We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4th Stay at Swan Hill”
Review of Swan Hill House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Swan Hill House
Ranked #2 of 4 Colyford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“4th Stay at Swan Hill”
Reviewed 4 November 2012

I have stayed at Swan Hill House 4 times now and have enjoyed each visit. It is a real home from home with every small detail thought of. Simon and Libby are the most welcoming hosts and nothing is too much trouble. I was visiting a relative who had been unwell and off his food. I mentioned that I wanted to tempt him with mackeral pate but couldn't find any in the area. The next day Simon had made some for him which turned out to be the best I have ever tasted.I cannot recommend this top class bed and breakfast highly enough and look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stanleyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swanhillhouse, Owner at Swan Hill House, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Hi and thanks so much for the lovely review!! We hope you are both OK and see you when you come down to visit in the not too distant future. Hope trip to Ireland went well!! Simon & Libby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
156
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Spent a wonderful few days here, couldn't fault a thing, from the tea & homemade cake when we arrived, to breakfast, the food was absolutely the best.
The room was clean & comfy with everything you could want included, from bathroom bits to fresh milk in the fridge for the tea & coffee. Will definately be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathy3terry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swanhillhouse, Owner at Swan Hill House, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Hello K&T and many thanks for the review (and CD). As I said, we look forward to seeing you both in the future when you are down visiting the area!! Simon & Libby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

On arrival at Swan Hill House we received a super welcome and enthusiastically took up the offer of tea and cake. Our room was apparently the smallest (it was the last available when we booked) but it was perfectly acceptable, well laid-out and comfortable.

The first thing that struck me was that Simon and Libby, the owners, had clearly thought about how a B&B room should be. In most places you get a couple of teabags and some plastic cartons of UHT milk; here we had a nice wad of teabags and a fridge containing a bottle of real milk - not to mention a little bowl to put used teabags in. Alongside was some home-made shortbread, which on the second day was replaced with cup-cakes and flapjacks (again all home-made).

A two-night stay meant two breakfasts, both of which were as good as I've had anywhere. On the first day it was a wonderful cooked breakfast (with the best bacon ever), and on the second I went for the daily special (an excellent Eggs Benedict).

Nothing was too much trouble for the owners; for example we'd taken a couple of bottles of Champagne with us and Simon quickly offered to put them in his fridge if there wasn't space in the room fridge. Simon was also generous with advice about the surrounding area and about visiting River Cottage (the main mission for the weekend trip, which we'd combined with a family birthday).

Swan Hill House was an excellent find, and I'd absolutely recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Book early - it's very popular with River Cottage visitors so it's easy to miss out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swanhillhouse, Owner at Swan Hill House, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Thank you so very much for a great review! It was lovely to meet you and glad you enjoyed the hospitality given. It was also good seeing the other part of the family for their second visit and all of you having a wonderful birthday weekend....If your over this way again please do look us up. Simon & Libby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
epsom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We were visiting the area to meet up with family and friends and needed a nice comfy B and B for three nights. Simon is a very enthusiastic host and a very good cook. Our room was a tad small but we knew that it was a small room when we booked. However it was perfectly comfortable and we enjoyed the little extras like the home made cup cakes in our room when we returned one afternoon and the tea and cake in the lounge on the day of our arrival. As we had booked for three nights it only worked out at £65 per night - tremendous value.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Unsatisfied50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swanhillhouse, Owner at Swan Hill House, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Hello and thank you very much for the review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and found it value for money! Regards Simon and Libby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey CI
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Nothing was too much trouble for Simon and Libby, and they had thought of everything! Quite honestly the best place I have ever stayed, cant wait to go back! We were met on arrival and instantly offered tea and home made cake - it simply doesn't get any better than this. Rooms were spotless, brekky marvellous and am looking fwd to trying out the granola recipe. Cant wait to go back!

Room Tip: All are good. rates are a good indicator of size
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coolesfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swanhillhouse, Owner at Swan Hill House, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Hi and thanks for the great review. We are so glad you enjoyed the weekend especially as it was your first trip here and to RC HQ! Have you made your granola yet? Lovely to meet you both and hope to see you in the future. Simon & Libby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We had the pleasure in staying here once again for an absolutely lovely weekend break. The place is so beautifully run and you are made to feel so valued as soon as you arrive.
Great hosts in Simon and Libby, the food is amazing quality and the bed and room was so comfortable.
I have reviewed this place before but it just gets better!! Nothing is too much trouble for the owners to accommodate your needs.
Every little detail has been thought about and this is the best B&B I have had the pleasure to stay in.
(and we're picky!!!)
Perfectly located to enjoy a trip to nearby River Cottage.

Room Tip: Room 5 is very comfortable and a lovely super king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lottielock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swanhillhouse, Owner at Swan Hill House, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Hi guys and thanks for the prompt review! It was lovely to see you all again and your family from Jersey, it did'nt feel a year! Glad you enjoyed your celebrations and RC was as good as last time. Hope to see you again at some stage. Simon & Libby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2012

This is the best bed and breakfast at this price we have ever stayed in. Spotlessly clean, everything you would need in the room, including mini fridge with fresh milk. Breakfast was superb. Thank you Simon and Libby.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swanhillhouse, Owner at Swan Hill House, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Thank you so much for the review and glad you really enjoyed your stay. Simon & Libby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colyford
0.0 mi away
Swallows Eaves Hotel
Swallows Eaves Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colyford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
2.8 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Old Bakehousei
The Old Bakehousei
#1 of 5 in Colyton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Harepath Holidays Ltd
Harepath Holidays Ltd
#17 of 25 in Seaton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#2 of 25 in Seaton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
5.5 mi away
Dorset House
Dorset House
#1 of 45 in Lyme Regis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hill House

Property: Swan Hill House
Address: Swan Hill House Swan Hill Road, Colyford EX24 6QQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Colyford
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Colyford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Swan Hill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hill House Colyford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing