We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vera wonderful. Rooms Okay.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Denham House

Denham House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Buckland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Denham House
Poole
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Vera wonderful. Rooms Okay.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

Stayed for one night. Vera was very welcoming, however her husband was 'weary' of golfers who'd just played in the rain! However, the room was clean and the breakfast nice although the B&B is a little dated. Its easy to find, although a little in the sticks! Would have prefered to have stayed in Braunton itself.

Vera is lovely and looks after her guests to perfection

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brownrann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenhamH0use, Owner at Denham House, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us even though it was only for one night.
We should point out though that we were not weary of golfers who had arrived in from the rain but surprised at the line of wet golf clubs leaning against a radiator in our living room dripping on a new carpet! We have many golfers staying as we are so close to some brilliant golf course and have not been weary with any. We look forward to enjoying their company in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
staffordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

we were in the area for a wedding - we received a very warm welcome, family room was 'extremely clean', linen was beautifully fresh, a little dated (turquoise bathroom suite, stuck in the 1980's - sorry), outstandingly tasty breakfast (they even got gluten free sausages for me!). I did find the large number of laminated signs in the rooms, dining room, lounge, games room, reception etc a bit irritating I'm afraid. Unfortunately we left the bathroom light on (the 1st night) and politely told off at breakfast the next morning - be warned!)
Our son was devasted to find that they had no wifi (it was final transfer day for the footie!) Although there was a detectable wifi in the building, it was not allowed for guests - shame, we had to go to local pub with free wifi for the eve. The freeview in our room had a very poor signal, the picture breaking up, so we didn't use it, but no major loss. Overall: Lovely couple, beautiful setting, delicious food, needs an update and wifi though.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzanneStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warrington
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

Stayed here for a week over summer with friends. 4 Adults 3 children (under 6) and 2 babies (1).
The accommodation was spotless and well arranged comprising 3 bedrooms (twin, bunks and a double) downstairs and a large double upstairs accessed by a steep narrow staircase.
Plenty of seating in the lounge area and a large dining area. Well equipped kitchen.
Our room, the downstairs double, was a little damp but it was wet when we visited but at the same time too warm to put heating on.
The hosts were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Basic supplies like toilet roll were included to start you off. We thought the price was very reasonable for the quality of the accommodation. It's a little off the beaten track but within easy access of all the touristy places nearby. The peace and quiet was lovely. The boys (and I include the dads) loved the games room and the garden. The information pack was excellent and would recommend the walk to Baggy Point and the Indian Kitchen takeaway!

Room Tip: Take hand wash as isn't mentioned on the list of things to take with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linny78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Been to Denham House for the 4th time. 3 times as B & B and once in the self catering cottage. Cant fault it. Have just read the review from SurferMikeBristol and really cant understand his gripes. I can see why Bernard the owner has a sign up about the cereal. Someone has mentioned that it was out of date and he is obviously fed up of explaining the date system. Breakfast is just as Mike said but yes - if you put sausage, egg and beans that it just what you get. Whats the problem??
My only problem was the beds are just too comfy and I slept so well and didnt want to get up.
Vera & Bernard are just the best hosts and this is by far the cleanest place we have ever stayed in. The food is excellent and we really wouldnt want more.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely and the self catering cottage is too
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hellyshropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

We would firstly like to thank Vera and Bernard. We had such a lovely stay, as previous reviews mention, these two knew perfectly how to be on hand and attentive without being too in your face. The attention to detail really was something else.bed linens ironed and smelt so fresh. Average size double room with en suite. Lovely having own en suite- some of the other b&b's we looked into had shared bathrooms so having your own bath/shower in room was really lovely- very home from home. Vera and Bernard really do work their socks off to make your stay something relaxing and special and their beautiful house is a credit to them. We were asked to choose what we would like for breakfast by filling out a small form,if they didn't catch you this was just left at main reception for whenever you next came by. Breakfast was really very good,full English with potatoes and very tasty local produce.bernard always served this with a smile and friendly chit chat which made for a lovely morning. The place is just a mile from the village of Georgeham where we have previously camped. I come to Georgeham every year with family and friends for my birthday and we always have a great time at the rock inn restaurant and kings arms pub. We were able to walk one straight country road from the b&b to get here which took us about 10/15 mins.take a torch but certainly an easy enough walk to not have to drive.would definitely recommend Denham house to friends and family and looking to come back in the summer-a nice change from camping! Thank you ever so much Vera and Bernard - you are stars at what you do!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

The Owners service and attention to detail would leave some major hotels for dead. Breakfast is whatever you want. All is good quality and locally produced – including the eggs which come from theirown chickens in the back yard. Denham House is everything that the brochure says. The accommodation is very clean and homelike.
The property is in a small, quiet Hamlet in North Devon. Nearest Pub/Restaurant is about 1 mile away.
If you want good accommodation and the only noise is the sheep – this is the place!
No phone in room – no internet

Room Tip: We chose to have a serviced room with ensuite. There are self-contained cottages also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikebcq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

Had a lovely time staying at this b&b. The hosts were both very friendly and couldn't have been more helpful. Room facilities were fine and being a solo traveller it was nice to have a double room offered to me with ensuite facilities at a reasonable rate for the week. A little remote but lovely and quiet and I found it an ideal base for walking the stunning coastal path and doing a little cycling up the Tarka Trail. Would definitely go back. The four stars only reflects the location as the roads leading to and from are very narrow to navigate if you're not used to driving around the area.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gazzaBourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Denham House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denham House

Property: Denham House
Address: North Buckland EX33 1HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > North Buckland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in North Buckland
Hotel Class:3 star — Denham House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plenty of car parking; Full English breakfast; Double, twin, triple and family rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Denham House Devon/North Buckland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing