We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fabulous visit”
Review of Swan Hill House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Swan Hill House
Ranked #2 of 4 Colyford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I have stayed at Swan Hill House on many occassions and just want to say again to Libby and Simon that I think this must be the best bed and breakfast in the UK, most definitely - everything is just right and more so, gets better and better every time, with welcoming tea and home made cake (gluten free for me) when you arrive, home made cookies in the room which were sublime, and home made fudge to take home, together with the best breakfast I have ever had, the poached eggs and bacon were fantastic tasting - fabulous sleep too, bed really comfortable and luxurious rooms. Really didn't want to go home at all. PERFECT

Room Tip: Clicked fitness centre by mistake, but there is plenty of good walks in the area of stunning natural...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank masone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swanhillhouse, Owner at Swan Hill House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Thank you very much M for your review, it was lovely to catch up with you and look forward to seeing you both soon. Hope you enjoyed those Macaroons!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

Where should I start? This B & B has to be one of the best in the country (certainly the best we have stayed in). From the moment you arrive you are welcomed with a lovely cup of tea and yummy home made cake (white chocolate & raspberry, gorgeous). Nothing is too much trouble and Libby and Simon have thought of everything, right down to leaving a torch in your room should you visit the White Hart and return in the dark. There is even a small fridge for your convenience! Breakfast is cooked beautifully by Simon using the best local ingredients and apart from the usual there is also a daily special! We were lucky enough to be taken to the village hall for a "Hall & Hearty" dinner on the Saturday as we had been let down by the pub we should have eaten in and everyone there made us feel very welcome. Libby & Simon are perfect hosts and this is a holiday we shall remember for a long time. Oh and if you are a dog lover you may get the opportunity to meet the delightful Olive and Fizz. Perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MegandBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swanhillhouse, Owner at Swan Hill House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you both so much for a wonderful review!! It was lovely to meet you both and Libby and I are glad you enjoyed the Hall and Hearty evening!! Have you been mushroom foraging now you are home?? Hope to see you both next year maybe!! Regards Simon and Libby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Swan Hill House is second to none. We have enjoyed about ten nights on four separate visits in 2013. Very comfortable and spotlessly clean well designed rooms with so many complimentary extras that you do not get anywhere else including 4Star hotels. Simon and Libby are perfect hosts- nothing is too much trouble. FANTASTIC BREAKFASTS freshly cooked with the best local produce.We will return. End of review please ignore ratings for fitness centre and swimming pool swan hill house does not have these facilities it was difficult to star rate on this site on a small very sensitive tablet.

Room Tip: Downstairs room three is our favourite now that we have retired and cannot handle stairs quite as we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoffreyparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swanhillhouse, Owner at Swan Hill House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thanks so much for putting pen to paper so to speak, it was very kind of you! Look forward to seeing you next year, have a Merry Christmas. Simon and Libby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We actually live locally but having filled our own house with relatives for our wedding, decided to book 3 nights at Swan Hill House. We had heard from relatives of a friend who had stayed that it was an excellent place to stay and they were so right! Simon and Libby are just the best hosts and we felt totally at home at Swan Hill House. On arrival there were flowers, chocolates and a card in our room, champagne flutes had been provided for the champagne my husband had asked Simon to pop in the fridge. The next day wine glasses appeared in our room as Simon had noticed we had a glass of wine( being too tired to do justice to the bubbly!). This couple really are very thoughtful and think of everything! The room was beautifully furnished and clean, the bed was the the most comfortable we have ever encountered in a B&B or hotel. The bedding was top quality (goose down?), only wish we had not been so busy and could have enjoyed the bed for longer. Our en-suite was lovely with quality hand wash and shower gel and top notch fluffy white towels. Breakfast was superb with fresh and stewed seasonal fruits, yoghurts, cereals, fruit juice etc. All followed by a great choice for cooked breakfast plus a daily special, I enjoyed smoked trout, scrambled eggs, roasted tomatoes with a toasted bagel - yum! All top quality fresh local ingredients are used. Swan Hill House seems more like a luxury boutique hotel than a B&B and we cannot fault any aspect of our stay! ps Simon, the home made fudge you gave us was delicious.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swanhillhouse, Owner at Swan Hill House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Mr and Mrs Keight (I can call you that now!!) thank you so much for such a touching review, it was most kind of you. Libby and I both loved having you all in the house and so glad you had such a fantastic wedding day! Lovely to meet your friends as well. Hope you had a great few days in Cornwall and have recharged your batteries......Simon and Libby, hope to see you around at some stage!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We have just returned from a great Weekend stay for our friends Wedding. Libby and Simon
Are brilliant hosts who have thought of everything. It has to be the most comfortable B&B we have ever stayed in. Breakfast was fantastic with a great choice of freshly cooked ingredients which set you up for the day. Thank you again we will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyndsay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swanhillhouse, Owner at Swan Hill House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Libby and I are so glad you enjoyed your stay and in particular the wedding day for your friends. Hope you got your scarf in the post!!!!! Simon and Libby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Andy and I decided to take a trip back to River Cottage over the August bank holiday weekend, so why not go back to a place we loved the first time round. Another fab weekend, food was great as we expected it to be shame I couldn't say the same about the River Cottage experience this time round.
Would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone wanting a clean, friendly place to stay while visiting Devon.

Room Tip: They're all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren6166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swanhillhouse, Owner at Swan Hill House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Again thank you for another great review, great to see you over the Bank Holiday. Simon and Libby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We cannot fault Swan Hill House B & B at all. Everything was perfect and Simon and Libby are a lovely couple who make you feel so welcome from the minute you arrive. Such a treat to be met with tea and cake, and the breakfast is second to none. We look forward to making a return visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swanhillhouse, Owner at Swan Hill House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thank you so much for the review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay! Hope your trip back was a good one. Simon and Libby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colyford
0.0 mi away
Swallows Eaves Hotel
Swallows Eaves Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colyford
294 reviews
2.8 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
376 reviews
5.5 mi away
Dorset House
Dorset House
#1 of 45 in Lyme Regis
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Harepath Holidays Ltd
Harepath Holidays Ltd
#15 of 25 in Seaton
55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yeoman's Acre Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hill House

Address: Swan Hill House Swan Hill Road, Colyford EX24 6QQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Colyford
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Colyford
Price Range: £77 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Swan Hill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hill House Colyford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing