We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab holiday cottage- Barley Cottage”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Denham House

Denham House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Buckland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Denham House
warrington
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fab holiday cottage- Barley Cottage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

Stayed here for a week over summer with friends. 4 Adults 3 children (under 6) and 2 babies (1).
The accommodation was spotless and well arranged comprising 3 bedrooms (twin, bunks and a double) downstairs and a large double upstairs accessed by a steep narrow staircase.
Plenty of seating in the lounge area and a large dining area. Well equipped kitchen.
Our room, the downstairs double, was a little damp but it was wet when we visited but at the same time too warm to put heating on.
The hosts were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Basic supplies like toilet roll were included to start you off. We thought the price was very reasonable for the quality of the accommodation. It's a little off the beaten track but within easy access of all the touristy places nearby. The peace and quiet was lovely. The boys (and I include the dads) loved the games room and the garden. The information pack was excellent and would recommend the walk to Baggy Point and the Indian Kitchen takeaway!

Room Tip: Take hand wash as isn't mentioned on the list of things to take with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linny78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Been to Denham House for the 4th time. 3 times as B & B and once in the self catering cottage. Cant fault it. Have just read the review from SurferMikeBristol and really cant understand his gripes. I can see why Bernard the owner has a sign up about the cereal. Someone has mentioned that it was out of date and he is obviously fed up of explaining the date system. Breakfast is just as Mike said but yes - if you put sausage, egg and beans that it just what you get. Whats the problem??
My only problem was the beds are just too comfy and I slept so well and didnt want to get up.
Vera & Bernard are just the best hosts and this is by far the cleanest place we have ever stayed in. The food is excellent and we really wouldnt want more.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely and the self catering cottage is too
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hellyshropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

We would firstly like to thank Vera and Bernard. We had such a lovely stay, as previous reviews mention, these two knew perfectly how to be on hand and attentive without being too in your face. The attention to detail really was something else.bed linens ironed and smelt so fresh. Average size double room with en suite. Lovely having own en suite- some of the other b&b's we looked into had shared bathrooms so having your own bath/shower in room was really lovely- very home from home. Vera and Bernard really do work their socks off to make your stay something relaxing and special and their beautiful house is a credit to them. We were asked to choose what we would like for breakfast by filling out a small form,if they didn't catch you this was just left at main reception for whenever you next came by. Breakfast was really very good,full English with potatoes and very tasty local produce.bernard always served this with a smile and friendly chit chat which made for a lovely morning. The place is just a mile from the village of Georgeham where we have previously camped. I come to Georgeham every year with family and friends for my birthday and we always have a great time at the rock inn restaurant and kings arms pub. We were able to walk one straight country road from the b&b to get here which took us about 10/15 mins.take a torch but certainly an easy enough walk to not have to drive.would definitely recommend Denham house to friends and family and looking to come back in the summer-a nice change from camping! Thank you ever so much Vera and Bernard - you are stars at what you do!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

The Owners service and attention to detail would leave some major hotels for dead. Breakfast is whatever you want. All is good quality and locally produced – including the eggs which come from theirown chickens in the back yard. Denham House is everything that the brochure says. The accommodation is very clean and homelike.
The property is in a small, quiet Hamlet in North Devon. Nearest Pub/Restaurant is about 1 mile away.
If you want good accommodation and the only noise is the sheep – this is the place!
No phone in room – no internet

Room Tip: We chose to have a serviced room with ensuite. There are self-contained cottages also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikebcq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

Had a lovely time staying at this b&b. The hosts were both very friendly and couldn't have been more helpful. Room facilities were fine and being a solo traveller it was nice to have a double room offered to me with ensuite facilities at a reasonable rate for the week. A little remote but lovely and quiet and I found it an ideal base for walking the stunning coastal path and doing a little cycling up the Tarka Trail. Would definitely go back. The four stars only reflects the location as the roads leading to and from are very narrow to navigate if you're not used to driving around the area.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gazzaBourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2011

Been meaning to write this review for an age... We loved Devon/Denham so much we went back the next weekend (was helped by some awesome surf though!). Lovely B and B in a great area of the country. Run by a lovely couple who keep the place spotlessly clean and lay on an excellent cooked breakfast. Works since gone ballistic but hoping to get back early in 2011 and our first port of call will be Denham house.
Thanks B & V for a great 2 weekends and hopefully see you soon.
Jamie & Angel

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamiegpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deanshanger, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2010

When we booked our three night holiday in North Devon we were initially impressed with how helpful Vera and Bernard were -they made us feel that our holiday was special to them too. This fantastic service just got better and better!
The house is situated in beautiful North Buckland which can be reached via cute country roads through an impressive Devonshire landscape. Everywhere you turn you have a wonderful view.
Upon arrival we were greeted warmly and made to feel very much at home. Our room was beautifully presented and Vera clearly has extremely high standards when it comes to hygiene and guest comfort.
We had already looked up a few places we wanted to visit while we were here but Bernard and Vera were able to tell us some more interesting trips to try as well. Before we left to have a look around Braunton's shops we were able to choose what we wanted for breakfast the next day. We loved this as it really gave us something to look forward to in the morning. I read on of the other reviews on here that complained that whenthey ordered eggs and bacon, they only got eggs and bacon - a bit of a stupid criticism - we ordered what we fancied and got it!!
That evening we wanted to stay fairly local and Bernard reccommended trying the two pubs in the next village. It was a lovely 15 minute walk to Georgham where we tried the ales in bothe The Rock and The King's Arms (my husband preferred the former, I the latter) and the starlit walk home was perfect to walk off the last couple of drinks!
In the morning the breakfast was wonderful. The dining room was full of happy munchers with Bernard coming back and forth from the kitchen making sure everyone had what they wanted. I only wish Vera lived nearer to my house so that I could get that fry-up more regularly - amazing!
We spent the day at Woolacoombe beach (yes, in November) and later in Barnstable. That evening we wanted to have a lovely meal and tried The Ebrington a couple of miles away - again at Vera and Bernard's recommendation - and had the most fabulous evening, definitely worth going.
On our last day we were gutted to be leaving. A beautiful house with fantastic facilities and a level of service far beyond our expectations. This was a great holiday made brilliant by our accommodation and wonderful hosts.
Thank you Vera and Bernard.

Leah Day

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeahDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Denham House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denham House

Property: Denham House
Address: North Buckland EX33 1HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > North Buckland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in North Buckland
Hotel Class:3 star — Denham House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plenty of car parking; Full English breakfast; Double, twin, triple and family rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Denham House Devon/North Buckland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing