We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Phenomenal butter tarts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Little Taste Of Paradise

A Little Taste Of Paradise
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Stirling
Cuisines: Cafe, Canadian
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Toronto
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Phenomenal butter tarts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Truly mouth watering. Fun flavors. My favorite was the chocolate peanut butter. Too bad they have calories.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank gottago2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    7
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“It could be ramped up!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

After the 3 rave reviews, we were a bit disappointed. We had met another couple at the cafe at about 11:30 am on a Saturday.

Arriving before us, they had received coffee which they had to ask be warmed up right after being served. My later coffee was both hot and good.

The small salad that I ordered was delicious and of very good value. Though I noted with some surprise that the majority of their dressings are bottled ones. Why not have just 2-3 excellent homemade dressings, instead of just the one that they do make there (Caesar), along with a long list of commercial ones? Dressings are so easy to make.

My husband and I had both asked for the Cajun Chicken. We were expecting chunks of real chicken meat - in my salad and in his sandwich respectively. We were somewhat shocked to see a couple of thin, round slices of DELI "Chicken" arrive.

The Coconut Soup was well made. Complex and very interesting flavours though I found it a bit sweet for my own taste. The other man (a good home cook) said that his pot pie was rather spongy and when he asked about it, it was acknowledged that it had been reheated in a microwave. A no-no in good restaurants and it wasn't busy at the time. Our server was pleasant and courteous, but seemed to not be particularly knowledgeable about the menu.

The cafe was very clean and attractive.

Stirling is a lovely town and this place seems to have a lot of potential. Because it is quite a small cafe, it would take so little to ramp it up to where it should be and could be!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HMK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great lunches (and of course, butter tarts!)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

This little bakery offers the best butter tarts around, lots of different flavours. I've had almost all of them. The pastry is flakey and flavourful and the fillings are divine. If you're travelling to Stirling for the day, make sure to have your lunch here. Great wraps, great soup, great quiches! I often recommend it to people.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank keldear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Found this place while tripping from Peterborough to Kingston. I knew it must be the place to be once I saw the crowd inside and we weren't disappointed. I had the beef pot pie and my wife had a quiche. We were delighted with our choices to say the least. The staff were friendly, the price was right and while bigger premises would have been nice, the smaller space seemed to work just fine. Highly recommend A Little Taste of Paradise.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
212 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Who knew you could find this "little taste of paradise" in Stirling, Ontario”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Discovered this small bakery and café only yesterday - what a treat. Open Mon-Sat 8am-4PM - this is a real find - the baked goods are outstanding - including the house specialty - butter tarts - about 8 kinds..amazingly delicious...pies, muffins, breads also - there are 6 tables - the decor is modern and fresh...the owner Mandy Webb and her staff are friendly and they offer service with a smile....they serve scrumptious lunches - soups, salads, quiche, wraps and huge sandwiches on home made bread...all delicious..and nicely presented - there is no doubt you will enjoy every morsel and won't want to miss treating yourself to dessert. We were going to a 2PM matinee performance at the Stirling Festival Theatre - a few doors away on Main Street - and couldn't have found a nicer place to have a very pleasant pre-theatre lunch in this small quaint town. Incidentally - the Stirling Theatre is also worth attending - lots of talent and great performances.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank marleyandmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A Little Taste Of Paradise also viewed

 

Been to A Little Taste Of Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing