We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above expectations.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Swallows Eaves Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colyford
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Above expectations.”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This hotel could not be faulted for anything, good position for visiting the area, best shower ever, sparkling clean throughout, great breakfast, friendly staff, no reason to try any other hotel when visiting the area again, will certainly be recommending to friends & family.

Room Tip: The ground floor room suited us very well,no lugging cases upstairs, very quiet there too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrymain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    53
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
31
200
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Lovely small relaxing hotel with light and airy decor and was spotlessly clean. We stayed for 3 nights and the hotel is ideally situated in a peaceful location. River Cottage, Seaton Tramway and Lyme Regis are a short drive. Our spacious room on the top floor was beautiful, bed really comfortable, good quality towels and shower was brilliant. The breakfasts were delicious. We ate in the restaurant 2 evenings the first was excellent but the second not so good. Dorothy and all her staff were really helpful and friendly. The only small criticism we had was that the restaurant lacked a little atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KPL20148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addlestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Beautiful small friendly hotel, comfortable and relaxing and the cleanliness throughout was excellent. Breakfast was very good and freshly cooked and the service was excellent. Hotel is in a perfect position for all the local attractions especially the Donkey Sanctuary at Sidmouth and perfect for visiting all the lovely places along the coastline. We stayed last October and liked it so much we decided to go back again. Will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DTG223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night only, our room was on the second floor with views out towards the coast it was spotlessly clean and very quiet, the bed was of good quality and very comfortable
.
In the restaurant that evening whilst looking at the menu we asked what was included in our half board package we were told have anything you like from the a la carte or set menu,next morning when it we came to settle our bill we were charged £14-00 extra for deviating from the set menu.

This was a shame as otherwise I could not fault the hotel or staff who were very attentive throughout our stay serving us excellent food in congenial surroundings

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracolDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hessle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Stayed Good Friday and Easter Saturday night. Had excellent in house restaurant meal on Friday night (the chef is superb) and visited River Cottage on Saturday night. Altogether memorable weekend. The staff were delightful and couldn't have been more helpful. The towels in our room were particularly impressive - sparklingly white, fluffy and (unlike many other's I've used) actually dried you!

Room Tip: No problems. Very helpful lady in charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CarolHessle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My husband and I were visiting family in Seaton over the Easter weekend, we stayed Sat 19th & Sun 20th and had a twin room at the front. The hotel was lovely, spotlessly clean, bath towels beautiful and so white, couldn't find any faults. Six of us eat in the restaurant on the Saturday evening, food was excellent as was breakfast. The staff were all very friendly and nothing was to much trouble. We know this area very well but just recently discovered this little 'Gem' would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunshineFarnham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We were spectators at a family members sky dive in Honiton so picked Swallow Eaves as a stop over because it was near to Beer and Lyme Regis. I chose this guest house from the reviews on the internet and am pleased to say we were not disappointed.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor (up in the eaves) but the room was fresh, bright and quite spacious. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colyford
2.8 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
335 reviews
4.4 mi away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
153 reviews
3.6 mi away
Masons Arms
Masons Arms
#1 of 2 in Branscombe
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
423 reviews
6.4 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
236 reviews
8.4 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swallows Eaves Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swallows Eaves Hotel

Property: Swallows Eaves Hotel
Address: Swan Hill Road, Colyford EX24 6QJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Colyford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colyford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Swallows Eaves Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swallows Eaves Hotel is a small, privately owned, boutique style hotel, located in private grounds. We are in the heart of the pretty village of Colyford, near the Devon/Dorset border. Elegant and stylish with contemporary touches, yet welcoming with the feel of a home away from home, we offer guests an idyllic place to relax and get away from the stresses of day to day life. Explore the Jurassic Coast; take a stroll along The Cobb in Lyme Regis or dip into the historical heart of our regional capital Exeter for shopping, theatre and entertainment.Following a major refurbishment at the start of 2012, the hotel has 7 attractive guest bedrooms, each beautifully decorated offering a high standard of hotel accommodation. Every guestroom has a digital TV, radio alarm, hairdryer, toiletries and beverage tray (which includes complimentary Devonshire mineral water). Several guestrooms have glorious views across the Axe Valley's wooded hills, while others look out into the hotel gardens & grounds. All guest bedrooms are en suite (our Classic rated rooms have a shower, whilst our Deluxe and Master rated rooms contain both bath and shower), complete with our wonderfully thick bath sheets and hand towels to pamper yourself. Every bed is made up with luxurious sheets of soft cotton for the ultimate sleeping experience. Plus books, magazines and free-to-access Wi-Fi all add those welcoming extras that make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Swallows Eaves Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swallows Eaves Hotel Colyford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing