We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wheelwright Inn

The Wheelwright Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Colyford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$17
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We were in Colyford for a Wedding at the weekend. We ate here a couple of times and met our friends for drinks. The food was excellent, a big vote of thanks must go to Sarah who was serving both drinks and food on her own. She was brilliant.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lyndsay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    131
    50
    32
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
maidstone
Level Contributor
69 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“No problem !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We had eaten lunch and just wanted some starters - no problem at all - very nice food - good service.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strood, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Having visited this establishment previously we were expecting good things, sadly on this occasion we were disappointed with the menu choice, the service - one girl dealing with both the bar and the restaurant - The food when it arrived was nothing to write home about. Sorry will not be visiting again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not the best service!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

We booked a Sunday lunch for a large group well in advance as we were visiting the area. When we planned our order they informed us that they had run out of roast beef, so only some of our party could choose this and the rest had to order other dishes. They had no horseradish sauce which we found bizarre as it is a classic with beef! They did cater for one of our party who was gluten free which was good. We felt that the price was a bit high for the quality we received.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KettonLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire, England
Level Contributor
85 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

We have been to the Wheelwright many times before however our most revent visit was very disappointing. When we booked the table we were told they only had availability at 7.15 pm, however when we arrived the restaurant was very quiet and the bar deserted. We were shown to our table in the back room which now accommodates a large selection of secondhand furniture and bric a brac. The room was very warm, even though there was only one other table in use, and we asked if we could have a window open. The menu was presented on a well used piece of paper. Two members of our party ordered the prawn salad starter which comprised of a plate of shredded cabbage with a few very small prawns. Our main courses were also bland and not worth the money.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Richmond238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wheelwright Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Wheelwright Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing