We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excelent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Swallows Eaves Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colyford
Certificate of Excellence
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excelent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Excelent hotel in many aspects, we had a great and confortable weekend with a host that made us feel like home, thanks a lot Dorothy! Only in your house you can have the food how you like it and the beds how you like it

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    52
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
31
195
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Stayed overnight Saturday. Everything was comfortable, convenient, relaxed and enjoyable. Great breakfast, attentive service and good company. When we stay again in south Devon we will certainly choose the Swallows Eaves Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cirencester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

This is the third time my wife and I have stayed at this hotel and have witnessed the miraculous transformation made by the current owner in recent years. The rooms are spacious, warm, immaculately clean with super bathrooms and power showers. Reid's restaurant is a delight and the food, sourced from local producers, is delicious. A warm welcome from the owner who is very friendly and a good source of local knowledge. She took considerable time and effort to make our stay a delight.
We cannot recommend this Hotel more highly for the standard of accommodation, food and value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charles-cirencester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

This is the first time that we have stayed in a hotel over the Christmas period and the Swallow Eaves fulfilled all our expectations.
We received a warm welcome on arrival and the standard of food, friendly efficient service was great. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and have already recommended the hotel to friends who may be visiting the area in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

I had seen the hotel when passing earlier in the year and having viewed the web site booked three rooms for my wife, myself and three friends for our annual pre Christmas walking weekend. The fact that there was a restaurant and parking was an important consideration.
We weren’t disappointed, the rooms, as others have said were clean and tastefully decorated, as was the rest of the hotel. The bed in our room was the most comfortable I’ve ever had in a hotel and although on a main road there was no discernible traffic noise over night.
On our first night in the bright modern restaurant we chose from the Christmas menu. The meal was very good, our waitress was friendly and efficient and we had a most enjoyable evening. After our meal the chef said that as we were staying another night we could choose from the regular menu Saturday night. The three women decided that they wanted a Turkey Christmas dinner so we did it all again on the Saturday.
Breakfast was excellent but everyone agreed the highlight was the very young waitress who was a delight.
Would you say again? Yes we would.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chrisbwhittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We were greeted by a fine and well maintained property surrounded by immaculate lawns and then at reception. It was a very good start. We were offered an upgrade as we were the only folk staying. and conducted to our room which was delightful with the midday sun streaming in through the large windows A huge bed was the centre piece of a very fresh and inviting room with copious storage in drawers and a decent wardrobe. The bathroom housed a bath that paid no heed to water conservation and a shower that was ruthlessly efficient. In the evening we took a sherry in the bar which was well stocked chose wine from a list which was very reasonably priced and sat down at our table to a splendid meal. Would that we were a couple of decades younger and we could have eaten more. It was delightful as was the breakfast.

Room Tip: The first floor rooms seemed to catch the sun morning and evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

My husband and I spent four nights at the Swallows Eaves and were delighted with everything about this hotel. Our room and ensuite bathroom were beautifully appointed with every comfort and thoughtful extra touches - huge fluffy white bath towels , locally made biscuits, bottled water and quality toiletries. Fantastic breakfast and excellent restaurant for dinner. A real gem, more than equal to any four star hotel at a very reasonable price.
Also perfectly placed to enjoy the beautiful Jurassic Coast with the beautiful city of Exeter within easy reach.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosiesmum2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colyford
2.8 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
5.5 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
4.4 mi away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Masons Arms
Masons Arms
#1 of 2 in Branscombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
6.4 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hensleigh House
Hensleigh House
#1 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swallows Eaves Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swallows Eaves Hotel

Property: Swallows Eaves Hotel
Address: Swan Hill Road, Colyford EX24 6QJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Colyford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colyford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swallows Eaves Hotel is a small, privately owned, boutique style hotel, located in private grounds. We are in the heart of the pretty village of Colyford, near the Devon/Dorset border. Elegant and stylish with contemporary touches, yet welcoming with the feel of a home away from home, we offer guests an idyllic place to relax and get away from the stresses of day to day life. Explore the Jurassic Coast; take a stroll along The Cobb in Lyme Regis or dip into the historical heart of our regional capital Exeter for shopping, theatre and entertainment.Following a major refurbishment at the start of 2012, the hotel has 7 attractive guest bedrooms, each beautifully decorated offering a high standard of hotel accommodation. Every guestroom has a digital TV, radio alarm, hairdryer, toiletries and beverage tray (which includes complimentary Devonshire mineral water). Several guestrooms have glorious views across the Axe Valley's wooded hills, while others look out into the hotel gardens & grounds. All guest bedrooms are en suite (our Classic rated rooms have a shower, whilst our Deluxe and Master rated rooms contain both bath and shower), complete with our wonderfully thick bath sheets and hand towels to pamper yourself. Every bed is made up with luxurious sheets of soft cotton for the ultimate sleeping experience. Plus books, magazines and free-to-access Wi-Fi all add those welcoming extras that make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Swallows Eaves Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swallows Eaves Hotel Colyford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing