making it great for a couple or small family. The owners were very friendly and efficient, even leaving wine and chocolates to greet us and make us feel welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ownedbysm...
Ayrshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An outstanding cottage”
Reviewed 30 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
6
people found this review helpful

We have been lucky enough to have spent a week at this beautiful cottage .We had booked after seing it on it's own website and thought it looked ideal for a break we were needing.
On arrival we were met by the owners who showed us round the cottage and explained how everything worked.we were touched by the wine and chocloates that was left as a welcoming gift.
The cottage is stunning , it has high quality fixtures and fittings and the amount of thought and consideration that has been given to guests blew us away.All you need to bring is yourselves , everything and I mean everything is in place
The garden is secure (a must for our escape artist jack russell terrier) ,large and beautifully kept.There is secure storage for bikes or fishing gear and within the storage there is outdoof seating and a large bbq with the charcoal to fuel it.The views surrounding the cottage are of farmland and views to the sea, the wildlife was so different to what we get back home.We had great weather so we took advantage of the garden enjoying lunch on the lawn.
The interior of the house is immaculate and very thoughtfully decorated from the sumptious bedroom to the very modern and very well equiped kitchen with seated dining .The lounge is very comfortable and again is very well equiped .Freeview tv ,a huge selection of music and dvd's and books and even boardgames.There is a multi fuel log burner which is very cosy in the evening , this makes the cottage feel very welcoming.The seperate toilet and bathroom is a nice touch and again these are very tastefully decorated and equiped.
The cottage is an ideal place to come to for a chill-out relaxing stay or as a base to explore the beautifull surroundings.You will not be disappointed with your stay here as it ticks all the boxes and then some.I would not hesitate to recommend Kenmuir Cottage to anyone visiting this area.Jennifer and Forrest has managed to create a home away from home and a space you feel at ease in straight away . Thanks again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet and everything about the cottage
Liked least: Coming home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret...
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cottage exactly as advertised down to the smallest details absolutely first class.”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

This is the first time I have felt the need to recommend a Holiday Cottage and the fact that it really lived up to all our expectations and even more. I was so sure that it would not really be as perfect as the web site photos displayed it, but was so reassured when we arrived and Jen and Forrest kindly showed us around the cottage explaining everything that we needed to know about it and its workings. Their manuals were also very comprehensive and nothing was left to chance as was the details of the surrounding area and what it had to offer. They certainly go that extra mile in our opinion - even taking the opportunity to have the outside chairs positioned to catch the sun for us arriving on our first afternoon. Everything about the Cottage was good quality nothing second rate. As you will see from the photo our 2 dogs were also chilled by the time evening came. Thanks once again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquility and quality of Cottage
Liked least: I am hard to please but cannot think of one thing to quote.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin G
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Peace and Quiet”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Kenmuir is the perfect place for a holiday away from it all. We were given a very warm welcome by the owners. The cottage was very clean and more spacious than it looks in the pictures. The bed was especially comfy as was the lounge, which had an excellent TV/BluRay/Sound System. The selection of CDs, DVDs and books was as good as a small library! The kitchen was very well equipped, with a small dining area.
The location was very peaceful and ideal for exploring this much overlooked corner of Scotland. There are many local gardens benefiting from the unexpectedly warm climate.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, cleanliness, comfort of bed and lounge.
Liked least: The dining area was fairly cramped, even for two.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanandBr...
Methil, Fife, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“My perfect house in the perfect garden”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

This is the most comfortable, gorgeous, spacious 2 bedroom house. Everything you would need is in it. We used the outdoor sports equiptment that was in the out house, the enclosed garden was great for the dogs as well as the bairn. The tv, dvd, stereo etc was top notch. Watching a hare one night toddling past and a deer the next was really nice. Ten minutes drive from the nearest shop and restaurant but another ten gets you to Stranraer or Portpatrick. It has a feel good factor. One negative though, very soft mattress. Would still give it 10/10 though.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the home from home feeling. The owners covered everything.
Liked least: The double bed mattress - only because I like them firm!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jane l
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“absolute perfection...”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

An incredible cottage in a perfect location. Everything you could possibly need is provided and the quality is of a very high standard. The cottage is wonderful and the dogs loved the garden. We have never experienced such total peace & quiet. The abundant wildlife was a joy...deer, hares, owls, buzzards, pheasants..and that was just outside the window!! The area is so relaxing, no traffic on the roads, lovely places to visit...Mull of Galloway and Galloway Forest walks. We had such a wonderful time this is now our favourite destination over Cornwall and Wales. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarahharr...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage, beautiful location and sunny weather too”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This cottage was absolutely fantastic Jennifer and forest the owners were very friendly and covered everything for our stay. The cottage itself had everything you could think of and more. The enclosed garden was great for our little girl and our beagle dog who spent hours running playing and exploring. The best thing of all was the location peace quiet not a car or road in sight just the local cows and wildlife. To top the holiday off the weather was great first time I have come back from Scotland with a tan. Hope to return again next year and would recommend to anyone that wants peace quiet relaxation with the added bit of luxury.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;