We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best B&B's we have visited”
Review of Swan Hill House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Swan Hill House
Ranked #2 of 4 Colyford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“One of the best B&B's we have visited”
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Spent a night here on 8th Feb 2014 whilst visiting River Cottage HQ. The B&B was easily located by satnav and only a ten minute drive from The River Cottage making it an extremely convenient place to stay. On our arrival we were met with tea and home made cake and freshly baked cookies... Our room was just gorgeous with a lovely view, a very comfy bed, complimentary local produce and Elemis products in the bathroom. What more could you ask for. Our breakfast the following morning was quite possibly the best Full English breakfast I have ever had... The produce is all fresh and locally sourced and the host and hostess simply cannot do enough for you. I can't wait to return and would recommend this place to anyone visiting the area as the ideal location for a luxury getaway at an affordable price. Thank you both for a simply lovely break.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LdnBusinessTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swanhillhouse, Owner at Swan Hill House, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Hello L and C, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the evening at River Cottage HQ! So happy that you found us good value and look forward to seeing you both again in the Summer maybe when the days are long....All the best Simon and Libby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
156
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

A fantastic bed and breakfast the owners are very friendly and could not do enough for us out of 100% I would give them 110%. The rooms are fantastic with all you need and spotless. Its a great base to visit the Lyme Regis area, we have been visiting for 25 years and this is the best B&B by far.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAMMY53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swanhillhouse, Owner at Swan Hill House, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Thank you so much for your review, it really makes a difference! We both hope you will stay with us again at some point in the future and look forward to seeing you. Simon and Libby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Having stayed here before, there was no contest when we were deciding where to stay in Colyford again. The welcome is warm with a pot of tea & home made cake to relax with when yoiu arrive. Proper milk in your own fridge in the bedroom along with (again) home made biscuits, in this instance Movember shortbread. Clean, Comfy & great food, more than a 4star. Can't fault it.
Cheers to Simon & Libby,
Oh & a bag of home made fudge to leave with. Great

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathy3terry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swanhillhouse, Owner at Swan Hill House, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thanks Kathy and Terry. Hope you had a good time in Sidmouth and Lyme Regis and look forward to seeing you both in the New year, have a Merry Christmas. Simon and Libby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

My wife and i have been back two Swan Hill House for two more short breaks this year - in April and at the end of October.

Simon & Libby continue to make us feel ever more welcome. Swan Hill House really is the best B&B where have ever had the pleasure of staying. I note from the other reviews that we are not alone in thinking this way ...

Those of you reading this who haven't visited are in for a real treat, from the tea and homemade cake welcome (the raspberry & yoghurt cake is to die for ...) to the wonderful freshly cooked breakfasts - daily specials to delight and any combination of the 'full english' are all made with proper local ingredients. Delicious!

We took the precaution of booking our favourite room for our next spring break before we left last autumn! And we can't wait to enjoy Simon & Libby's peerless hospitality again ... and again ...

Room Tip: Our favourite room is too good to advertise here - you might just book it before we do!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heinz1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swanhillhouse, Owner at Swan Hill House, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you both for another great review, Libby and I are so happy to know that enjoy your stays so much. We look forward, as always, to seeing you again in May time!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I have stayed at Swan Hill House on many occassions and just want to say again to Libby and Simon that I think this must be the best bed and breakfast in the UK, most definitely - everything is just right and more so, gets better and better every time, with welcoming tea and home made cake (gluten free for me) when you arrive, home made cookies in the room which were sublime, and home made fudge to take home, together with the best breakfast I have ever had, the poached eggs and bacon were fantastic tasting - fabulous sleep too, bed really comfortable and luxurious rooms. Really didn't want to go home at all. PERFECT

Room Tip: Clicked fitness centre by mistake, but there is plenty of good walks in the area of stunning natural...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank masone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swanhillhouse, Owner at Swan Hill House, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you very much M for your review, it was lovely to catch up with you and look forward to seeing you both soon. Hope you enjoyed those Macaroons!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Where should I start? This B & B has to be one of the best in the country (certainly the best we have stayed in). From the moment you arrive you are welcomed with a lovely cup of tea and yummy home made cake (white chocolate & raspberry, gorgeous). Nothing is too much trouble and Libby and Simon have thought of everything, right down to leaving a torch in your room should you visit the White Hart and return in the dark. There is even a small fridge for your convenience! Breakfast is cooked beautifully by Simon using the best local ingredients and apart from the usual there is also a daily special! We were lucky enough to be taken to the village hall for a "Hall & Hearty" dinner on the Saturday as we had been let down by the pub we should have eaten in and everyone there made us feel very welcome. Libby & Simon are perfect hosts and this is a holiday we shall remember for a long time. Oh and if you are a dog lover you may get the opportunity to meet the delightful Olive and Fizz. Perfect.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MegandBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swanhillhouse, Owner at Swan Hill House, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you both so much for a wonderful review!! It was lovely to meet you both and Libby and I are glad you enjoyed the Hall and Hearty evening!! Have you been mushroom foraging now you are home?? Hope to see you both next year maybe!! Regards Simon and Libby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Swan Hill House is second to none. We have enjoyed about ten nights on four separate visits in 2013. Very comfortable and spotlessly clean well designed rooms with so many complimentary extras that you do not get anywhere else including 4Star hotels. Simon and Libby are perfect hosts- nothing is too much trouble. FANTASTIC BREAKFASTS freshly cooked with the best local produce.We will return. End of review please ignore ratings for fitness centre and swimming pool swan hill house does not have these facilities it was difficult to star rate on this site on a small very sensitive tablet.

Room Tip: Downstairs room three is our favourite now that we have retired and cannot handle stairs quite as we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffreyparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swanhillhouse, Owner at Swan Hill House, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thanks so much for putting pen to paper so to speak, it was very kind of you! Look forward to seeing you next year, have a Merry Christmas. Simon and Libby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colyford
0.0 mi away
Swallows Eaves Hotel
Swallows Eaves Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colyford
276 reviews
3.6 mi away
Masons Arms
Masons Arms
#1 of 2 in Branscombe
615 reviews
2.8 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Home Farm Hotel
Home Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wilmington
33 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beachcroft B&B
Beachcroft B&B
#2 of 25 in Seaton
191 reviews
2.3 mi away
Durham House
Durham House
#3 of 9 in Beer
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hill House

Property: Swan Hill House
Address: Swan Hill House Swan Hill Road, Colyford EX24 6QQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Colyford
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Colyford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Swan Hill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hill House Colyford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing