We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Balaji Farms and Country Homes
Nearby Hotels
US$167
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Machan(Lonavala)
US$245
US$219
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Dukes Retreat(Khandala)(Great Value!)
US$190
US$166
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Zara's Resort(Khandala)
US$64
US$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Arvi(Khandala)
US$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$257
US$210
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Basilica Holiday Home(Lonavala)(Great Value!)
US$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aamby Valley City(Aamby Valley City)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
13
17
5
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
17
5
0
2
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 37 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We selected Balaji Farms as our weekend getaway for 2 reasons...
1. its proximity to mumbai, it didn't entail too much of travel (only around 100km from Mumbai, their site has simple & excellent directions)
2. their website promised something different from the other run-of-the-mill resorts especially no-rain dance.

True to our expectations, the place has a different kind of charm. Infact, the more you explore around the place, the more surprises you will unearth. Every cottage has been done up with a lot of planning and passion and is comfortable, the curios and artefacts in the cottages lend them a touch of warmth. The tree house is a strategically located with a river in the backdrop.

Overall we had a good experience at Balaji Farms..The rooms are well maintained, the food was hygienic and straight from their farm and pond, the staff was co-operative, the animals, especially Magic, the alsatian dog, were a a delight. The temple too was serene and we felt blessed.

A few pointers...
Its quiet a long walk from the cottages to the dining area especially for senior citizens as the pathway is rough and gravelled, fortunately we could use our car to ferry them to and fro.

The beer bottle and tokri lights are indeed a sight to behold but the lighting is very dim, especially in the dining area and outside the cottages it could have been a bit brighter. The bar area is again nicely done.

The telescope and bicycles are still non-functional..

Food is like home cooked and good but the breakfast menu needs to offer more. Sugarcane juice was disappointing.

Avoid going during the summer months, its way too hot till about 5 pm in the evening.

Do try their zipline...esp if you are weak-kneed, to get over your fear ...its small span, well maintained and the experience is thrilling.

Don't miss the view from the machaan at dawn, the sight of birds (egrets) leaving their night abode for their onward journey is awesome.

Do jump on the trampoline as a family, its fun.

Tip:
Looking forward to go after rains or in winter

Room Tip: For a family size of 5-6 only 1 cottage is enough Jal or Prithvi but it is recommended you go as a big group so that you occupy all the cottages.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank essukay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Balaji Farms is a very good place for a weekend-get-away from Mumbai. It is not too far and still a nature experience. The food it super delicious and services very friendly and helpful. The cottages are nicely made with love to detail in decoration. The owner even showed us his hodge-podge of items he found in his native village or during his travels. Very interesting!

Maybe some more signs to find the place would be great. But we found the place without many problems but maybe also some good luck. Some possibility to go for a swim in the hot weather of May would be also nice.

Don't come here if you are afraid of dogs as they have plenty of them. Even a naughty little monkey who entertained us quite well.

Room Tip: We stayed in the stone and mud cottages but if you are a couple travelling alone take the machan. It's maybe very small but far away from the other cottages and very romantic.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We had a nice time at Balaji Farms during our stay in Feb 2013. We were 3 families with kids (3 infants and 1 older kid) and had booked the Stone Cottage and the Bamboo Cottage.

The property has been very well designed (we loved the beer bottle lamps and the 'tokri' (cane basket) lamps). The shack with the tyre seats looked awesome when lit up during the evenings.

We all loved the porches of both the cottages and spent our whole evening there chatting away late into the night. We laughed like we haven't laughed in a long long time, while jumping on the trampoline, which indeed had a couple of springs broken but was quite safe and bore the weight of 2 adults and a kid without any hassles. The temple was serene and very pretty.

All the couples went for a boat ride in the in-house pond. It was fun.All the kids loved watching the farm animals (like others have pointed out, its almost like a zoo of domestic animals!) and also playing with the friendly dogs.

The staff was generous and cooked up tasty khichdi for the infants when asked to do so and all the mothers were very thankful for that gesture. The caretaker Raj, single handedly managed a lot of things and everyone appreciated his friendly disposition.

All the cottages are well appointed with clean and fresh bed linen and towels. They even have basic tea making facility for a cup of bed tea/coffee. Each room also has a fridge. Both our cottages had a porch (with 'khatiya' and a hammock) a well furnished living room and a quaint bedroom with attached toilet.

The charges for the A/C are steep at Rs.2000 over the tariff (About 4500 for a couple, if I remember correct), but the owner was kind and flexible enough to let us use the money paid for a friend who couldn't turn up, to switch on the A/C. Afternoons can be very hot and it was just February..wonder how will it be during the summer months!

The owner is very responsive, reverting immediately to emails and even at attending to our numerous phone calls. Much appreciated.


Everyone was disappointed that the bullock cart was non-functional, most of the cycles were in a state of disrepair - like almost every review has pointed out! Hope the owner has repaired them by now!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kingofinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

A place with real character and charm, it's obviously a work of love on the part of the owner. The cottages are lovely, each with their own local character and the food is excellent, fresh from the farm itself. It's the perfect to unwind and just enjoy the farm, its menagerie of animal life, countryside and fresh air. One note mentioned before here - the bikes are broken, fine for us as we are lazy and no intention of doing anything strenuous but a bit disappointing if you were planning on using them.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weekender23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We booked the entire property for an office team +family outing. The rooms are beautifully done and we loved the property. The food was also very tasty and we were served ample variety as well.

Disappointing part: Some of the free activities weren't well maintained - cycles were punctured, trampoline had broken in some parts and we weren't sure of how safe it was. The games room was unclean and full of dust.
And the telescope was out of order!

We had a lot of children so this was a let-down for them but they enjoyed the animals.

Overall I still recommend it.

Room Tip: The tree house is very small but extremely aesthetically done. The morning view is gorgeous.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews