We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A One Night Stand”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Swallows Eaves Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colyford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We were greeted by a fine and well maintained property surrounded by immaculate lawns and then at reception. It was a very good start. We were offered an upgrade as we were the only folk staying. and conducted to our room which was delightful with the midday sun streaming in through the large windows A huge bed was the centre piece of a very fresh and inviting room with copious storage in drawers and a decent wardrobe. The bathroom housed a bath that paid no heed to water conservation and a shower that was ruthlessly efficient. In the evening we took a sherry in the bar which was well stocked chose wine from a list which was very reasonably priced and sat down at our table to a splendid meal. Would that we were a couple of decades younger and we could have eaten more. It was delightful as was the breakfast.

Room Tip: The first floor rooms seemed to catch the sun morning and evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2013

My husband and I spent four nights at the Swallows Eaves and were delighted with everything about this hotel. Our room and ensuite bathroom were beautifully appointed with every comfort and thoughtful extra touches - huge fluffy white bath towels , locally made biscuits, bottled water and quality toiletries. Fantastic breakfast and excellent restaurant for dinner. A real gem, more than equal to any four star hotel at a very reasonable price.
Also perfectly placed to enjoy the beautiful Jurassic Coast with the beautiful city of Exeter within easy reach.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosiesmum2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My wife and I enjoyed every aspect of our stay. The room was excellent, the bed very comfortable, with plenty of extra pillows and bedding, bathroom/shower facilities and cosmetics first rate. The proprietor welcomed us, offered us a choice of rooms and checked that all was well. Breakfast was cooked to order. We were the only guests that day, but a wide range of buffet dishes was set out, and the full cooked menu was available. Our waitress was attentive yet unobtrusive. In all we felt pampered. We shall not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Ring up and discuss with the proprietor. One downstairs room is adjacent to the main door, so may b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony4910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

My wife and myself liked everything about this hotel. Plenty of parking, good bedroom, quality bed, perfect bathroom and excellent service. We were unable to sample the restaurant as we had eaten earlier but the breakfast was the best we had ever had. This is a lovely part of the coast and now that we have found the perfect retreat we hope to come down more often.

Room Tip: Our room 4 was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Beautiful small friendly hotel, freshly decorated throughout and lovely comfortable bedroom in soft relaxing colours and the cleanliness throughout was excellent. Breakfast was very good and freshly cooked and the service was excellent. Hotel is in a perfect position for all the local attractions especially the Donkey Sanctuary and perfect for visiting all the lovely places along the coastline. We definitey intend going back to the area and will certainly stay at the Swallows Eaves again, thank you everyone for such a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DTG223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Everything has been so well thought out for the guests at this lovely hotel, which is so refreshing to find. From the lovely bedroom with its relaxing decor and oh so comfy beds, to the wonderful cleanliness and freshness throughout, friendliness and excellent breakfast. Our only regret was that we weren't able to stay more than the one night there, but we promise that we will be back! Thankyou.

Sara B

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 251sallyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

A lovely small hotel quiet and convenient for visiting the resorts along the coast. Good food, comfortable and clean, on site parking and excellent Wifi reception. What more can you ask for! Of the many nearby attractions we particularly enjoyed the Colyton/Seaton tramway, Sidmouth and Budleigh Salterton.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kenthepotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colyford
3.6 mi away
Masons Arms
Masons Arms
#1 of 2 in Branscombe
666 reviews
2.8 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
383 reviews
4.4 mi away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
474 reviews
5.1 mi away
Home Farm Hotel
Home Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wilmington
61 reviews
6.4 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swallows Eaves Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swallows Eaves Hotel

Address: Swan Hill Road, Colyford EX24 6QJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Colyford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colyford
Price Range: £94 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swallows Eaves Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swallows Eaves Hotel is a small, privately owned, boutique style hotel, located in private grounds. We are in the heart of the pretty village of Colyford, near the Devon/Dorset border. Elegant and stylish with contemporary touches, yet welcoming with the feel of a home away from home, we offer guests an idyllic place to relax and get away from the stresses of day to day life. Explore the Jurassic Coast; take a stroll along The Cobb in Lyme Regis or dip into the historical heart of our regional capital Exeter for shopping, theatre and entertainment.Following a major refurbishment at the start of 2012, the hotel has 7 attractive guest bedrooms, each beautifully decorated offering a high standard of hotel accommodation. Every guestroom has a digital TV, radio alarm, hairdryer, toiletries and beverage tray (which includes complimentary Devonshire mineral water). Several guestrooms have glorious views across the Axe Valley's wooded hills, while others look out into the hotel gardens & grounds. All guest bedrooms are en suite (our Classic rated rooms have a shower, whilst our Deluxe and Master rated rooms contain both bath and shower), complete with our wonderfully thick bath sheets and hand towels to pamper yourself. Every bed is made up with luxurious sheets of soft cotton for the ultimate sleeping experience. Plus books, magazines and free-to-access Wi-Fi all add those welcoming extras that make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Swallows Eaves Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swallows Eaves Hotel Colyford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing