We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely retreat!”
other travellers have booked this property
The Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Cottage
Main Bedroom Dining table
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
The Cottage
Main Bedroom
Dining table
Swedish Woodburner
Dining Area
Upstairs Bedroom
The Hammock
Patio
View From the Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Bratton Clovelly, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CurlySaz
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A lovely retreat!”
Reviewed 10 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had a wonderful week at Great Burrow Cottage. It's very quiet and peaceful but there's plenty of excitement on the doorstep (Dartmoor, the Granite Way cycle path, watersports etc). The cottage is well appointed and tastefully furnished with the sort of things you want on holiday (comfortable beds, a big bath, good kitchen). The garden is beautifully wild and extensive and we particularly enjoyed evenings sitting around the fire pit on the lower lawn. Mary and Justin were helpful and welcoming hosts. We loved the freshly laid eggs from the family's chickens. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZoeVernon
1 review
“A gorgeous little dreamy hideaway!”
Reviewed 4 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Thanks for a fantastic stay with our 8 month old baby. Loved the setting, the views, the bath, the hammock. Just a brilliant place with a brilliant admosphere. Would highly recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cazrinda
Witney, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Simply gorgeous”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

What a lucky find! This was a very last minute weekend booking and it could not have been better. The house was charming, stylish and comfortable and in the most amazing setting. Justin and Mary were wonderfully accommodating with all my last minute queries and welcoming as we turned up, weary from a difficult journey. All the stresses of travelling melted away as we relaxed in the cottage and explored the garden, and the kids were delighted with their den-like bedroom up in the roof. We felt instantly at home and struggled to leave, but we are sure to be back. Justin gave some great tips of the best places to explore locally and Dartmoor was amazing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happy1966
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A totally relaxing week in a peaceful location”
Reviewed 27 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We've just got back from a wonderful stay at Great Burrow and almost don't want to write this review since I don't really want competition for access in the future. However, it seems word is already out since this is a perfect place for a relaxing getaway.

We booked relatively late so were probably lucky to get to use this cottage but it was everything we wanted. At the end of a period of hard work and full-on life at home we wanted to just get away and relax and had a fairly demanding set of criteria (quiet, comfy beds, privacy, cosy and beautiful cottage, access to good walks and good views) so did not expect to get everything but great burrow delivered on them all and more.

We met Justin (the owner) when we arrived and after a short but thorough tour of the facilities that was it. The cottage is in the grounds of their much larger house but has full privacy including its own gardens and parking area so although we knew they were there if we had any issues we simply did not see them again. They also left freshly laid eggs, some milk and other provisions which was very useful in getting up and running before the grocery delivery arrived.

The cottage is warm and easy to spend time in, has been refurbished to a good standard and is well equipped for cooking etc so we did not have the usual problems with useless kit! There are multiple walks either straight out the back or a short drive away and breathtaking views of the moors as well.

All in it helps to be in the middle of such a beautiful part of the world but we didn't feel that we could have asked for a better place to come back to in the evenings. We will be going again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquility
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gill R
Downe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic cottage”
Reviewed 2 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We have just spent a week at Great Burrow Cottage and what a wonderful week. The cottage is beautiful - both inside and out. It is well equipped, has really comfortable beds, and very peaceful - if you don't mind ducks, chickens and friendly cats. We stayed with our teenage sons and a borrowed dog and we all loved it. Families with younger children will find that there is everything they need. There is loads to do being near both moor and coast - or just great walks right outside. The hosts are very welcoming - with a wonderful cream tea served on arrival. We would love to return and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntStansb...
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“It really is as idyllic as it looks”
Reviewed 23 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed at Great Burrow Cottage at the beginning of August with our young son. The weather was good, and the setting really is as gorgeous as it looks in the photos. The cottage lies at the end of a very long country lane, so you really do feel like you're away from the hustle and bustle of normal life! The accommodation was of a very high quality, with great facilities, plenty of room and some lovely features (wooden spiral staircase, huge bath, very comfortable beds, well equipped kitchen and a lovely wood burner). The upstairs bedroom has a sloped room and low beds, so more suited to younger members of the family rather than older. The garden area is absolutely beautiful in a wonderfully wild sort of way, and the views up to the Dartmoor hills are spectacular! We loved saying good morning to the chickens, ducks and cats that roma freely. We spent many a few days over the county border visiting Cornwalls lovely Northern beaches...Bude was an undemanding 30 minute drive away, and if your an NT member, Sandy Mouth Beachs amazing geography is worth an extra 10 minute drive!
We ate out at the nearby Clovelly Inn on a couple of occasions, which does great pub food in generous portions and boasts a good selection of local beers with very friendly service!
Our hosts even produced a delicious home-made Devon cream tea as an afternoon treat one day!
All in all, GBC is a superb holiday destination, and one we would thoroughly recommend! Definitely on our list of places to re-visit one day!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The very comfy bed!
Liked least: Wi-fi access was patchy, but not a major gripe as we were on holiday!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy G
1 review
“A delightful property in a peaceful tranquil setting”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We had a wonderful stay at great burrow, if you want to get away from it all and experience real peace and tranquility this is for you. Set in beautiful grounds with loads of space to explore and run around in, perfect for young children. Every morning you see the ducks in procession toward the pond at the bottom of your property, followed by cocks and hens cockadoodalooing!
Its in a great location for getting out and about around Dartmoor, from the beautiful waterfall at Lydford Gorge to cycling along the granite way and absorbing your beautiful surroundings. If its a surf you are after you can head over to Bude within a 30 min drive, spend the day surfing and chilling at widemouth bay, then head across to the Bay View Inn to take in the sunset overlooking the bay and eat the biggest plate of food you'll find this side of the NYC!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing