We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The proof is in the pudding.....and the steak!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Who'd Have Thought It Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Milton Combe B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 October 2013

What a fantastic little pub this is, well worth a visit if you're in the area. A very attractive setting in the tranquil village of Milton Combe and a chocolate boxy look gives the 'Who'd Have Thought It' a good start. There's ample parking out the back and the appealing sight of chickens in a roomy enclosure...perhaps the eggs are used in the pub's menu.

Inside, the rooms are small but very appealing. I recommend booking in advance and requesting one of the two window tables in the main bar, you'll get privacy here and it's a cosy position. The other room, although attractive, with its formal seating, particularly small space and hard surfaces makes intimate conversation difficult.

For my husband, the benchmark of a good pub is its steak so in a quest for quality he has sampled many over the years. The 'Who'd Have Thought It' served him a steak that really hit the mark; a succulent, tender and tasty sirloin that will definitely make him want to return for more. For me, the proof is in the pudding. So many pubs have disappointed with their desserts, not here, the blackberry mousse (so good to have ingredients in season) was thick and creamy sitting well with biscuity crumbs alongside and a scoop of fruity sorbet. Flavoursome and nicely presented.

Friendly service, a quiet location and an imaginative, tastey menu make this place stand out. I have visited many local pubs and this is one of the best. We will return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank TheVoicer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed here for one night B&B as part of a driving tour. What a lovely hidden gem! Tiny old inn with bags of charm in the middle of a small Devon village (be prepared for the hill down to it!), with just 2 B&B rooms. Ours was the smaller, beautifully furnished and with a very well appointed en-suite shower room. We ate in the bar that evening, beautifully prepared and tasty food, and some very nice wine, and a good choice of real ales and ciders. Chickens and pigs are kept in the back garden, and so the eggs at breakfast could not have been fresher or more delicious (and the sausages were good too...). Friendly and efficient service. Only points - check in is at 5.30 so don't arrive early, and the bed was a bit firm for our preference.

Room Tip: There are only two, so it's a question of size and price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathyS35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I'd really like to keep this place secret and only go there myself, but I can't and good places need to hear praise and people need to visit.
This is a lovely 16th Century Inn and not a massive faceless, square box on the side of an 'A' road. It oozes character but the facilities are right up to date and finished to a high specification.
My room was lovely, the bed very comfy. Shower cubicle large and shower powerful. Decor of a really nice standard.
Food in the bar was fantastic, service was excellent, ales all perfectly kept. Prodigious array of real ciders to try too.
In fact it was all above and beyond what I would have expected.
I was running a little late in the morning and didn't have time for breakfast and checked out. The owner/manager came running out after me with a fantastically tasty bacon and sausage sandwich. Where else do you get service like that ?
Trying to find excuses to come back and stay here, what a superb little place and just how a village inn should be. Top Marks.
A small word of caution, if you take a bicycle along with you, be prepared for the near vertical climbs out of the village.
Visited on 21st August.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peak-District-Ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Great room, superb value, very nice dinner and staff could not have been any more pleasant or helpful. This was our first night away as a couple since our daughter was born and this was a magical spot to spend it in. Easy drive from Plymouth but when you reach the moor and break off towards Milton Combe you feel like you are miles away from it all in a lovely quiet wee valley (with no phone but good wifi). We couldn't fault our stay. Thanks all.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt_london2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Stayed on the night of 21st August...did not eat dinner there, but room was excellent..big bed, spotlessly clean, pleasing bathroom with high quality fittings, and quiet ( unlike so many pub/Inns) pretty village...very good value including a full and well cooked breakfast. recommended...only caveat is that there seems to be nobody about before 6pm, so if you book a room don't arrive till then..

Room Tip: Don't arrive till 6pm!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

My friends and I visited this fantastic pub on Sunday the 11th of August,& i must say the food, atmosphere & service was absolutely fantastic.
I so enjoyed my visit here and hopefully we will return next year. My friend and I had a gorgeous Pimms to complete our meal.
Well done to all the staff, well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

My wife and discovered this really friendly, olde worlde pub in the beautiful village of Milton Combe yesterday. As others have said, Ruth and Chris were really friendly and welcoming and there was a lovely "buzz" of a village pub - exactly what we were looking for, as the weather had literally put the dampers on our plans to walk on the moors. We had the pigeon as a joint starter, which was delicious, with my wife opting for the sausages, whilst I really enjoyed a huge gammon with 2 fresh eggs (we had met the chickens in the car park!). Thank you very much for a lovely afternoon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milton Combe
10.3 mi away
Langdon Court Hotel & Restaurant
4.2 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#6 of 21 in Plymouth
2,044 reviews
1.3 mi away
Moorland Garden Hotel
Moorland Garden Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yelverton
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Drake Manor Inn
The Drake Manor Inn
#2 of 2 in Buckland Monachorum
33 reviews
3.4 mi away
Burrator Inn
Burrator Inn
#6 of 9 in Yelverton
56 reviews
5.2 mi away
Langstone Manor Holiday Park & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Who'd Have Thought It Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Who'd Have Thought It Inn

Address: Milton Combe PL20 6HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Milton Combe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Milton Combe
Price Range: £76 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Who'd Have Thought It Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Who'd Have Thought It Inn in Milton Combe, is a cosy Devon Free-hold pub and Bed and Breakfast on the edge of Dartmoor National Park. We take great pride in serving fresh seasonal food, regularly changing real ales and quaffable wines in a picture post card setting, a stones throw from the National Trusts Buckland Abbey. We welcome dogs and offer the perfect place to relax in the garden to the sound of the babbling brook or warm your cockles by the log fires in the colder months. Ensuring you have a good night's sleep is our priority in our B&B rooms and we have invested in comfortable mattresses, cozy duvets and the finest crisp white 400 thread count Egyptian cotton bed linen. We have one 6ft Super King size bed and one 5ft King Size bed, both rooms are ensuite, have tea and coffee making facilities, complimentary toiletries, hairdyers and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Who'd Have Thought It Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing